We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one bedroom apartment fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one bedroom apartment fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Adina (formerly Medina) twice. The first time I was on a lower floor, and could hear a bit of street noise, which is not unexpected given it's on a busy street, and was fixed by buying earplugs. The second time I was on the 8th floor, and there was much less street noise. The apartments are fantastic, with pretty much everything you want, including a full kitchen. The gym and pool are handy, and the hotel is pretty well located, especially if you like walking. I would definitely recommend the Adina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    477
    131
    32
    12
See reviews for
161
389
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel' room was very clean and spaious.
Although I only saw the next apartment rooms form the balcony and there was no sunshine in my room.
I borrowed the shave cream. At that time the staff said no fee for it. However, when I checked out, I had to pay some money for it.
If you use this hotel just to sleep, I can reccomend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, with tram stops close by, a short walk to the Docklands area and the Melbourne Aquarium. Staff are very nice and helpful but we were a little disappointed with the cleaning of the room. We had to speak to the reception staff on two occasions and whilst our feedback was taken on board the first time and the issue rectified, the second time it wasn't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value apartments in a good location. Modern styled complex with a great cafe/resturaunt attached. Good alternative to Crown if you need to be close to Southbank.

Bargin at around $200 per night for a 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen and laundry etc

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Steven R

The hotel team are so pleased that you appreciated both the hotels location and amenities. We also believe that Adina Melbourne Northbank is great value and that Café Keyif offers fantastic food.
We hope that we can accommodate you and your family when next in Melbourne.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this apartment a few years ago and am happy to say it still looks as new.
The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. They made checking in and out very quick and hassle free.
The rooms are a very comfortable size and allow privacy in even a studio apartment. I was very happy to see the stereo was ipod adaptable and there was a T.V in both the lounge and bedrooms.
The full kitchen and well sized bathroom, makes you feel very at home without having the cramped hotel atmosphere.
The apartment is very clean, well stocked and stylish. I would happily stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Kymberley

The Adina Melbourne Northbank team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel still presents as well as it did several years ago. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Confusion about which property led me to the wrong one at 88. Despite assurances from the lady at front-desk, it really isnt feasible to walk to 550 with luggage. She would have accepted me there but didnt since I did not book direct - well thats because its dearer on your website! Ah but they price match, just dont say so on their website - wonder why.

The property at 550 is clean and modern but is noisy - both internally from the party room door (yes it was locked), other floors, the stupidly loud lift buttons and garbage truck in the lane at 5:15am! And that was after insisting on a quiet room.

Problems with ironing board were eventually resolved after several tries only to find they use the cheap irons with 1.5M leads. How can Medina ever target the corporate market by saving $5 on a quality iron?!?

Pool was good and is heated but massive flood lights near blind you in the low-ceiling room. I guess they let the electrician choose them - it pays to manage your trades.

Noticed no complaint form on the Adina website so sharing here more broadly to help save you from a bad nights sleep! A real shame Adina isnt better managed.

Room Tip: Well I asked for a quiet room and that clearly didnt work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although we were only staying overnight we found this to be in an ideal location. Within easy walking distance to Southbank Wharf and Casino. Excellent cafe very close for breakfast the next morning and straight onto the tram to spend the day sightseeing. We loved the cleanliness, convenience, space, two flat screen televisions and a balcony ..... oh and for me the bed was the best I have slept on in ages (presently recuperating from a back injury) it was huge and super comfy! Without question we will stay again and hopefully for longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Lea

Thank you for your positive comments and it sounds like you had an excellent time. Glad to read that you found our beds super comfy. We have just installed brand new 32” LCD TV’s within all guest rooms which look fantastic

We look forward to your return

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.