We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Magnifique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bergerac Restaurant

Bergerac Restaurant
131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
3 9629 2868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tres Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went here for a family birthday (me and my wife's). We loved the atmosphere, the great service and the space. Our visit was on a Sunday but there were only a few tables empty.
The food was great. My wife had the duck and I had a Tasmanian Rib eye, which was very tasty. The waiter remembered us from a short visit a couple of months earlier and had offered to deduct the cost of my sons desert because he couldn't remember the desert that my son had liked, needless to say we declined his offer. The wine list had an extensive choice of French and local wines with my favorite an Alsace Pinot Blanc.

Overall, highly recommended for the quality of the food, the friendly service and the quiet ambience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Lovely evening and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this place. Very quick and friendly service. Id almost go do far to say its good soul food. A warm ambiance

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Time flies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A good omen was a car park right in front of Bergerac's as we arrived for our first visit.
The lovely ambience, menu and wine list was enhanced by attentive, not intrusive, friendly staff.
The scallops were simply the best I've eaten and the fillet steak cooked exactly as I wanted.
Desserts were equally yummy.
We managed to while away nearly four hours with an unhurried meal, several wines and much conversation - a great night. My only disappointment was an espresso that didn't meet expectations.
A bit pricey, but a top restaurant for that 'special' dinner. I will return, also to check out the Special Lunch, 2 courses for $28.50.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old school french restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having been there twice in group situations for lunch. I wouldn't recommend it for groups - they're just not able to cope with it.
The food has been nice - old school rather than modern - but good flavours and selections.
This is not a place I would go for a quick business lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Honest food and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

my wife and i ate there for the lunch deal, 2 courses $28.50. Several good choices of all courses. I had fillet steak with pepper sauce which pleasantly suprised by how much i got, also it was tender and tasty. Very old school style but nice ambience and service. The owner ( for many years evidently) always seems to be there which i think is a good sign. Open and quite busy for lunch on Monday. Would recommend if you are in the area. Will be back when we are in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bergerac Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bergerac Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bergerac Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.