We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational food & service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna Bistro

La Luna Bistro
320 Rathdowne Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3054, Australia
(03) 9349 4888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 3,989 restaurants in Melbourne
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sensational food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

went to a function at LLB, the staff were attentive and at times very quick witted joining in on the great atmosphere. The meal was a 5 course meat banquet all prepared, cured & cooked at LLB with accompanying wines.

will have to go back for a quieter night sometime soon to enjoy some of the other great meals from the menu.

highly recommend the proscuitto, lamb shoulder and suckling pig.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    84
    19
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone, it is a little pricey but the food is wonderful. The garlic prawns are exceptional as is the pork. The staff are attentive and the atmosphere is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Restaurant was highly recommended to us and did not disappoint. The menu was varied and everyone was happy with their choices. The Garlic Prawn special was exceptional! The meals were larger than expected and we could have done with one less 'side order'. The service was attentive without being overbearing. We were pleased to have been seated upstairs as it was much quieter than the street level dining area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at this Restraurant may times and over many years, it has always been good with some experiences being a bit better than others. The one thing that has always been of the highest standard is the food, and that is exactly why we keep coming back. On this visit we both had the cheese soufflé (never one to disappoint) I then had the pork with crackle and my partner had the slow cooked beef rib. Both meals fantastic. Desserts were also beautiful as usual. The Restraurant was very busy on this Saturday night but the service was very good, the staff were friendly and efficient. The not so cheap bottle of wine we ordered was decanted as it should be and we were never left looking for the staff for assistance, they were just there when we needed them. All in all a great experience and we felt that this place is getting better each time we visit. We will definitely return again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely lunch, shared the lamb filo yum, then the gnocchi which was the best by far that I have eaten, steak cooked to perfection and sides of potatoes and beet root. Finished with the dessert mezze plate and coffee. Excellent meal and well worth the money, we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Bistro also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria

Been to La Luna Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.