We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abusive owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nudel Bar

Nudel Bar
76 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9662 9100
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,815 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Restaurant details
Melbourne
1 review
“Abusive owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My friend ordered the Chicken Broth, which listed every ingredient on the menu except bean sprouts. She is allergic to legumes. When she had an anaphylactic attack, she very politely asked for another, and pointed out that bean sprouts were not listed on the menu. There was then a misunderstanding about the bill (we misread it). The owner and waiter assumed that we had refused to pay for the chicken broth (which we thought we had paid for). They both became very aggressive and made personal insults, calling us "childish" and saying that it was my friend's fault for assuming that there wouldn't be bean sprouts (?????). We pointed out that she could have died but the owner continued to be abusive. I think this is a great shame, because I have eaten here many times before and enjoyed it. The food is great but I will NOT be eating here again. If you are allergic to legumes, don't eat here, and if you have a complaint, don't bother mentioning it. Shocking service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Food & Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Really love this place, the food and the service
Check out my blog for photos of our Nudel Bar experience in March.
foodinfocusblog.com
I have been back three times since and have thoroughly enjoyed the tasty dishes!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“FOOD POISONING!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Just like many of those who wrote reviews for this place on Google, I got terrible food poisoning. When I told the management about this they simply told me it was nothing to do with them and that I must have got it from somewhere else! The whole experience was a disappointment. The food was not anywhere near as the price tag led us to believe it was, and the service was second rate. A disappointing experience with a crappy end!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick, Easy and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Another Melbourne stalwart. Some have complained that prices have increased in recent years (I tend to agree); but the food is always fresh and delicious. Service is speedy and friendly. It has more of a cafe feel than a serious restaurant, which works well for a fast, enjoyable meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Very slow service. Food was okay but would have been priced at about $5 in New York or Toronto instead of the $80 tab for pretty basic stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nudel Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Nudel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nudel Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.