We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking to stay somewhere convenient in North Melbourne these apartments are worth a look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments on Flemington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments on Flemington to your Saves list
Apartments on Flemington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Flemington Road | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly North Melbourne Serviced Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you're looking to stay somewhere convenient in North Melbourne these apartments are worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The apartments are not flash by any means, dated but comfortable and the service is excellent. Do ask for an apartment at the back as the trams can be a little noisy. Perfect for a quick visit where most of what you need to do is in North Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
17
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place to stay. However for price, convenience and comfort it was excellent.
The bathroom and living areas were comfortable, the bedroom cosy but also comfortable.
Some of the furniture was dated but if you are only using the apartment for sleeping, who cares. We were five tram stops from the city, the cost was the same as a motel (but with cooking facilities) and the managers were extremely helpful, polite and offered on several occasions to carry cases, bags and shopping.
If we are having a lengthy stay in Melbourne again where we need cooking facilities we will most certainly choose this place again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of places and get out a lot. From sleeping onteh ground in the outback to very flash places overseas. I sat on this for a few days before reviewing. Unfortuantely this one is not favourable.

It would have been acceptable if priced accordingly but for the 2 weeks we were to be in Melb I was out of this motel in 6 nights.
We came here on very short notice for urgent heart surgery for our 6 week old baby. Extremely disappointed that we were told we would be charged full rate for the 2 days of the F1 GP. Considering we were not just overnighters I would expect this to be waived. This Motel gets plenty of business from the “sick children industry” and offers a reduced rate for the stays over 4 nights. We were subsidised by medicare for our accommodation so SHAME on you Nth Melb Appts for exploiting this and holding us to ransom when we had no choice. That’s business eh!
Absolutely not recommended for a holiday stay. It is run down, old and dingy. Location is pretty good for getting about but seriously if you plan to impress your favourite person, if you bring them here, they’ll bail on you before the morning and their number will be deleted from your phone and you might have “stingy tightass” keyed into the paintwork of your rented BMW
Have a read of the other reviews, look through the subjectiveness and I would say they are all pretty accurate in their own right.
As in other reviews, I am sure I could have had some of the below cons rectified but things like blood on sheets and TV not working is something a proactive host would know before the guest does.
3 star rating is rather generous. I’d classify it as premium road house. Nth Melb Appts does have a market sector and is not accurately priced and portrayed to reflect this. Convenience will not be a drawcard once the Hospital’s new patient family accommodation facility is built. Convenience is the main and only benefit of this motel in my opinion.

GOOD
• Convenience to hospitals ( Childrens,Womens & Melb) and transport (Tram out front)
• Basic and functional
• Fundamentally clean
• Good location
• Not much noise at night
• Security is good/ key access when reception unattended
• Hosts are quite helpful and friendly but is mostly lip service

NOT SO GOOD
• Bordering run down/ dingy old room
• TV wont operate ( dodgy remote buttons)
• Access to rooms is for the able bodied - stairs only
• Electrically unsafe extension cord under carpet
• Broken items not repaired/removed eg shower screen, soap dispenser
• Over priced for 3 star ( and failing to achieve 3 star) worth $80/night
• School on South side.. school bell, kids screaming during day, sport & maint on weekend. Not ok if you've been in the hospital late and hoping to rest a bit in the day
• Old blood spot stain on pillow case
• Daily room servicing limited to 5 minute cleaning out bins/replenish toilet paper
• Coffee/tea making but no milk on arrival. Really needed a cuppa when we arrived

Room Tip: Keep looking elsewhere - this business is not customer focussed. It's about making $$ and invest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMSA, Manager at Apartments on Flemington, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your candid feedback and to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We strive hard to provide good guest comfort and service to all of our guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so.

We have received many positive comments on our apartments, providing for spacious rooms interiors, cleanness and service. We are very committed to maintaining our good service and accommodation reputation. I apologize that you feel we did not meet your standard of service or accommodation quality as a 3 star property.

Our personal thanks for pointing some good benefits of our apartments : “GOOD
• Convenience to hospitals ( Childrens,Womens & Melb) and transport (Tram out front)
• Basic and functional
• Fundamentally clean
• Good location
• Not much noise at night
• Security is good/ key access when reception unattended
• Hosts are quite helpful and friendly but is mostly lip service”

We appreciate your specific feedback regarding your room standards and assure you that all aspects have been reviewed with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Standards, to prevent this isolated incident from ever repeating itself.

With respect to your comments regarding our rooms , please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.


Again, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We are so appreciative of your observations, and again we remain most apologetic for not providing you with an experience of good quality.


Best wishes,

Octavian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Apartments are located in a strategic position for Hospital or city.
Octavian the manager and his staff are very helpful indeed.
The apartments as such are comfortable and clean, well equipped with all cooking facilities and utilities, really I cant say anything bad, just maybe a little cheaper would be nice, but we all would like more for less.
The down side of North Melbourne is the lack of supermarkets, there is an IGA nearby but it offers little range of products which are costly, if nothing else the Queen Victoria Markets are nearby which certainly cater for all.
Yes I would say I could recommend it.
The only suggestion I would have for future visitors is that if you require late entry or internet advise immediately of you will wait until the morning to receive access codes.

Thanks Octavian
Cheers
Allan

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at these apartments (2 sets of grandparents) as our daughter had to have her baby in Melbourne because of the baby's heart complications. We saw other accommodation before we booked this which was MUCH nicer and the same price or less. But our daughter asked us to stay there to look after our 2 yr old grandaughter. The furniture is extremely old and stained. The sofa cushions allow you to sink in to them - no support for anyone, worse for me as I have a chronic back condition. These apartments are advertised as "serviced" but they are only serviced every few days, though the carpet is vacuumed, the linen is not changed often. Also, when they give fresh towels, they do not remove the soiled ones! We used showers in 3 apartments - none had all the sliding doors. also had dripping taps in the sink. Yes,the staff were friendly but because we could not give an exact date of leaving because of complications with the baby, we were hounded by the concierge who told us he could rent our apartments for $200 (we negotiated for $128 as we ended up staying 17 nights). He finally agreed not to charge us an extra two nights because of short notice to leave. He did give me free wifi which I was extremely grateful for. He asked if he could order us a maxi taxi and we agreed, for the airport. WE WERE VERY ANGRY that he ordered a private van WHICH COST $90 INSTEAD OF $30. We wondered if he got commission.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you want accommodation close to the hospitals. DON'T LET THE CONCIERGE PRDER Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMSA, Manager at Apartments on Flemington, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.
We thank all our guests for their feedback because we rely on them and they help us to constantly improve our services.
Here is the clarification from our side:
Our rates and booking policies ( check-in time : 2.00 PM - check-out time : 10.00 AM) as well as our cancellation or changing policy for at least 48 hours’ notice in advance – are clearly stated in all our confirmations, check-in registrations forms, brochures as well as on the webpage.
As was in your personal situation with a last minute booking request , we try to manage and serve our Guests as much as we can and to be very flexible with our reservations policies. I am really sorry and please allow me to express my apologies and regret that you have perceived my job duties and obligation in a "hounding" manner. I was just tried to get the right information about how long you will need the apartments.
Regarding the maxi-taxi transfer order , just FYI we do not have commission for the bookings and as soon as I received the writing confirmation I handed to you and the price for the transfer was enclosed in the letter with all other information. Also the transfer company has sent an confirmation email to your email. If we would know about your price in-satisfaction we could made several suggestions for an alternative transfer solutions. We are really sorry that you didn't informed us about that matter.
My personal thanks for your kind appreciation for us as a "friendly staff".

For any other matters , which unfortunately affected you, please accept our sincerely apologies for that. I’m glad to know that the rest of your stay was pleasant and your beautiful family is well and safe back home now. Again, thank you for staying with us.

With my best wishes,

Octavian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Sofa bed had no mattress, so if you sat on it, it sank to the floor. Tiles on shower floor coming off, only given one think blanket for cold Melbourne nights and the remote for the TV was not working properly. Bed sheet had pink stains all over it. Worst place I have ever stayed!! Oh and no lift..had to drag luggage up and down the stairs.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMSA, General Manager at Apartments on Flemington, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at North Melbourne Serviced Apartments. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the good standards that we set for our apartments. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations.
We regret that we were not able to deliver a great experience for your stay.
We are sorry that we haven't been informed about all these issues after or at your check-in time as you may have noted an your arrival the issues , to have the opportunity to correct them , prepare the sofa bed for you or to change with another room and our staff is always willing to help and assist with the luggage if this is required.
We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We have closely looked into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could please write us at service@northmelbourneapartments.com.au so that we may get your contact number and call you directly.
Again, please accept our apologies.

Best wishes,

Octavian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The place was clean, comfortable, convenient to the hospital. which is the reason we were in Melbourne. Stayed here for a month.

I couldn't say more about Octavian, the manager, he could not do enough and never said no when asked for something. He, and the staff, were all extremely pleasant and the owner should be happy to have such a great staff.

i honestly could not say enough good about them.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room assignment I would rest assured that the manager would do all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Apartments on Flemington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments on Flemington

Address: 113 Flemington Road | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly North Melbourne Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartments on Flemington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apartments on Flemington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments on Flemington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.