We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views on a clear day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Skydeck 88

Eureka Skydeck 88
7 Riverside Quay | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
0396938888
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #28 of 212 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Nothing you have ever experienced will prepare you for the awe inspiring view of Melbourne from the observation deck of the highest public vantage point in the Southern Hemisphere. Located at Level 88, Eureka Skydeck is Melbourne's new 'must-see' attraction. Skydeck 88 is the only observation deck in the world that can thrill you with the Edge - a glass cube which projects 3 metres out from the building, with you in it!
Melbourne
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great views on a clear day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This has great views on a clear day where you can see for many kms in all directions. The edge experience isn't for the faint hearted. If you feel fit you can join the Eureka stair climb each November.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    653
    177
    32
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Better in good weather.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited the skydeck earlier this month, and the weather deteriorated as i got there.
The views were fantastic, and I even manged to enjoy them with a beer purchased from the refreshments facility up there.
I didn't bother trying the glass bottomed edge for an additional fee, as i have done that elsewhere several times, and with the failing weather, decided it was not worth the money.

I ended up spending over an hour there to get my monies worth and also watch the approaching storm, that failed to materialise.
In my view, an hour is probably about long enough walking around looking at the same views.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for first timers in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was my first time visit to Melbourne and I guess it's worth the visit the Eureka Skydeck.

You do go up a lift which travels really quickly (mind you, the air pressure in the ears can get you) but well worth the view from the very top!

It would roughly take about 20mins to have a good look at the panoramic views in the morning and you can enjoy the coffees when you're there but it's really nothing that too exciting!

It's great for first timers and everything always look good when you're at the very top.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Worth the pennies for the views and the speed of the lift, expect your ears to pop.10% discount to sky deck with MYKI card.
The information board on ground floor was irritating as info changed electronically too quickly before had time to read.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Views were stupendous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hated queuing but to be expected! Well worth the wait though! If visiting at any time of the year advise get there as early as possible for the clearest view and less queues!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Skydeck 88 also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Eureka Skydeck 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eureka Skydeck 88, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.