We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, great view and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments at Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments at Docklands to your Saves list
Apartments at Docklands
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   23 Rakaia Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, great view and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed here for a work trip with a colleague for three nights. What we were looking for was a spacious place that felt like home when we arrived back from a busy day. Preferably we wanted a 2 Bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms as well as facilities to make our own breakfast. Well, we got it all at our accommodation that was situated in the Nolan building. We were able to check in early, that was a bonus. Our apartment was immaculate in cleanliness and the bathrooms had ample supplies of toiletries and big fluffy towels. Our beds were extremely comfortable and both bedrooms had a lovely water view. The lounge room was very comfortable and we were able to relax and get over our working day.Austar is available, a DVD player and internet was also available.
In the morning it was lovely to wake up and prepare our own breakfast and head off for another day. A short walk away is an IGA supermarket that has all supplies you could need for a short stay. There was also a washing machine and dryer and iron in the unit. A pleasant surprise was the full size powerful hairdryer, can't bear finding a small underpowered one in accommodation.
all this was very close to the feee tram that we utilised daily, easy access for taxis to pick you up, walk to the CBD if feeling active, short walk to South Wharf DFO and just across the road Harbour Town. To top it all off there were many restaurants along the boardwalk to choose from and pleasant surroundings to exercise in the mornings etc.
I was worried about getting home late at night from the city but we caught a tram from Bourke Street and was home in a few minutes. we both felt safe and comfortable in the area and really enjoyed our stay. This is perfect accommodation for our needs as we had all the comforts of home, room to relax in and ample room for privacy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
34
15
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

location is very good & the view from the balcony was brilliant. Other than the Master bedroom the other bedrooms are quite small & cramped . The amenities are quite good . General cleaning of the apartment is done only once a week. easy access to the free tram & bus service for tourists . Also there is a department store located conveniently . fair amount of restaurants close by but all a little pricey.

Room Tip: Chose a apartment with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Clean, comfortable, convenient ..... a fantastic place to stay! Lovely view over the boardwalk & water, a multitude of cafe's & restaurants (or the aparment is well equipped if you prefer to dine in), 'hop, step & jump' to the tram stop. The perfect alternative if you don't want to stay in the heart of the city. Furthermore, the staff were incredibly friendly & helpful! Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms face the water, but if not, i would definately request this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

this is the second time we have stayed at the docklands and it is fabulous. the rooms were facing the water and city. shopping is a walking distance away about a 10 mins walk. restaurants and bars are abundant, so one never feels isolated!! just great place in melbourne!!!!

Room Tip: get the rooms that faces the water and city!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We got a special deal on Wotif for this apartment. The location is great being just on the edge of the CBD but within walking distance of lots of places. The free tram stops almost right outside to take you to all parts of the city. There was an IGA supermarket just around the corner. I think the apartment came with a free carpark but we did not use this facility. Check in was fast and we had just a short walk to the apartment. We had an upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment and there was heaps of room for the three of us. The apartment was nearly new and very clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I spent a Saturday evening at the apartment @ docklands with some good friends and I really enjoyed my stay there. All rooms were clean, modern and fresh. For those who prefer to cook and eat in, the kitchen area had enough space and utensils for you to cook up a storm. If you don’t want to eat in there are plenty of fabulous (good fish n chips) restaurants right at the door step for you to choose from too. I have to add that I was in awe of the decking area out the back which lead on to a huge in ground pool which had pretty special views of Melbourne CBD. Being July I can’t say I tested it out, but I certainly wanted to. The service I got from the staff was friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

On check in they we asked for a late check out time and this was approved. So we hit the town the night before as we knew we could sleep in. How ever on the morning of checkout they decided that they want us out early so they unlocked the door to our apartment and came in yell and knocking on door to wake us up. We kicked the girl out but an hour later the cleaner did the same thing. They absolutely had no regard for our privacy.

As a business traveler who travels almost weekly I have never had this happen before. This was absolutely outrageous and I would strongly recommend no one stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartments at Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments at Docklands

Address: 23 Rakaia Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apartments at Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments At Docklands is a 4 1/2 star fully furnished apartment business based in Melbourne Docklands. Offering wonderful water and/or city views from your private balcony, Apartments At Docklands offer spacious apartments with modern furnishings and full kitchens. Our apartments cater for all types of accommodation starting with a 1-bedroom executive apartment through to our Deluxe 3-bedroom apartments. Our location is 5 minutes from the Melbourne CBD, 15-20 minutes from the airport. All amenities are at your door step, with a wide range of restaurants, a supermarket, chemist, bottle shop, as well as bargain shopping at Waterfront City (home of the Melbourne Star). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments at Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments @ Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments at Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.