We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't believe it!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of One Fitzroy Street Restaurant

One Fitzroy Street Restaurant
1 Fitzroy Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3182, Australia
(03) 9593 8800
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,713 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I don't believe it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited this diner on a gift voucher, sorry our daughter went to the expense and trouble. They refused to change the set menu, wine was terrible, lamb ribs fatty, veal main too thick and covered in a swirling mess of mushrooms and cream sauce. This is a poor pub meal. Expensive and lousy.

Don't think anyone over ten should bother with this, or maybe they shouldn't as well. Don't go!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One Fitzroy Street St Kilda”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Staff were good, view was good.
Food was average. I ordered their "Famous Fish Pie". It should be renamed "Famous Potato and Fish Flavour Pie". Or "Famous Find the Fish if you can Pie".
Will not go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst place ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Staff have no clue about anything , bought out wrong food that was ordered . All over the shop. Took ten mins to get milk that was ordered with my coffee in the end I went up to get it . Food absolutely disgusting and expensive . Took half hour to wait at till to eventually pay , I was close to just walking .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One Fitzroy Street Restaurant, Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Absolutely Fantastic!! We bought a voucher for a meal and had a Christmas dinner function at this restaurant. There were 15 of us in total: the food was brilliant and very tasty and the service was fantastic. I had sms's the next day thanking me for the function. GREAT staff and lovely view. Thank you! One Fitzroy St- Highly recommended :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Microwave Specialists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went with a voucher bought on Cudo so expectations weren't high and even these expectations weren't met. Entree = pork belly which if cooked well falls apart. I am certain that this was precooked and then microwaved. It was tough and certainly did fall apart. Red chilli chicken for mains which I am sure was prepared several days prior and microwaved. The chicken consisted of leg bones and a breast bone with barely any meat left attached. It was greasy and I could detect a hint of "this is just about to go off taste". I only ate half of it because it was so bad and then I started to worry that I would get ill after eating it. I informed the waiter (after he asked) what I thought of it. He was polite enough to offer another meal which I declined. 5 minutes later I accidently kicked the leg of the table which caused my wife's glass of wine to spill on her pants. The same waiter attended and whilst mopping up the wine stated, "that makes us even!" - What that fu*K mate? - How? He didn't even offer to refill my wife's glass. Not good. Won' be back. Ever! If you want something convenient get some Macca's at least you know that it will be freshly cooked and the 15 y.o. staff will be more polite, thoughtful and professional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Fitzroy Street Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to One Fitzroy Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Fitzroy Street Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.