We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne easter weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Melbourne easter weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We (couple) stayed here for a few nights over the Easter weekend and were pleased with the room / service. The room has separate living area and kitchen. Bed was comfortable and room neat and tidy when we arrived. Close to everything, short walk to Southbank and free city loop tram stop out the front of the hotel. The trains can only be heard when opening the balcony door but other than that it is pretty quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Adina Melbourne Northbank, from the service you received by our tram to the facilities in your room. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Melbourne Northbank in the very near future.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    205
    49
    17
    6
See reviews for
47
139
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed there a week and it really did feel like our little apartment. The room is perfect for a couple. The kitchen has great utensils and we cooked everyday. The bathroom was spacious, ample space and towels. Excellent sleep on those beds. Tv in the bedroom and living room. We enjoyed the movie selections offered on the paid network. Great washer and dryer ! The staff at the hotel were friendly and professional.

We did have a problem with the parking swipe card the first day which was rectified immediately. I wish parking was included in the price. We were in room 712 with a huge balcony although it faced an apartment building under construction. WIFI is available in the lobby. Wish it was a service offered in the price especially in this day and age. Our last day there, the frames of the door were being painted and it took us a while to figure out were that smell was coming from. My husband thought I burned something. Wish they had given us some prior notice.

Its located on an excellent street. Close to the trams, restaurants , shops and entertainment.
I would gladly stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Zeddypink

We appreciate you taking the time to post these comments on trip advisor.

I was very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope that you will be returning to the city soon and returning to Adina Melbourne Northbank. We have just had 32” LCD TV’s installed in all apartments and its great to hear that they are making a difference.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The rooms are excellent: very comfortable, big bed, a kitchenette (but why not eat in the many local restaurants), desk and of course a big screen TV. The reception handles all your inquiries with speed and expertise. The location is right next to the train station, which allows you to go everywhere. The only point to criticize - the small café next door where they send you for breakfast. While the food is good, the staff is young and the music loud. For 7AM in the morning, a little calm would have been great.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your comments about our new big screen TV’s and teams expertise. Regarding café Keyif I have addressed your comments about the volume with management.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can look after your accommodation requirements.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We made reservation as Medina Executive Apt but on arrival we then realised that the property was renamed as Adina Apt Hotel. Of course, our reservation stood. Superb location with the tram station at the doorstep, walking distance to train station, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, South Wharf and the Crown Entertainment Centre. The car park was very secured and at level 2, it led us directly to the lift. In fact, we felt very secured as going to our room floor required access card in the lift and the main entrance required access card after 8pm. Facilities within the room were good as it was an "apartment" style. We guessed the wall TV was 42" size, huge and pleasure for viewing. Overall, we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay in Adina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed on 21/3/2013 for one night only. The immediate impression was good and the front of house staff were friendly and efficient. We had to park our car in the 5 minute parking in either Downie Street or in Flinders Street (the hotel is on that corner) and check in so we could get our room key-card which also opens the on-site secure parking roller door. You park your car in the secure parking yourself which is not a problem.

The room we had which was a one bedroom apartment was well equipped with microwave, hotplate with extractor over, dishwasher and good sized fridge. There was a clothes washer and dryer in the bathroom. One of the things that detracted a little from our experience was that the bathroom was set up for the disabled. A fold down seat was in the shower and the actual toilet was a good 15 cm higher than standard. Wouldn't be a problem for taller people but there you go.

The apartment itself was a bit compact and the bed was so large that there was no room to walk down one side between the wall. We moved it a bit ourselves which fixed that. Everything looks new and is clean so really not too much to complain about.

The location is great only being a walk to Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross Station Shopping and DFO Southbank. The centre of Melbourne is about a 10-15 minute walk say to Bourke Street Mall.

We had the second floor and were woken early by activity in the lane beside the hotel. The old story, the higher you go the less noise I suppose.

Value for money? I would say pretty good but there are some equally good hotels for the same money that have pools and fitness facilities. It depends what you priorities are. We needed to be close to the Hare and Grace Restaurant so it worked well for us.

Room Tip: Probably try to get one of the higher floors for a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

The team is pleased to hear that your immediate impressions were good and that the reception team are friendly and efficient.
We are grateful that you have shared with us your comments relating to your apartment and I believe that you may have had our easy access room with a walk in shower. I am however disappointed that our team didn’t inform you of our fantastic pool, spa, sauna and gym facilities on level 15.

Thank you once again and hope you decide to return to Adina Melbourne Northbank in the very near future.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business. Not the normal hotel I stay at in Melbourne but it was Grand Prix week and was a last minute trip.

Reception was polite and welcoming. Room was very large with huge kitchen and living area. View was over the railway lines to Birrarung Marr.

The rooms, lifts and general hotel areas just look a bit grotty - feels like it needs a good deep clean.

if you are a light sleeper, noise from the railway line and trams is evident.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jove99

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Adina Melbourne Northbank over F1 Grand Prix.

We were disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on cleanness and value your constructive feedback.

Please rest assured your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team to remind them of the importance of providing and maintaining our standards at all times.

Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back to Adina Melbourne Northbank in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros:
- Great location (close to transport, short walk to city and Southbank)
- Friendly staff
- Quiet: we had an apartment at the back of the property and on one of the higher levels that meant although the views weren't great (a carpark mainly), it was away from the traffic/tram noise
- Reasonably clean - there were dirty hand prints on some of the walls, marks on the lounge/cushions and the furniture hadn't been moved to be cleaned underneath, but otherwise clean and tidy
- Gym, spa, sauna and pool were good facilities
- Kitchen was fully functional
- Very comfortable bed

Cons:
- the one-bedroom apartment was smaller than I anticipated
- view wasn't great

All in all, our apartment was adequate for our week stay but we were a little disappointed with the size. A more thorough cleaning would also be advantageous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels and at the back of the property (away from Flinders Street) for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear AussieGal555

Thank you for your review and I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed both our location and friendly team members. I am disappointed however to read about the cleanness of your room and have addressed this with our housekeeping department. I would also like to clarify to travellers that all our 1 bedroom apartments are a large 45 square meters.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Hotel
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne
Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.