We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“home away from home””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at the Adina for 3 nights in Melbourne. Check in and checkout were excellent. We found some marks on the bedsheets and the pillow right after we checked in. however the reception staff (Sabrina) addressed the situation and we were very satisfied with the way in which our feedback was handled, including a complimentary bottle of sparkling . I would stay here again without question

Room Tip: Ask for a room on High floor facing Dockland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Good Morning Harold H, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for the marks on the bed linen, however very pleased to hear Sabrina was able to resolve the issue for you and follow up with our housekeeping team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    263
    70
    20
    8
See reviews for
69
196
40
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here with colleagues as we were attending a conference at the convention centre. Very convenient location with well appointed and spacious rooms. Breakfast at the next door cafe is well priced and hearty.
I stayed in a room that overlooked Flinders Street on the 9 th floor. OMG it's noisy! The train continually screeches metal wheels on metal tracks and sleep was disturbed by this. MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR A QUIET ROOM. I would never stay here again if I had to have a road facing room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good Morning Coralhill, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased that you found our location convenient & enjoyed the cuisine at Cafe Keyif.

We are always happy to accommodate guest requests where possible, such as a quiet room. We are able to put a note on your profile for future bookings to advise of any permanent requests - I am not sure if this was already done on checkout if you mentioned your concerns to my team, or I invite you to contact me on 03 9246 0000 and I will make sure it is done for you. Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I chose this place based upon its location near the convention centre and the fact that it had appartments with a fully equiped kitchen. Based upon the other reviews I asked for a room to the quieter side street. As indicated in the other reviews, the view (another roof top and some office) wasn't that great, but that didn't bother me. I wasn't here for a scienic view. The area around the hotel isn't that nice... its a concrete jungle, but you probably know that already if you are looking at this hotel.

Supermarkets, a main train station, tram stops etc nearby. The (king) room was spacious. Friends who dropped thought it was a pretty nice room.

Being able to cook for yourself is such a plus on a longer trip.

It was a nice touch that the cleaning-person did the dishes for me. That just made life a little easier.

Internet access is not on the cheap side: 20-ish dollars for 24 hours or 66AUD for 1 week. At least it is "flat rate" for the entire time and not charging by the hour like some other hotels. There is NO direct line to the room, any callers have to go through reception. Reception is 24 hour.

I was pretty impressed by security: I could only access my own floor with my card and after 8pm you need your card to get into the building.

There is a gym and pool on the top floor. I only used the gym. Free weights of up to 20kg + a number of machines and also treadmill/cycle-ergometer. Apparantly there was also a sauna.

Room service can be brought up from the adjoining restaurant up to 10pm at night. There are plenty of fast food places nearby that are open longer.

Overall, if you are after access to convention centre or a central base in Melbourne to get around from, this is a good place. If you want nice scenery, go to a different part of Melbourne.

Room Tip: Quiet room to side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good Morning Babelfish111, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to have so many access points close to us & transport options as you have mentioned. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto my team. Thank you again & hope we might see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Overall a good hotel. The location is very good, especially if you have to be at the convention centre for work. Everything else in the city is easy to reach: either by a nice walk, or you can take the tram. If you want to go to the Casino, it is also a good and (relatively) cheap location.
The staff was very helpful and kind and a big plus is the washing machine and dryer in the room for longer stays!
Internet is a problem though: 11 AUD per hour! There is free internet in the lobby for 30 minutes, but this connection is sloooooowwww. If you want to stay here and use the internet a lot: Go to a tech shop and buy a thinghy for about 60 AUD and you have a good connection without any extra costs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Good Morning Roald22, thank you taking the time to leave your feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. As I mentioned to Bird-fanatic we recently had our lobby internet upgraded so the problems encountered should definitely not be the case. Thank you for bringing this to my attention as I will be following up. Unfortunately free internet is not something we can offer at this stage, however our company, as a whole, are looking at options to make this more viable for our guests, as we realise the importance it plays in this day of age. We do have other pricing options currently available, apart from the 1 hour. $22 for 24 hours & $66 for up to 7 days. I do hope we get to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here recently with 3 other ladies. Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Great value for money. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony. Room very clean with 2 bathrooms which was great. Good location. Crown casino and aquarium about 5 minutes walk and circle line tram just over the road which we caught into the city every day. Room very quiet at night. Plenty of cafe's and seven elevens in the area. Would definitely stay here again with a group of friends.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments all have a balcony which is great. View nothing spectacular but great to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Good Morning Annielizie,thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am delighted to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. I will definately pass on your feedback to my Housekeeping team. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I loved this but my wife thought neighborhood sketchy. Great to have laundry in room free. Free Internet in lobby near useless. Elevator access dies the am you leave. I got trapped had to pound doors to get out. Scary stuff. Light controls confusing. You have to jam card in. Still great place in convenient location

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Good Morning Bird-Fanatic, thank you for taking the time to leave your valued feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely be following up in regards to the lobby internet not working well. We recently had this upgraded so should not be the case. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I am concerned you had problems in the lift, by all means I would be happy to discuss further. Please feel free to contact me on 03 9246 0000 so i can attain more details. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The purpose for my trip was a bit of a boy's weekend catching up with friends who live over there. I wanted a clean, modern, centrally located suite with enough room to entertain a friend or two before going out. The Adina was perfect. Don't go if you're looking for a resort or 5 star hotel experience. The Adina Suites are more like serviced appartments. Rooms are big, reasonably well decorated (without being opulent or luxurious), and very clean. I wanted a balcony with a view, so I was overlooking a trainline above a bus intersection - quite noisy outside, but the doors shut out much of the noise. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.