We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for groups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluetrain

Bluetrain
Southgate Complex, Upper Level, Southbank | Southgate Avenue, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
+61 3 9696 0111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #735 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $12 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great for groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A group of 11 of us went for a pre-marathon pasta feed. Staff were very helpful in providing our meals quickly, food was good, atmosphere fun, and they gave us bottle after bottle of tap water :) Lovely cheerful waitress, overall a great experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    123
    59
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great food and delicious mock tails!!!! The staff uniforms were strangely casual to the point where we thought some random chick gave my sister a drink - later realizing she was a waitress!!!! Nice place to eat with all ages!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great, relaxed lunch for 7...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having not been to BTC for several years, we (my husband, our 4 young children and I) met a friend there for lunch today and only have good things to say about our experience.

The staff were friendly (the gentleman waiting on us was ever so patient and accommodating, providing extra plates etc so we could share out mains and dessert for the children), the atmosphere welcoming and the upgraded fit out looked great. The children were also able to view the watercraft on the Yarra, see the storm clouds roll in, watch the rain pouring down at one point... and overlook Ian Hewitson (aka Huey!) cooking outside the internal window!

We enjoyed a variety of reasonably priced meals; from the BT Porky B's (think Peking duck pancake/cucumber/spring onions/hoisin sauce, but pork instead - our childrens' favourite) to the vibrantly coloured Peri Peri chicken dish. Everything arrived in a timely manner, looking and tasting delicious.

BTC now have a gorgeous display of individual cakes, cheesecakes and tarts which are so very tempting! We ended up with a selection to share (cookies & cream cheesecake, jaffa chocolate cake, New York cheesecake, choc ganache tart, raspberry cheesecake) and every bite disappeared from our plates.

Not to forget the all important bathroom stop before travelling home, my children enjoyed climbing the flight of stairs to the funky shared washroom (separate male/female toilet cubicles) where they could stand on either side of the row of etched black sparkling "trough" sinks to wash their hands and watch the water flow down to the end.

Overall, a great experience and a lovely opportunity for us to farewell a friend... and don't forget to park in the building and validate your parking with building management to get $15 parking during the day after your meal! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A bit yucky on a couple of fronts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time here since they moved to the other end of Southgate. Still has commanding views which is great. For such a big space, the tables are very close together. Decor is contemporary - I quite like the bald light bulbs with rose-gold filaments. Service was sharp and friendly - small plates came quickly which was great. The BT Porky B's (steamed bun with pork belly) were a great take on the traditional chinese pork bun - but so much better. Pick of the dishes. The pizza we ordered for main was wrong - a mishmash of two pizza toppings. When we pointed it out and asked for the correct pizza, we got the same one back with a few things taken off and a stack of rocket layered on top. Cold, rehandeld pizza. Yuck. Shame on you. And as for your stupid toilet setup (upstairs!!!), a communal hand-washing trough outside the lavs just invites permission for people to walk past without washing their hands. Which I witnessed. Double-yuck!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very busy but still had room for a mum and three kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A busy Friday night. A full restaurant, but we (a mum and 3 kids) were still offered a table by the window with an awesome view and a smile.
We were seated immediately and our waitress and waiter were fast and friendly.
Finding Colouring pencils were no issue even though they were very busy.
Our food came out promptly and was delicious.
Great atmosphere,friendly service, fair prices. Thanks for a lovely dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluetrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bluetrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluetrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.