We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service-Adequate Accommodation-Needs Attention to Cleanliness & Maintenance.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Excellent Service-Adequate Accommodation-Needs Attention to Cleanliness & Maintenance.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at Reception are so professional, friendly, helpful , smiling & always greeted me when I was leaving & entering the building. Very impressed. The staff made this visit for me.
I booked a studio apartment which was adequate for my needs.

I had a few issues while here. My safe was not unlocked on my arrival & there were hairs on a shelf above the safe. Reception had these attended to within the hour. The toilet roll holder was not secure so the roll kept falling out. This too was attended to.
Why doesn't house keeping report issues & check on cleanliness & maintenance issues?
There was a black grime around the bathroom basin sink plug hole which I listed for attention. Not at all hygenic, & was unsightly to look at.
Another issue is the off light & time light on the bedroom TV were so bright facing the bed + were reflected in the mirror that a pillow was used to try & block them out for sleeping purposes.

I doubt I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Good Morning Clee1. Thank you for leaving your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the majority of your stay and was impressed with the high level of service our team delivered. I have followed up with my housekeeping & maintenance team in relation to the issues you experienced so we can ensure these items are not missed in future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    206
    49
    17
    6
See reviews for
48
139
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Adina Northbank is a good solid property and I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future. Had a one bedroom apartment which had everything needed. Servicing was good & non-intrusive and front desk staff were always pleasant. Great value and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Good Morning RJCD800, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Northbank. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I always stay at Adina (if good rate is available - Melbourne is often short of beds during major events). Location is close to Spencer St station for intra-state train travel or skybus transfers. Nearly always get a balcony - which is good for MLB summers.

Have stayed in studio and 1bdr rooms, always spotless, of a good spacious size and well equipped for self-catering. Check-in/out is always simple, quick and efficient. Nice little lounge area (with library) gives it a bit of a hotel feel, as apartment hotels are often a bit sterile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here as it was part of a business trip.

We were on the 11th floor which faced west (over Spencer street and toward Port Melbourne).

Normally we like to sleep with the curtains open (so as the sun comes up we also wake up) but as there was a massive TV screen on a building opposite us that was on all night so we had to close the curtains. We couldn't move them to the other side of the window as that would have covered the screen and could have had the curtains open at least 1/2 way.

We love the proximity of this hotel to Exhibition Hall (where the meetings were) and the Casino.

Also parking was good (we had a hire car and my husband was so paranoid that someone was going to open a car door into it). He loved the fact that there was 2 parks and then a wall and at $25 a night he was happy that it was secure.

Staff at the front desk were friendly.

Also the cafe below (Keyif) has very nice coffee and there is a great Nepaleese restaruant 1 block over - which is very yummy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the eastern side if you like to sleep with your curtains open (or if you like sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed five nights and could not fault anything during my stay. It was very clean, extremely friendly and obliging staff, quiet and accessible to everything central in Melbourne. I booked online. Highly recommend and I am a very fussy person in regards to accommodation.

Room Tip: I was on 8th floor with a balcony facing Downie Stree, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Choose to try a mystry deal on wotif.com and ended up with this place.

The location is on Flinders Street between Spence & King Street. The hotel is near a back packers, in the vicinity of a few dodgy bars and a kebab shop. On return late at night the area may feel unsafe for a few people.
The noise from the elevated train station is annoying and the cars/trams are loud if your looking to have a sleep in.

However, it is within a 10min walk to federation square or there is a tram stop right out side. The location is also about a 5-10 min walk to the Crown Casino & nearby restaurants & bars.

The staff were friendly & quite professional. Very welcoming & approachable.

The room was comfortable and warm. We were booked into a studio however were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment just by being friendly and asking politely. Whilst the rooms are self serviced there is still a hotel feel with room service & mini bar options. There is a pool on the 15th floor along with a spa, sauna and gym. Pretty good for the active person. However the photo on the website was clearly taken awhile back.

Not a bad stay for the price we payed, however would look elsewhere next im in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this at last minute. Rates are 10% cheaper if you book direct ( compared to online).
The rooms were spacious and clean. We were on 11 th floor. We had a large balcony. King bed. Quiet location.

Great location. Short walk to Crown.

Location easy to access off freeway.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Restaraunt downstairs had excellent coffee and cheap but tasty food.

We will be back! :0)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Hotel
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne
Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.