We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babka Cafe

Babka Cafe
358 Brunswick Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3065, Australia
(03) 9416 0091
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Russian, Eastern European
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Friday morning lazy breakfast saw my daughter and I experience Babka in Fitzroy. We ordered the muesli and the herb omelette - they were both delicious. The muesli was similar to a Bircher with the grains mixed into yoghurt along with assorted seeds and grated apple - delicious - and there was literally a mountain of it in the bowl - too much for us - even though we shared. The omelette had a beautiful flavour and was accompanied by some gourmet bread toasted with butter on the side. Ordered a latte which was an unusual smoky flavour - only minus was that they only did one size - small - which wasn't really big enough for a heart starter first-of-the-day! The bread and pastries for sale looked to die for - would certainly return for a second taste.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    34
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“have your tried the cakes and the borscht?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

an institution since time began on brunswick street, cakes and breads served are all are made right there at babka bakery cafe. their lemon tart is the best i have ever had in melbourne and borscht, my favourite is also a must try!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Babka - bakery heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My friend went to Babka 20+ years ago. It's still there and still making great food. It's also a bakery, so there are croissants and pain au chocolate to tempt the tastebuds. The latter was warm, the pastry perfectly buttery and the chocolate just about melting. Definitely worth a visit - and then you can shop up/down Brunswick St with its eclectic shopping.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A quirky nice little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a lovely breakfast here on a recent Sunday morning.The cottage cheesy pastry thing was excellent, helped down by a lovely glass of bubbles. The pastries looked great. It was a busy place, with people lining up, so not that relaxing for lingering over the bubbles. The atmosphere was quirky Eastern European. I'd like to try it again on a not so busy week day .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best croissants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Baked goods are simply amazing!! The service is a little lacklustre (inattentive staff) but the wait is worth it. Delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babka Cafe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Babka Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babka Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.