We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views are good but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Skydeck 88

Eureka Skydeck 88
7 Riverside Quay | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
0396938888
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Eureka Skydeck 88 like an insider
Special Offer
$39*
and up
Melbourne Attraction Pass: Melbourne Aquarium and...
Ranked #24 of 490 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nothing you have ever experienced will prepare you for the awe inspiring view of Melbourne from the observation deck of the highest public vantage point in the Southern Hemisphere. Located at Level 88, Eureka Skydeck is Melbourne's new 'must-see' attraction. Skydeck 88 is the only observation deck in the world that can thrill you with the Edge - a glass cube which projects 3 metres out from the building, with you in it!
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The views are good but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

But it seemed a bit pricey to me. The extra charge to stand over the glass floor seemed a bit greedy, particularly as the (higher) CN Tower in Toronto does not charge extra for the same experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Manager at Eureka Skydeck 88, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback about your Skydeck experience. We take both positive and negative feedback seriously and use it to improve the business.

It is disappointing that you found us expensive as we do our best to be an affordable option for locals and visitors to Melbourne. However your comments are valued and they will be presented at the next team meeting for discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    903
    240
    41
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great overview of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great viewing spot to view all of Melbourne's attractions and to get your bearings. I was raised in Melbourne and found it informative. The stories displayed on the rolling lights on the floor are also interesting. The signs pointing out sights along with the binoculars that are automatically zoned in on the landmark are great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Manager at Eureka Skydeck 88, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback about your Skydeck experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a Great Place to End the Melbourne Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went there at the last day of our stay in Melbourne. This is the place where you can see all of Melbourne's top attractions, so it can best summarize our trip to this wonderful city. The skydeck is not so big actually, but the binoculars are quite many so the queue won't take too long. Go there in the afternoon, around 4-5 PM, so you can see Melbourne 360 day and night. The only con: it quite is pricey to get up there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Manager at Eureka Skydeck 88, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on the Skydeck experience. We take both positive and negative feedback seriously and use it to improve the business.

It is unfortunate that you found us expensive as we do our best to be an affordable option for locals and visitors to Melbourne.

Overall we hope you enjoyed your experience and thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great views of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Great panorama views of the city. Kinda hefty price you pay for the elevator ride up, and it's even a bit more if you want to go at dawn or dusk. Nevertheless it's a good spot to view the city and the Yarra River.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Spectacular views of the city...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I've been a couple of times now and I can honestly say that I think it's very good value for money. You get THE most amazing 360 degree views of Melbourne and there's plenty of information telling you exactly which landmark you're looking at. The outdoor terrace is worth a try even if only to get blown to pieces! The staff are friendly and helpful and there's a little cafe where you can perch up on a stool and sip your drink gazing out over the river, Flinders Street and St Paul's. Free wifi, too....

A word of warning: it seems to be a popular school trip venue. Best to avoid end-of-term if you don't want your tranquility rudely shattered by a horde of squeaking school-agers!

Do The Edge - even if only once. It's SO worth it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Skydeck 88 also viewed

 

Been to Eureka Skydeck 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eureka Skydeck 88, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.