We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silks I thought!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silks at Crown Entertainment Complex

Silks at Crown Entertainment Complex
8 Whiteman Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
(03) 9292 6888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #416 of 4,092 Restaurants in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
1 review
“Silks I thought!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was not Silks that I knew!
I went there for special occasions or to impress friends from overseas!
First surprise entering the restaurant were dirty plates on two tables at the entrance!
Then later the food ...the noodles were soggy as if they were cooked days ahead...later they exchanged it with fried rice... The rice was old tasteless stale again as if it was brought out of the freezer and warmed...there was nothing reminiscent of well cooked food where you would be happy to pay more being in a good restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“TO DIE FOR.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

There is nothing better than a meal at Silks. Well, it's not a meal, but an exotic experience. The moment you enter you are treated like royalty. The views of the city are amazing, the food just melts in your mouth and the service is excellent. This is my all time favourite restaurant in Melbourne and there is something to please even the fussiest of eaters on the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Banquet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Delicious food and great wine. The service was excellent. When we arrived we were seated at our table and given the banquet list (as we had pre booked the meals). The wait staff were friendly and were able to answer most questions about the food. The banquet was delicious and all courses were served in a timely manner, towards the end we were getting rather full, but overall I feel there was enough food. We were seated towards the front of the restaurant, so we didn't have views, however the overall feel of the restaurant was nice. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Went to silks having looked forward to it for a long time.Had the $108 banquet.The Peking duck was lovely and the scallops very nice. Most of it was ok but the battered prawns and rockling we're way too dry.The very available soy sauce was a bad sign.Was surprised by the noise level and how casual many of the diners were. Shorts and t shirts with thongs on a Friday night ? Felt more like the Crown food court.Overall not terrible but disappointing for fine dining at an expensive price.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
576 helpful votes 576 helpful votes
“excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent service and with a good menu. It is the top end price wise probably over the top with the wine list but overall a vrty good experience. I would suggest a booking as it does get very busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silks at Crown Entertainment Complex also viewed

 

Been to Silks at Crown Entertainment Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silks at Crown Entertainment Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.