We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb pre-theatre meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ezard

ezard
187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+613 9639 6811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $43 - $158
Cuisines: Asian, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb pre-theatre meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed a pre-theatre tasting meal with matching wines, all courses well delicate yet filling and the wines superbly matched. The waiters were attentive and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    67
    28
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chose to dine at Ezard only a few hours prior to dinner time but we were able to get a booking on a Wednesday evening with ease. Choosing the degastation we walked out extremely full. The food is Asian fusion with influence from Japan and Thailand pro dominant. The staff were extremely attentive and most wait staff are friendly and happy to have a chat and give advise. The place was not over flowing which was nice and added to the relaxed atmosphere. Lovely place to go for a classy dinner

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The best of the best ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was my second time at ezard, the first visit was for lunch. We had the nine course degustation dinner menu with matched wines and it was the best I've had anywhere. I have been to just about all of the top restaurants in Melbourne and surrounding areas but ezard is truly outstanding. The service is impeccable, the staff friendly and the food exquisite. It's not cheap but excellent value for money. From the oyster shooters to the wagu beef and dessert tasting plate it was melt in the mouth perfection. The service was perfectly timed and we sat there for about five hours and the time flew. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dining pleasure but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were out for a birthday dinner and our guests had been to this restaurant many times and had many glowing things to say. So we thought it would be nice to finally get there ourselves.
The restaurant is comfortable enough, the tables for four could be a little larger though and become quite cramped with four dishes and glasses etc.. but that's a small complaint.
We discounted the degustation menu only because it was going to be too big a meal. You would need to be very hungry as it includes 8 courses and if it was with wine you would want to be able to enjoy it all. The $270 price tag (this is with wine matching) can also go up in price if you choose and one or two more expensive courses eg. wagyu beef.
An amuse bouche is served to start then followed quickly by entree. I must say the gnocchi I had with cauliflower, manchego cheese and a crumble topping was superb, as were the crab dumplings and the oyster shooters.
Main was a roasted chicken and everyone else couldn't go past the duck, both excellent. Side for us were the asian greens.
While I didn't have any dessert the others were impressed by theirs. The tasting plate was a good option.
The service is faultless and mostly unobtrusive; the wait staff are sometimes to keen to explain what is on the plate.
This restaurant is certainly up there with Melbourne's best and the quality is excellent. If you are wondering about the but it is more about a lack of atmosphere which seems to be generated by great restaurant's and this is where the mark is missed. Maybe it was the lack of a vista, as it is in a basement but there was something missing and I just couldn't quite put my finger on it. Can't blame the company we kept so just don't know. I would however go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful express lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for a quick lunch, so we chose the express lunch. You get 3 starters and a glass of wine. The food didn't come too quickly, but at a relaxed pace and it tasted amazing. The salmon was a great first course, the crab dumplings were even better and the wagyu beef burger was simply the best. We felt quite full, but not too full. If you eat too much, you often feel uncomfortable, but this portion was just the right size for us. If you're a big eater you can always finish up with dessert.
The staff was friendly and attentive. In my opinion the food and service were more than worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ezard also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to ezard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ezard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.