We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, position,position!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great position, position,position!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our very first trip to Melbourne and definitely not our last! We stayed here for 3 nights, for our 20th Wedding Anniversary! Unawares when i booked our flights that the Grand Prix was on the same weekend. So when we started looking for accommodation and one reasonably priced we were pleasantly surprised. The Hotel was in a fantastic position, with tram stop right out the front, Southern Cross railway station around the corner,( with a Woolworth's upstairs) plenty of places to eat and lots of watering holes as well. DFO south warf across the Yarra and also Crown Casino. We had a one bedroom apartment with full kitchen and laundry. Our room was on the 12th floor facing out to Docklands from our balcony. After we stored our luggage in our rooms we went in search of dinner. On our return there was a bottle of champagne on ice and a box of chocolates on the dinning room table for us, with a lovely card wishing us a "Happy Anniversary" Very special. Sabrina and her staff were wonderful as each morning we were greeted with smile and a good morning Mr and Mrs***** the same in the afternoon when we returned. We needed extra towels, we got extra towels. Very knowledgeable in relation to tram no. where to get off and on. things to go and see. Storing our luggage for us as we had a late flight home 10/10. Even down to booking our transport back to the airport. Thank you for making us feel like we were the only ones staying in your hotel. Keep up the good work we will be back one day :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up! great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you dingasden for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at Adina Northbank. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Congratulations on your 20th Wedding Anniversary!! I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback to Sabrina and my team & I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    480
    132
    33
    12
See reviews for
162
392
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shellhabour nsw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days in January and found the location ideal. The free tram stop was at our front door, the Casino and Southbank eateries and Yarra River were a very pleasant 5 minute walk away.We eventually found the supermarket and liquor shop at Southern Cross Station a 2 minute walk up the road. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable and staff were very friendly and helpful. The only issues we had were privacy, as the curtains in the lounge room were sheer and only having free WiFi for 30 in the lobby. We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Melbourne..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good Morning Maria G, thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Northbank. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location perfect for your needs. We do have a limited number of rooms with only sheer curtains in the lounge and from receiving feedback such as yours, we are looking into installing blackout curtains in these apartments for added privacy. As you would see in my responses to other guests, being able to provide free wifi is one of our top priorities and something we hope we can resolve in the near future. Thank you again Maria G and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on trip to go to show at Melbourne Convention Centre, very handy within walking distance of there and DFO and walking distance from skybus centre. Nice 2 Bdr apartment on 9th floor, had 2 bathrooms, kitchen and balcony, very quiet no street noise with windows closed. Beds huge and very comfortable, tv in each bedroom plus lounge. Tram stop outside and convenience store on the corner, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher up facing away from city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good Morning Szoka, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was so pleased to hear you had enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with our location especially for those heading to the Melbourne Convention Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our first trip to Melbourne, the hotel is in an excellent location, perfect for exploring the city by foot and the free No.35 tourist tram stops 50yrs up from the hotel, the bridge across to Southbank and the Crown casino is a couple of minutes walk so perfect spot to base yourself.
The staff were all very friendly. On getting into our room everything looked good, apart from a balcony view of a roof top and air conditioning units and car park opposite and the sliding door not locking, then we found stale urine around the base of the toilet and black curly pubic hairs on the bathroom floor.

We explained to the reception staff who offered to move us but we said thats ok if they could sort it all out while we went for an explore. On returning a few hours later our room door was ajar, luckily the bags were still locked and there, the balcony door was fixed but no cleaning had been done in the bathroom. We spoke to reception who were very appologetic and moved rooms (bonus as much better view of city) unfortunatley same problem again, stale urine and more pubic hairs on floor of bathroom. rightly or wrongly we didnt bother to complain we cleaned it ourselves although did half expect to see pubes in the bed, but no it was ok.

The only other moan was the water in the bathroom which you can use then purchase (dont bother there's a 7/11 around the corner) was only out of date by 6 months and evryone seemed to be having dramas with the lift that needs your swipe card to operate.

There's a cafe next door where you can get breakie if you wish, we didnt bother, we bought some cereals and milk for the room then just grabbed a coffee from there when heading out.

There's a small gym and small pool, looked clean enough but didnt bother using, bring your runners and go for a jog instead, nice little route across to Southbank along to the war memorial and botanical gardens and then back on the other side of the river, really pleasant and loads of people out first thing running, rowing or cycling.

Would i stay again, yea sure, but would just prepare next time by packing some dettoll and cleaning wipes.

Oh and top tip, getting to Melbourne from the airport is so easy, use the sky bus service, $60 return for two adults and the bus station in Melbourne is a 10 minute easy walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you Aido22 for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Northbank. My apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. I have definitely followed up with my team to ensure the high housekeeping standards we pride ourselves on are consistently maintained as well as security measures.

I was pleased to hear you did enjoy the other aspects of your stay and our location. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Good location when needing to be down that end of town, near Crown and tram stop outside front door. Apartment Good size and clean. Curtains could do with being replaced and or repaired and Split system in the bedroom rattled when on. It feels like there is no privacy as building next door was looking straight into our lounge area and window in bedroom looked straight onto a neighbours balcony. Overall pretty good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Oztraveller97, Thank you for leaving your feedback. I was pleased to hear you found the hotel good value and that you had enjoyed your stay. The maintenance and quality of our rooms is very important to us, so do take your feedback very seriously and will look at what we can do to fix the curtains and aircon noise. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Was very impressed with the hotel. Staff were lovely and helpful. We managed to get a early checkin. Hotel was clean. Very central to shops, casino, trains and trams. Free city circle trams stops out the front. Room was very comfortable. Nice little balcony although not the best view but better than nothing. Only thing the rooms could do with fans for hotter nights as its too noisy to open the window and air-con wasn't really needed just needed air circulating. Overall great hotel and will stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Northbank. I was so pleased to hear you had enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to my team. We do have some fans at the hotel, for those who prefer we could definitely organise one to be taken to your room. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights at Adina and when I checked into my room (an inner court yard one - 8th floor) I found I had no mobile signal (useless Optus). When I asked to move rooms they immediately moved me to another room, no dramas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Paul T, thank you for leaving your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Northbank. I was delighted to hear you had enjoyed your stay and that our team were able to move you quickly to accommodate your needs. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.