We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Deli & Taverna Restaurant

Greek Deli & Taverna Restaurant
583 Chapel Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
(03) 9827 3734
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,059 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Such a delicious meal! Had the spit roasted lamb and it was beautiful and tender. Would definitely recommend it

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Surly service and boring food.

All the usual Greek restaurant regular dishes on the menu, just priced higher than you'd expect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tasty food, pleasant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

At 583 Chapel Street in South Yarra, this place is probably a local institution. As visitors to Melbourne, we happened upon it when we were strolling looking for a place for dinner. We were pleasantly surprised to find an available table so settled down to enjoy some good home cooked style food. The trio of dips was delicious with a very generous portion of fried pita bread. The eggplant dip was a bit too smoky for me but would probably suit some. I opted for the stuffed chicken breast (spinach and feta of course!) while my husband ordered Moussaka. They were both delicious and very generous portions. I noticed the traditional lamb with lemon potatoes wasn't on the menu...pity, as this is a perennial favourite of mine. All in all it was a very pleasant meal at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not their finest hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We are a group of 8 who dine together on a regular basis - more social than about fine dining but a good feed is a bonus ! One of our group ate at the Greek Deli about two years ago and said it was a great place. We arrived and were greeted and seated promptly. The menus arrived and that was a bit of a sign - they were marked and greasy. As the food started to arrive it honestly looked like something that arrived in the kitchen in bags and was heated up. One of the group had a calamari main which consisted of crumbed calamari in a hot pan. No side , no sauce . And it was tough and stringy. My main was chicken souvlaki which consisted of three skewers with three good size pieces of chicken each , rice and bits of vegetables, some red cabbage and a blob of tahziki. Lots of food.No flavour. There were three mains of spiced lamb which was dry........enough said. At $31.50 per main it was very poor value for money. Maybe this was a very off night - the place has been trading for years. This was a big thumbs down - would not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Offers much but delivers?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We came to this restaurant after attending the Greek film festival looking for an authentic experience. It was extremely noisy with some very boorish behaviour from a group all evening which was allowed to continue unabated ... The food was ordinary prawns were not well charred and the pickled octopus was bland. The lamb was succulent ... The house wine was ok and the service did its best ... What a shame ...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Deli & Taverna Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Greek Deli & Taverna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Deli & Taverna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.