We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoVida

MoVida
1 Hosier Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
+61 3 9663 3038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 4,177 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best meal in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Loved the location, the vibe, the sangria, the service and particularly the food. Of particular note, were the perfect anchovies. Whatever you think about anchovies, try one here, you will either love anchovies or love them more. I had many meals in Sydney and Melbourne, but this place was the only one I feel nailed it 100%. I look forward to going back next time I'm there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    317
    96
    44
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Early evening tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Called in here after a meeting with 2 work colleagues, at about 1730. Due to our early arrival there were plenty of seats but it was absolutely packed by 1900. The staff were absolutely first class, not only attentive and helpful with food and drink choices but happy to chat and went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable. A small but unusual range of beers was on offer and I followed this up with a delicious Rioja. We opted for shared tapas and although they were good, didn't have the wow factor for a 5 star review. That said, I will definitely call again and try a main meal, some of the offerings coming out of the kitchen did look very tempting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“MoVida1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wow, where do I start. Great food. That says it all really. We were guided by our waitress, and she pretty well nailed it. Just the right amount of food, with some really interesting options. Coupled with a few beers and some wine. $100 for 2, so I would also say, good value.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stand out restaurant in Melbourne; if you like tasty food,book here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Delicious tapas for two to share. Try the anchovy and patatas bravos followed by mussels special and slow cooked lamb; top it off with pâté and brioche.. A Devine dinner? Staff were Very helpful and friendly. Book early to avoid disappointment

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Can't beat MoVida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very attentive staff.
Large specials board with a variety of Spanish seafood cuisine.
Undoubtedly the best Spanish restaurant i have been to in Australia.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoVida also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MoVida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoVida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.