We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retro Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Bistro

La Luna Bistro
320 Rathdowne Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3054, Australia
(03) 9349 4888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 4,031 Restaurants in Melbourne
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retro Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just had a great evening on Thursday 28th , true old style garlic prawns in a large cast iron pot, with remarkable toasted sourdough to accompany them.
Then to a truly great Filliet Mignon with wonderful vegetables, a good glass of a Victorian Red, to be topped off with a Semi-Fredo with honeycomb, rosemary and fresh berries.
Wish there was this quality available in Brisbane with the great service we received from a delightful Irish girl.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    22
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, AUS
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Husband and I chose to order the 'chef's feast' and we were not disappointed. Highlights were the duck, the cured lard on crackers (so tasty) and the divine chocolate pudding. Service was friendly and helpful and ambience was lively. Can't wait to return when I next visit Melbourne.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Food and atmosphere - wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were visiting Melbourne for a week and I found this restaurant via Trip Advisor. At the time we didn't know it was the restaurant of Adrian Richardson (from AFC shows).We thought it may be quiet being a Sunday, but were completely wrong - packed out. We shared some oysters for a starter which were freshly shucked and very good. I chose a steak and my wife a pork dish - no disappointments there! The meat was juicy and cooked exactly as ordered.

The wine list was extensive and with a good spread of less and more expensive bottles.

We were also impressed to meet the owner, who heard we were visiting from Asia. Adrian came across just as he does on his cooking shows, a straight friendly guy. Impressive he took the time to wander the place and meet his customers. The rest of his staff were very friendly and efficient.

The apple crumble for desert was wonderful, especially paired with a nice Tokay.

Go there, you will be impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beautiful meal and perfect service, thank you! The waiters were very attentive and helpful. We had a large group, and they managed it well. Our meals were delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic - exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First ate here for a work function and was amazed at the quality and taste of the food and have never looked back. Have been several more times and have never been disappointed. The flavours of the dishes we have are so delicious, everything is prepared so well, have never had a disappointing meal. The steaks are juicy and tender, the pasta is packed full of flavour but the real winner for me is the sizzling garlic prawns and crème brulee. And what compliments a delicious meal? the staff - always so friendly and helpful, not over the top and certainly do not let you wait around for them to serve you. You will not be disappointed if you eat at La Luna - caters for a casual Sunday snack or for a 'you need almost need two stomachs' for a three course meal! price and quality go hand in hand.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Bistro also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to La Luna Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.