We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cantuccio

Il Cantuccio
209 Lygon St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
+61 3 9347 9959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 3,967 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $1 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Step back in time as you enjoy your meal in a friendly relaxed family run business.
Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

4 of us ate here on a Saturday night. The place was booked out, always a good sign. We all had different things and all enjoyed them.Cost for 4 mains, 2 dessert and a bottle of wine and a beer, $189.
Very reasonable.
Will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening.Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    70
    31
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Thank you Mario!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

For my son's 11th birthday dinner he gave me a brief - we had to go somewhere which was a little different and not in the area we live, it had to have good atmosphere, and it had to have extensive pasta and meat dishes. After searching for good Italian restaurants I came across Il Cantuccio and after reading other reviews I decided this would be the perfect choice!

Mario immediately took over the arrangements. He offered to organise a cake for me and have it delivered to the restaurant. He kept in touch as though it was a massive 40th birthday party not a simple 11 year old party for 8 people. When we arrived, he immediately wished Luke a happy birthday which set him up for the night! We were given bruschetta; garlic and herb bread on the house plus port at the end of the night. Mario fussed over Luke and to top it all off, the food was extremely good! The cake came out with candles and sparklers and everyone sang Happy Birthday - I haven't seen my son glow with pride like that for a while!

It was a lovely evening - as my son said when he went to bed - the perfect night. I would highly recommend Il Cantuccio, the food is delicious, the atmosphere is wonderful and cosy and the attention from staff, outstanding! Thank you Mario - we will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much Chris for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A Warm and friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The friendly owner, Mario, made us feel most welcome. The food was top quality with imaginative ideas and well presented. The atmosphere is very much of a traditional Italian restaurant and the prices very reasonable. We brought a bottle of his brother, Vince's, very good wine from his vinyard in the Yarra Valley and it was a perfect end to a well needed holiday in Victoria.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Just had to write a review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

A colleague and I literally just finished dining at Il Cantuccio after walking Lygon street and were attracted to this place by its warm looking and rustic atmosphere. Unlike every other Italian on Lygon Street it doesn't serve pizza, have street salesmen and it's menu isn't as long as an encyclopedia and in my opinion it is much better for it. We were greeted by a friendly (not overbearing) waitstaff and seated at a vacant table. I had the veal scaloppine with red wine, mushroom and cream sauce which was delectable! Like most Italian food it wasn't the healthiest, but OMG was it amazing and flavorsome, the natural flavors of traditional cooking were apparent with every bite. The staff, who I assume were owner and wife were extremely friendly, happy that we clean our plates with our complementary bread and even sat down to the table next to us to join in the friendly conversation. It was so refreshing to see that such traditional hospitality and authentic recipes had not been forsaken for commercialism and the obsessively health conscious. In my mind an amazing experience, do not hesitate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

After a day at the Melbourne cup we finished early and rang II Cantuccio to ask if we could come one hour early. No problem they said. The service was impeccable and the food superb. We were a table of 12 who had different items from the menu. We couldn't fault it. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emcee-corn, Manager at Il Cantuccio, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments we're glad you enjoyed the evening it's all about making you feel welcome just as if you were at home.Hope to see you again soon. Ciao Mario..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantuccio also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Cantuccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cantuccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.