We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spain in melbourne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MoVida

MoVida
1 Hosier Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9663 3038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,906 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $14 - $42
Cuisines: International, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“spain in melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

what a hip place! we went there to celebrate a friend's 40th bday.
nice ambiance. central. friendly wait staff.
the tapas are flavorful. beautifully presented. cooked well.
right now, i am salivating over the churros con chocolate.
definitely transported me back to Madrid.
price was fair.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    364
    111
    48
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spanish Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have eaten here a few times but honestly can't remember the meals being so small! There's no doubt the food is beautiful but there just simply isn't enough (unless u order everything on the menu!). I'm talking really about the main dishes - very small - barely a mouthful when sharing among others.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were here in July 2012 for lunch, we had a great lunch, the steak tartare and the beef cheeks were great, really everything was. The only complaint is that the drinks are very over priced to the point were you would rather go without than pay the prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
326 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Bustling restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently had lunch in this restaurant on a Saturday. We hadn't booked, and were lucky to get a table in the bar. We arrived at about 12:15 - any later and we woudl have missed out. Very good staff, they were a great help with explaining the menu. Quite a different take on tapas - some quite unusual (in a good way) dishes. We sampled a number of dishes and enjoyed them all. Clams with pork neck was very good. My wifes favourite - Creme Caramel for dessert - was to die for. Defintitely worth a visit, but remember to book.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Simply great, service and taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Isn't this just a wonderful destination

a great familiar and friendly atmosphere, casual service that is knowledgeable and efficient

the place, and the place next door which are really the same is always full, if you can't get into one, go to the other and satisfaction will be the same

great Spanish style tapas, fresh, well portioned and priced

A great selection of international wines by the glass and bottle

buzzy, casual, warm and cozy, you can never go wrong,

sit a t a table or at the bar and chat to the staff and other customers, its that kind of place

just love it, there should be more around like this

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoVida also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MoVida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoVida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.