We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group of six” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant

Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant
47 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9662 1565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 4,089 Restaurants in Melbourne
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Group of six”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We made a booking, running a little late. They rang to check where we were, 100 yards down the street on the way. Had been told it was popular, the place was full.
Despite the place being full, Staff were great, food fantastic, beer cold, wine good, service could not be better. What else could one say??

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    32
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I called in without a reservation on a week day evening and was pleasantly surprised by the quite and unhurried atmosphere. The meal was a delight, carefully staged and the wine list is quite good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I went to Bamboo House for a business dinner and remembered the place (from before tripadvisor was born) with the hardest thing being trying to find the street numbers along the road.
Typical style decore but welcoming service and a fantastic range of food to chose from, certainly something for everyone. There was a wide range of business folks, locals and visitors to Melbourne around the restaurant.
Do yourself a favour and add it to the list

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Huge portions but strange service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by the Park Hyatt and were not disappointed. The staff were friendly but we didn't encounter any of the joking that one reviewer found so disconcerting - quite the opposite - the waiter had great difficulty in communicating with us (English accents?) and completely mixed up our order so that we had the duck pancakes first and then the starters, and he forgot the rice. I wish he's alerted us to the size of the portions! At home, we're used to ordering a main course each but really, one course would have been sufficient as the portions were enormous, and we added vegetables. We ate it all though which thoroughly impressed the staff. The Peking duck was the best I have ever tasted and the staff make up the pancakes for you - superb. The restaurant itself is lovely with impressive Chinese screens and nicely located right on the edge of Chinatown.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

An outstanding dining experience.. Fantastic staff, love the over-dressed waiters in bow ties.. Reminds me of the Step-Brothers interview scene :-) Peking Duck & sesame puffs the highlights! Well done Team-Bamboo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo House Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.