We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms, good position and friendly helpful staff. Only issue we had was that our room had the view of a lane and not an interesting one and the side of a building. We were also woken at 6 am on Saturday morning by the rubbish collection.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    284
    78
    22
    10
See reviews for
75
217
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury , Western Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here recently for the second time, the first time it was Medina Executive Northbank. I can assure you that there is no change in quality or service. We love the location - close proximity to Ethiad Stadium, Casino and Southbank, tram stop right outside, Spencer St Station and a short tram ride or good achievable walk to South Melbourne. The rooms are very modern , yet homely and the beds are comfy. We actually feel as if it is our own little apartment , instead of a hotel.We will come back!

Room Tip: Try the one-bedroom apartment as they are well set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Westli

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
The Adina Melbourne Northbank are delighted that your second time at the hotel was as enjoyable as the first. It is also pleasing to hear that you felt at home in our 1 bedroom apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There are two Adina Apartments on Flinders Street - the one at 88 is at the quieter end of Flinders Street. This one on Northbank (550 Flinders St) is much noisier given its close proximity to rail lines and busy traffic interchanges. That said, the rooms were well appointed and very comfortable although, on the 12th floor, street noise was still significant.
The staff in reception were very welcoming and efficient.
The hotel is on a good tram route into the city centre and close to many local facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the rear of the hotel away from the noisy part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Ramsay

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor

We are pleased to read that the Adina Melbourne Northbank team were very welcoming and efficient during your stay. Our hotel is in a very close to many of the local attractions and transport.
Just to inform future travellers that most of our rooms are not facing the street and are very quiet.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed with our six year old daughter and found Adina Northbank very good. The pool was heated and the one bedroom apartment spacious. We walked to the tram easily and had access to the whole city. And there were two small supermarkets close by. Kitchen was well equipped and the service was excellent. We were able to walk to Chinese and Italian food easily.

Room Tip: We had the 'wrong' view of the city but really enjoyed it! I would ask for a view to avoid l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Xmasbabe

Thanks for sharing your experience. I am delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed all what Adina Melbourne Northbank has to offer... Our goal is provide accommodation and service that our guests rave about. It's great to see we've succeeded with you.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

home away from home in this friendly hotel. There are lots of eateries nearby, trams outside, close to Southern Cross station, the football, the convention centre and casino.
The apartment itself was pleasant, quiet, clean and with good facilities. Daily cleaning was a plus.
Lots of supermarkets and grocery/liquor shops nearby

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment - husband and I, plus our daughter and her four year old. The apartment was ideal - basically a one bedroom plus a studio opened up to make a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, laundry and lounge area.

The apartment was clean and well equipped. Staff were very helpful. A very convenient location with trams at the door and close to the railway station. The free circle tram makes it very easy to get to any part of the CBD. We used the skybus from the airport to Southern Cross and it was just a few minutes walk to the hotel - or there is a free skybus shuttle to the hotel if you have too much luggage to manage.

The pool and spa was popular with our grand daughter and there was a small but well equipped gym available. Altogether a great spot for a few days away as a family.

Room Tip: Don't expect good views - this is a city centre hotel - but we did have a balcony and were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed overnight in a great studio apartment. Bed comfortable. Short walk from where you catch the airport bus. Had problems with the air conditioning and the staff were great - got me a heater for my room. Walking distance to shops and cafes.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.