We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh flavours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Curry House

Carlton Curry House
108 Lygon Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)
+61 3 9078 1263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 4,008 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Burmese, Indian, Vegetarian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Carlton
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very fresh flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a fairly basic restaurant and is not for a fancy meal out. the owner was delightful, so friendly and helpful. She had remembered that we were vegetarian from our booking and was very accommodating with this. The food was freshly cooked, authentic and very tasty. A great place for an authentic and tasty curry.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    14
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Must Visit of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor we visited the Carlton Curry House. From the moment we stepped into the restuarant you were greeted by a hostess and made feel completely welcome.
The menu had so much choice that it took us quite a while to order. Eventually we chose the dumplings, pototoe cake (starters), biryani & tika (mains) with some garlic naan bread. First of all please please order the naan bread if you dine here - it is AMAZING!
Every mouthful of the food was incredible. I honeslty could not fault one thing! After our mains and a couple of bottles of wine later we were just about to leave, when they brought out a complimentary dessert. A special touch which did not go unappreciated!
Overall I cannot recommend this place enough! Absolutely amazing food served by equally amazing people!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not your normal curry restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Visiting Melbourne for a week staying near Lygon street we'd had a few Italian meals. thought we'd try a different cuisine, looked at Carlton Curry house menu, it looked interesting, very reasonable prices, inside looked nice, the tables weren't cramped together, so in we went. Aren't we glad we did. A lovely atmosphere inside, tables set and presented well, spacious and quiet (no music) A charming waitress explained the specials of the day and the menu, the owner (Peggy) came over for a chat (and how interesting and lovely she is to talk to) to see if she could be of any assistance. So the best way I could describe our dinner was... we spent 2 months in India last year where we had many delicious meals. Different to Indian food we ware used to in Australia. We presumed it was the fresh ingredients and the different spices that created the beautiful defined flavours. Meals we thought we would only ever get again in India. But here we were i at Carlton Curry House having dishes that were just like our delicious meals in India. We didn't know if we were in Mumbai or Melbourne. Amazing

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

On basis of reviews we read about Carlton Curry House, both my wife and I decided to give it a try. We are glad we did. We had usual Indian fare of chicken tikka masala and butter chicken with rice. Both completed each other perfectly and tasted delicious. The service was first class. Thanks Peggy. Our only gripe had nothing to do with the quality of food or service. The Curry House should improve its frontage and restaurant signage. By doing would increase the number of customers which the place fully deserves. We definitely will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant Curries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Our family recently dined out at the Carlton Curry House. The curries we ordered were excellent and they had an extensive menu, with fair prices. Nice ambience, fantastic customer service and friendly owners (Peggy) and waiters who were always happy to talk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Carlton Curry House also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Carlton Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Curry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.