We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good value food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of P.J. O'Brien's

P.J. O'Brien's
Southgate, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
+61 3 9686 5011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: Located in the heart of Southgate, P.J.O'Brien's is one of Melbourne's favourite destinations for locals and visitors alike. Enjoy a couple of quiet ones in a cosy snug or get right into the atmosphere with a mix of traditional and contemporary live music every night of the week. In P.J's Sidebar you can enjoy some freshly shucked oysters with a nice glass of wine. P.J's Sidebar is available for private and corporate events with a private upper area perfect for intimate occasions or meetings. Check out our Function Page for more information on events on P.J's Sidebar and Main Bar. Open every day for lunch, dinner or just drinks with live music every night. Lunch and dinner bookings recommended, group bookings essential.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good value food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in Southbank for 4 nights and had the pleasure to go to PJ O'briens 3 times and ate there twice. On a weekend night they have live Irish music which creates a great atmosphere. The food is cheap and hearty. I can highly recommend the black pudding starter with potato cake and apple sauce. I also had the mussels main and another night a perfectly cooked rib steak. I always look forward to going here when I visit Melbourne. The Kilkenny is also worth travelling for.
Very attentive and friendly wait staff, nothing s a problem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    60
    17
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a late lunch here after a long day traveling. The bartender was helpful in selecting a local brew. The server has very nice the the food served quickly. The prices are resaonable. It is located in a shopping mall but the place has a great atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food. Great music. Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been here for food and for a night out. The food was excellent, slightly pricey but you're paying for the location - on Southbank by the river - we went for a night out also, a live band was playing and it was absolutely packed out. Not badly priced drinks considering it's a Saturday night in Melbourne CBD!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, Fun, Lively, Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Traditional irish bar/pub. Great food selection, quick service, and if you catch a night with live entertainment you are in for a treat. It almost forces you to jump up and do a jig it is so infectious! (especially after a few pints!)

Our team love going here and try to each time we come to Melbourne, easily enjoy a few hours in this somewhat dim, but open environment where it all fits together in the best way.

Bar seating, Tables and chairs, booths, private corners, many options to suit all comers.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A cracker little pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We dined as a family @ PJ O'Briens Southbank in September (went there after reading reviews in trip advisor) and can highly recommend it. We arrived early before dinner service had started and the lovely waitress seated us and served drinks then took our food orders a bit early which was appreciated as after long day was starving. Highly recommend the Beef & Guiness Pie which was served with the best mash and also had vegies which is impressive as everywhere else you had to pay extra for this. Also recommend the Salmon & Greek Salad, and the Steak sandwich was so good too...and to finish off a great meal the Sticky Date Pud was to die for.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.J. O'Brien's also viewed

 

Been to P.J. O'Brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage P.J. O'Brien's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.