We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Super Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - Super Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 9th floor on our recent visit to Melbourne for the tennis. Even though this hotel is in my opinion in need of a little bit of an update we would definitely stay again.

It had a few drawbacks, ie, the 1980's style television, the living area and the bedroom is a bit smaller than some others I have experienced in my travels, wasnt a fan of the tiny shower with the soap holder that stabbed you every time you turned and although road noise wasn't an issue, i certainly heard the trains... we found it to be non stop and took us about 3 nights before we got used to the noise...

But now the good points!

The staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful, all you could ask. Location is first class...sure its not in the most glamorous part of melbourne but it has fast food across the road as well as Michels Patisserie if you want a cheaper breakfast...

Restaurants/Southbank/Crown are like a 5 minute walk, the DFO on South Wharf is a 10 minute walk, groceries can be bought at the Woolies at the Spencer St station round the corner and if you decide to go to Harbour Town the circle line tram station is right in front.

The bed which was a king size was fantastic and if you chose to cook in your apartment, the kitchen facilities are as good as some houses i have seen, but with so much choice to eat out not sure why you would bother!

So yes, love Melbourne and next time we visit we will most likely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    386
    108
    25
    11
See reviews for
120
299
45
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

pros:
* close to Crown and Southbank/warf
* mainly very clean, although a big carpet stain
* modern inside
* big gym

Cons:
* bed was far too hard...literally like laying on a timber board
* fair walk to centre of city or sports venues
* parking onsite is expensive. Go to the parking off Flinders Lane.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

On Flinders St with tram stop straight outside and close to Southern Cross station.
Just across the road from the river with easy access to Southbank and walking distance to Rod Laver Arena.
The staff were outstanding. Always friendly and handled problems efficiently and with a smile.

Air conditioning was good as could set it to our own requirements.

The down side to this hotel is that it is rated as 4 star, but we believe a 3 star or 3.5 star rating would be more appropriate.
It is not particularly spacious and very noisy in the mornings from about 5.30am.

The electronic key system seems to be a constant problem, not only for us but for everyone at the hotel.

When we arrived (in the evening) the room had not been properly serviced and rubbish from the previous occupants had not been disposed of. This was quickly sorted, but unfortunately the next day our room was not properly serviced again. We complained, and the desk staff were really super, and this time the problem was sorted and we had no further problems.

Balcony we had was so narrow it was really unusable for any outdoor use.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed twice in a one bedroom apartment and both stays have been great.
Location is excellent to Casino and Southbank precinct.
One bedroom apartment is a good size with a king size bed. The balcony views are nothing to write home about, but the street noise is non existent inside the rooms.
If I had to find negatives, the TVs need updating to flat screens and I personally don't like showers above the bath.
For the value for money though I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 5 nights with three couples in seperate apartments. One of us is in a wheelchair and the faciltites were fanatastic.We were all going to the tennis during this time. It was a perfect location ,staff were amazingly helpful. All corespondence from the word go was very professional.It was very clean. If there was a negative ...the wifi was extremely slow and the card swipe system to use lifts often did not work. We will definatley stay here again. Thankyou

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Pros: nice staff, tram to the tennis outside the door
Cons: tiny box TVs-surely it's time for flat screens! Not a nice part of town.
We stayed here during the first week of the Australian open. It was clean & the staff were all friendly & happy to help.
We couldn't believe the tiny TVs though-it is supposed to be the 21st century after all. Probably would prefer to stay
Closer to the city next time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here being relatively central with a city circle tram stop just outside. The service and facilities were great. Our only disappointment was the internet access was quite limited and I hope in time this will be upgraded. The computer in the lobby is also very slow so would not recommend using this as you spend your money on waiting for it to load the websites. We would stay here again and made use of the pool and Gym. It is just across the bridge from the Crown Casino.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room on the upper floors for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.