We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, not too noisy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Location, not too noisy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found this hotel in a prime location, surprisingly there was not a lot of noise as our room faced out to Flinders St and we were a few floors up. We stayed here one night on a package. We ended up ordering a continental breakfast box and found the next day we weren't charged for them, we pointed this out and as they couldn't add it to the bill was made complementary. It's a short walk to the casino and Etihad Stadium, good customer service as most places in Melbourne, I recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    306
    83
    23
    10
See reviews for
82
233
42
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in a one-bedroom apartment. If you review the property against its advertised four star rating, it's disappointing - but as it's priced at a three-star level, if you compare it to its price-point competitors it's pretty good.

Pros: The rooms and property were clean and quiet - there were lots of rowdy guests for a sports match during my stay, but you couldn't hear them from in your room. The room was turned down nicely every day with fresh linen and sheets, despite the placards in the room about saving the environment by re-using linen and towels unless you ask. The location, unlike many in the CBD, is easy to drive to with 5-minute loading/unloading bays right out the front. Restaurants, attractions and public transport are an easy walk with the free City Circle tram right at the door. Staff were excellent and very helpful, service was quick and friendly especially when I had to change my booking after check-in.

Cons: Lots of little things suggesting the place is run on a budget - eg signs about how to use the lift etc are printed on the office printer and stuck to the wall with tape; various signage around the place refers to it by three or four different names reflecting changes of ownership over the years; the balconies and windows hadn't been cleaned in years, or maybe ever; you have to put your room key in a slot to activate the lights and aircon, just like a 1970s motel, so the room is always stuffy and hot when you return to it; there were numerous light bulbs out in my room and the carpet was worn; the television is a tiny CRT model that distorts the widescreen picture to fit, and it prominently advertises "adult movies!" when you turn it on. There are no towels provided at the pool, which is much smaller and stuffier than the photos on the hotel website suggest, so guests have to get back in the lift dripping wet.

I booked parking with my room (and pre-paid it) but by the time I checked in, the car park was full. Staff directed me to a nearby secure car park which is actually cheaper than the hotel's parking.

For those unfamiliar with Melbourne, the west end of the city block is definitely the "cheap" end, and this location has two derelict buildings, a $10/night hostel, several strip clubs, and a massive rail marshalling yard, as immediate neighbours. I was accosted by vagrant beggars a couple of times entering/leaving the lobby.

Room Tip: There are two interconnected buildings - an older low-rise fronting the street, and a newer high-ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here while on visit to Melbourne. 3.1.2013 Staff very friendly, could not fault breakfast they where great !!

cleanliness of pool could be improved.Balconies needed to be cleaned as there was cobwebs and spiders,also glass on balconies had not been cleaned for sometime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at Medina Northbank on the 3rd of December 2012, our first day there my girlfriend and i were getting ready to go out to a day event. As girls are comfortable around each other we were both in minimal clothing just out of the shower when we hear MALE voices in our room, we both were shocked when we discovered 2 men in our apartment while we were in the middle of getting changed!!!! The reception desk had given these two men the key to our room. I can say that i was mortified and all they could do was give us a bottle of champagne that we didn't even drink. Also about a month later i received an invoice for all these drinks that were ordered on my card, which i hadn't ordered!! I called up and complained and was issued a refund. Was happy that i got a refund but none of this should not of happened in the first place.

Facilities were nice and clean.

But they need to sort there system out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmorency, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for New Year's Eve 2012/13
We booked on budget hotel site agora as a place to celebrate and be close to the fireworks.

We didn't know what to expect but after the short walk from the train station arriving at the wonderfully presented hotel put our mind at ease.

The staff are attentive and wonderful. We stayed in the shared apartment (2/3) the dishwasher in 2 hadn't been cleaned but upon alerting staff to the weird smell they got on it straight away.

Our room had a small out door area that was prefect for sitting an talking, it could use a bit of a liven up, maybe a plant (we were calling it our below road dungeon) but for what we wanted it was great.

Rooms were kitted out, I would have happily stayed there for a prolonged amont of time and would highly reccomend it to anyone.

Also if your there for New Years, from directly outside the hotel you can see the fireworks, WIN

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Michelle N

It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and happy to hear that you picked Adina Melbourne Northbank for your New Year’s Eve celebrations.

I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your stay.

Sincerely,

Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having stayed in some of Worlds finest recently I would say that medina is the best serviced apartment in the city of Melbourne
Check in was fine, room nice and large with a good view and being on the 10th floor great views and no traffic noise at all even though its in city the room was nice and calm.
Location is great as you are 5 min walk from all the stores, food, drink and entertainment places like crown casino, village cinemas etc ...... as well as a free tourist tram which takes around the city located right in front of medina had actually saved me up a lot of money on taxi......as i used the tram for site seeing.
I know it's not a star hotel to have a travel desk to explain us places to visit but the staff on duty that day its nava and michaela was very friendly as they suggest the places to visit and answering my questions with a great smile.
With a couple of exceptions a pleasant stay in a great part of a fabulous city
Thank you medina....... I really can't wait to book again for my family who's visiting soon

Room Tip: Always ask the staff for the best view before you book your suite......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Shiva K

Having stayed in some of the worlds finest it is great to know that you think Adina Melbourne Northbank is the best serviced apartments in Melbourne.

The Adina team love to share their local knowledge with guests and Nava & Michaela and delighted to hear that they were able to assist.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After 2days of travelling, had a lovely receptionist who welcomed us and were up to our room quickly. It was a great 1-bed, with a lovely kitchen area where you have two work top sides and plenty of cupboard space to store food, with just about everything you need (our room lacked a baking tray for the oven). The TVs are outdated but ours worked, not that we watched much tv anyway. The bedroom was large and spacious with a study area at the end. Again the bathroom was a good size, cupboard space, bath with shower and laundry cupboard to shut out the noise when on. We also had a very large balcony, but these seemed only available north facing (as not on the road side or against other buildings) which meant it did not get that much sunshine, but the potential to make them more usable with dining, laundry line or even some planting would be beneficial. The main issue for me is the quantity of items trying to be sold to you in the apartment, a bit extreme.
There is a small gym but covers the main fitness equipment, plus a narrow pool for swimming some lengths on the same top floor. It was nice to have the slopping glass views out but ashame about the rust! I found the wifi to be slightly expensive, so chose to use the computer by the lifts which was slightly cheaper and only needed to check emails, however it is slow (like most technology here, could do with upgrading) and did not have adobe so could not print out my tour ticket for the next stage of my journey.
The location is great; just around the corner from the train station and where the skybus starts/stops for the airport, tram for free circle ride of the city is outside and a 10min walk into the main city area. We were also interested in going to Albert Park to walk the f1 track, which was also a simple walk over the river and some good little shops with a rustic feel (plus a good bar/cafe called something like Wood 'n' Chimmey). Loved a bakery on the Greek road, but again like everything compared to the UK, pricey.
Overall this is a great place to stay (which set a good standard for the rest of our stops around Australia), with maybe little things and finishing touches that could do with tweaking to make it perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Steph T

Thank you for your very detailed review on Adina Melbourne Northbank and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your recommendations regarding the guest’s rooms and will be implementing some very soon.
Also just to clarify with future travellers that we offer 30 mins of free Wifi daily to all guests in our hotel lobby. Cable and Wi-Fi internet from within our rooms is $22 for 24 hours of unlimited usage.
We hope you choose to stay with us again when next in Australia…

Kind Regards,
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.