We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cantuccio

Il Cantuccio
209 Lygon St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
+61 3 9347 9959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 4,177 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Step back in time as you enjoy your meal in a friendly relaxed family run business.
Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

4 of us ate here on a Saturday night. The place was booked out, always a good sign. We all had different things and all enjoyed them.Cost for 4 mains, 2 dessert and a bottle of wine and a beer, $189.
Very reasonable.
Will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening.Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    41
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Thank you Mario!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

For my son's 11th birthday dinner he gave me a brief - we had to go somewhere which was a little different and not in the area we live, it had to have good atmosphere, and it had to have extensive pasta and meat dishes. After searching for good Italian restaurants I came across Il Cantuccio and after reading other reviews I decided this would be the perfect choice!

Mario immediately took over the arrangements. He offered to organise a cake for me and have it delivered to the restaurant. He kept in touch as though it was a massive 40th birthday party not a simple 11 year old party for 8 people. When we arrived, he immediately wished Luke a happy birthday which set him up for the night! We were given bruschetta; garlic and herb bread on the house plus port at the end of the night. Mario fussed over Luke and to top it all off, the food was extremely good! The cake came out with candles and sparklers and everyone sang Happy Birthday - I haven't seen my son glow with pride like that for a while!

It was a lovely evening - as my son said when he went to bed - the perfect night. I would highly recommend Il Cantuccio, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is wonderful and cosy and the attention from staff, outstanding! Thank you Mario - we will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much Chris for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar, Croatia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A Warm and friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The friendly owner, Mario, made us feel most welcome. The food was top quality with imaginative ideas and well presented. The atmosphere is very much of a traditional Italian restaurant and the prices very reasonable. We brought a bottle of his brother, Vince's, very good wine from his vinyard in the Yarra Valley and it was a perfect end to a well needed holiday in Victoria.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Just had to write a review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A colleague and I literally just finished dining at Il Cantuccio after walking Lygon street and were attracted to this place by its warm looking and rustic atmosphere. Unlike every other Italian on Lygon Street it doesn't serve pizza, have street salesmen and it's menu isn't as long as an encyclopedia and in my opinion it is much better for it. We were greeted by a friendly (not overbearing) waitstaff and seated at a vacant table. I had the veal scaloppine with red wine, mushroom and cream sauce which was delectable! Like most Italian food it wasn't the healthiest, but OMG was it amazing and flavorsome, the natural flavors of traditional cooking were apparent with every bite. The staff, who I assume were owner and wife were extremely friendly, happy that we clean our plates with our complementary bread and even sat down to the table next to us to join in the friendly conversation. It was so refreshing to see that such traditional hospitality and authentic recipes had not been forsaken for commercialism and the obsessively health conscious. In my mind an amazing experience, do not hesitate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

After a day at the Melbourne cup we finished early and rang II Cantuccio to ask if we could come one hour early. No problem they said. The service was impeccable and the food superb. We were a table of 12 who had different items from the menu. We couldn't fault it. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantuccio also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Cantuccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cantuccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.