We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Generally ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, with tram stops close by, a short walk to the Docklands area and the Melbourne Aquarium. Staff are very nice and helpful but we were a little disappointed with the cleaning of the room. We had to speak to the reception staff on two occasions and whilst our feedback was taken on board the first time and the issue rectified, the second time it wasn't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    284
    78
    22
    10
See reviews for
75
217
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Great value apartments in a good location. Modern styled complex with a great cafe/resturaunt attached. Good alternative to Crown if you need to be close to Southbank.

Bargin at around $200 per night for a 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen and laundry etc

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Steven R

The hotel team are so pleased that you appreciated both the hotels location and amenities. We also believe that Adina Melbourne Northbank is great value and that Café Keyif offers fantastic food.
We hope that we can accommodate you and your family when next in Melbourne.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this apartment a few years ago and am happy to say it still looks as new.
The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. They made checking in and out very quick and hassle free.
The rooms are a very comfortable size and allow privacy in even a studio apartment. I was very happy to see the stereo was ipod adaptable and there was a T.V in both the lounge and bedrooms.
The full kitchen and well sized bathroom, makes you feel very at home without having the cramped hotel atmosphere.
The apartment is very clean, well stocked and stylish. I would happily stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Kymberley

The Adina Melbourne Northbank team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel still presents as well as it did several years ago. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Confusion about which property led me to the wrong one at 88. Despite assurances from the lady at front-desk, it really isnt feasible to walk to 550 with luggage. She would have accepted me there but didnt since I did not book direct - well thats because its dearer on your website! Ah but they price match, just dont say so on their website - wonder why.

The property at 550 is clean and modern but is noisy - both internally from the party room door (yes it was locked), other floors, the stupidly loud lift buttons and garbage truck in the lane at 5:15am! And that was after insisting on a quiet room.

Problems with ironing board were eventually resolved after several tries only to find they use the cheap irons with 1.5M leads. How can Medina ever target the corporate market by saving $5 on a quality iron?!?

Pool was good and is heated but massive flood lights near blind you in the low-ceiling room. I guess they let the electrician choose them - it pays to manage your trades.

Noticed no complaint form on the Adina website so sharing here more broadly to help save you from a bad nights sleep! A real shame Adina isnt better managed.

Room Tip: Well I asked for a quiet room and that clearly didnt work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although we were only staying overnight we found this to be in an ideal location. Within easy walking distance to Southbank Wharf and Casino. Excellent cafe very close for breakfast the next morning and straight onto the tram to spend the day sightseeing. We loved the cleanliness, convenience, space, two flat screen televisions and a balcony ..... oh and for me the bed was the best I have slept on in ages (presently recuperating from a back injury) it was huge and super comfy! Without question we will stay again and hopefully for longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Lea

Thank you for your positive comments and it sounds like you had an excellent time. Glad to read that you found our beds super comfy. We have just installed brand new 32” LCD TV’s within all guest rooms which look fantastic

We look forward to your return

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked to stay at the Medina but on arrival the sign over the Reception said Adena. So I left and checked to find the Medina, but returned when I realised it has had a rebrand. However this is half hearted since signs and literature elsewhere in the hotel use the old name. At the outset, visitors should be aware that this hotel is next to a derelict building and several back-packers hostels. There are also several low brow bars in the same block, and beggars and drunks will inevitably get in your way as you negotiate your way back to the hotel late at night. Tram, motorbike and train enthusiasts will probably love the hotel because it is opposite a tram stop on one of the busy streets in Melbourne, and there is an elevated train line directly across the road. This means that traffic noise is very noticeable in the rooms at the front of the hotel although it gets quieter after 1am. On the plus side, it is very handy for the Crown casino and Southern Cross station. There are also several 7-Eleven stores nearby which is good because the apartments have cooking facilities. But if you want better value, walk up to Southern Cross railway station and use the large Coles supermarket there since the range of food is better, the food is fresher and the prices much lower.

The reception staff are very helpful and I spoke with them daily as my key card kept failing. The lobby area is clean and tidy. There are some internet terminals there but they are very slow. Wifi is available in every room but costs $11 for one hour, $22 for 24 hours or $66 for 7 days. This is quite expensive for European visitors so do factor this in if you need wifi during your stay. You can get 30 min of free wifi by sitting outside the lift on level 1 but this will not suit everyone.

The rooms are apartment style and have separate bathrooms, bedrooms and a living area with kitchen. Mine had a fridge freezer, microwave, hob and oven, sink and basic cups and cutlery. A decent iron and ironing board were also in the room. However the TV was a small, silver old style affair at least 15 years old, and the choice of channels was poor. The bathroom was clean and tidy.

The room decoration was clean but tired. There were rips in the curtains and they had become detached from the rail, and the hotel hadn't attempted to repair these. In my first room the air conditioning unit failed and I was moved to another room. This one had a broken window fastening and so traffic noise was very loud and I didn't get any sleep. I'd probably rate it as a three star hotel despite its branding as a four star. With that in mind, I won't stay here again and will choose a newer more quieter hotel in a safer area that has free wifi.

I booked the hotel via Expedia. I expressed my concerns to Expedia and they were brilliant and refunded what I had requested. This is one time I'm glad I booked through a decent agent like Expedia because they supported me, and hopefully can put pressure on the hotel owners to improve their hotel so that subsequent guests get a decent holiday.

Room Tip: Ask to check the room before agreeing to take it. Inspect the main window to maker sure you're h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 9th floor on our recent visit to Melbourne for the tennis. Even though this hotel is in my opinion in need of a little bit of an update we would definitely stay again.

It had a few drawbacks, ie, the 1980's style television, the living area and the bedroom is a bit smaller than some others I have experienced in my travels, wasnt a fan of the tiny shower with the soap holder that stabbed you every time you turned and although road noise wasn't an issue, i certainly heard the trains... we found it to be non stop and took us about 3 nights before we got used to the noise...

But now the good points!

The staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful, all you could ask. Location is first class...sure its not in the most glamorous part of melbourne but it has fast food across the road as well as Michels Patisserie if you want a cheaper breakfast...

Restaurants/Southbank/Crown are like a 5 minute walk, the DFO on South Wharf is a 10 minute walk, groceries can be bought at the Woolies at the Spencer St station round the corner and if you decide to go to Harbour Town the circle line tram station is right in front.

The bed which was a king size was fantastic and if you chose to cook in your apartment, the kitchen facilities are as good as some houses i have seen, but with so much choice to eat out not sure why you would bother!

So yes, love Melbourne and next time we visit we will most likely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.