We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spanish Food in a Cool Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoVida

MoVida
1 Hosier Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
+61 3 9663 3038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 4,008 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $19 - $56
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spanish Food in a Cool Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Its difficult not to use superlatives when talking about MoVida Cafe. Getting there is a real treat in itself and its worth exploring the lane way for the murals and street art. The restaurant itself is always crowded- so reservations are a must. The enthusiastic young wait staff are first class. And the service is amazingly prompt. And now to the food itself... This is basically a tapas and raciones cafe with a bar attached. Some of the tapas and raciones are classics (croquetas, patatas bravas) while others are inventive elaborations of traditional dishes (the amazing anchovies served with a smoked tomato mousse. We particularly liked the tripe and beans. The tapas are single person serves- just one mouthful in fact - while the raciones are big enough to be shared. The octopus special was divine and so were the mushrooms in sherry vinegar. The beef cheeks were amazing. Drinks are ordered from an astonishingly long list with plenty of choices by the glass. We enjoyed the cava sparking wine plus some interesting Spanish reds and whites. All in all, this was an experience worth waiting for. One warning, though; my wife found many of the dishes were on the excessively slaty side. This wasn't a problem for me but salt-sensitive people should be alert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    556
    265
    77
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Everyone talks about this restaurant so we had to try it while in Melbourne. Movida did not disappoint. The food was delicious, even our kids loved it. The waiter was so friendly which made it such a nice experience to dine there. The fried custard is a must for dessert and everything on the menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Just spending a Sunday in Melbourne and decided to go into Movida for some lunch. We didn't have a booking so sat at the bar. What can I say, great food, great wine, great service, great ambiance. Could not fault a thing. We will be coming back here again for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Perfect Storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First experience of MoVida and it was just wow. The place really doesn't seem to be trying to be trendy, it just is. Situated in a graffittied laneway that oozes cool, this small cellar bar bistro has decor that is right without trying, and bangs out recipes with flavours that zing. From the frst moment - anchovy on toast with smoked tomato sorbet, we had bite sized morsels of amazing flavour combinations. The only letdown was the prawn and nettle tortilla which was not what we had expected - more omelette than anything else. The main courses were fabulous and filling - and the waiting staff made sure we ordered the right quantity of food. The deserts were not so great, and the olive oil ice cream with salt flakes was really not nice - but interesting to try, I suppose. And on a menu where you taste so much, it is hard to hit the jackpot with everything. Overall, with a bottle of wine and coffee, the bill was $195 for two people, but we ate well and felt that we had had good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

fantastic food and service, the waitress ordered for us and new the menu well... Wine was superb which was the Madrid Chardonnay - the croquets were amazing.. highly recommended - pricey but worth it... great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoVida also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MoVida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoVida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.