We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne's Timeless Greek Classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jim's Greek Tavern

Jim's Greek Tavern
32 Johnston Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3066, Australia
(03) 9419 3827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 3,963 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Melbourne's Timeless Greek Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I should dispel some misinformation about Jim's. Jim's is Bring Your Own (BYO) alcohol so don't rely on them having a reliable supply of alcohol, instead rejoice at the fact that no corkage or other fee is charged and you can bring as much booze as you feel like. A true throwback to the halcyon days of BYO restaurants in Melbourne.

Yes, there is no menu, but pretty much there is a standard way of eating. Dips for a start and saganaki (fried Greek Cheese) and char grilled Octopus to start. Then the waiter will ask for waht you feel like. Most people go for a greek salad and variety of meats (Lamb souvlaki, Gyros, Lamb chops, lamb kidneys etc) and seafood (calamari, prawns, fish fillets like blue eye and whole fish like snapper or whiting (Look at the display beside the kitchen). Everything is shared and one main course each is more than enough. Prices are reasonable and you are very unlikely to spend more than $60 per head.

There is also a fixed price banquet option if the above is too confusing.

Atmosphere is riotous and noisy most nights, the atmosphere is joyfully Greek.

Food ingredients are sparkling fresh and the cooking is simple. It ranges from tasty to magnificent. We love it, you might too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    58
    42
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“No menu no problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place is a little different, there is no menu. Some find this a challenge but if you go in with an open mind it works out fine. I went with a group of 4. I booked as the place gets busy.

We got seated the rough red came out as did the platter of dips and bread. We were then told the seafood on offer and chose grilled octopus. After this we were told the various lamb dishes and other mains. We chose a couple of lamb dishes, some calamari and greek sald to share and more rough red.

We then finished with dessert some strong greek corffee and more rough red. :)

The waiters have some attitude but in aprt it is theatre and the food is fnatstic and the service very fast. Great place for a quick dinner or for a group it is not for a romantic dinner. It is busy, noisy and crowded but has a great ambience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Worth a visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Rustic, noisy, friendly, good service however food was a little disappointing. Wine average but worth a second glass. This restaurant has a dedicated following and as long as your expectations are not high you will enjoy the experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAMP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but waiters need a stress leave holiday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was recommended to me to visit this restaurant while we were in Melbourne & I have admit the manager was good to us but as soon we got to speak to the waiters we were treated like animals , we couldn't asked them any questions reading what food we can order because they don't use menu's & we had take them on there word what foods they were meant to give us?
I can see why the family behind us almost got into a verbal confrontation with one of the waiters because they didn't appreciate the way they spoke to them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best greek food i have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Amazing greek food, the banquet is a must! Well worth the $45 per head, plus its BYO all alcohol so you save money on drinks if you bring your own.
I have been here 4 or 5 times now and everytime i leave full and very satisfied. It is always very busy so i would advise booking a table in advance.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Greek Tavern also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Jim's Greek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim's Greek Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.