We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trendy bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hairy Canary

Hairy Canary
212 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9654 2471
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 4,089 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Nice trendy bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

As we were staying at the Victoria Hotel we decided to pop into the bar close by. The atmosphere was great and had enough room to be comfortable. They had a range of seating to cater to most needs and it was certainly comfortable.

The service was friendly and very quick and we enjoyed just 'chilling out' in their establishment.

Their drinks were of average price but didn't have a vast range especially for beer. The only downfall was that the beers weren't that cold. I enjoy an ice cold beer but these weren't.

Despite this I would drop in again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    25
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Seafood Paella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was another hidden little gem on Little Collins Street. The atmosphere was incredible, and the service was fantastic. The paella we ordered came out quickly and it was absolutely delicious (and it was enormous). We could have stayed here a long time, but we had to get going. Only minor downside, was a poor range of beers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Why I love Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hairy Canary is a great little bar that screams Melbourne. We ordered 4 tapas between 2 people and it was plenty of food. It was also delicious! The service was brilliant and the cocktails were crazy but great. The bartender will even cater to your likes/dislikes. They are clearly mixologists who love to experiment with new things. The ambience was beautiful. Perfect to start your night off, or have a cute dinner and drink. It loses 1 point for the cost. Cocktails started at $17 and the tapas was on the expensive side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“food just ok, very noisy, wine very dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

we were there last Thursday night, one of my friend was very hungry after champagne party
it was very noisy and the music was also too loud, four of us were seated very tiny table. wine was very small list not much to select. we were looking a nice bottle of pinot nor but could not find one. They just have simple and ordinary wines. we were very disappointing.

we were order 4 dishes of food but only calamari was nice and the less just ok. we were leave this place with un happy nice. this place not for me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Loved it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great place to eat and great atmosphere. Everything we tried we loved. Food was fresh and flavours were fantastic. The Lamb and Mint Pizza was a hands down winner!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hairy Canary also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hairy Canary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hairy Canary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.