We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for a conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from Melbourne, where i was travelling on business. I was attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention Center, and managed to snag a great deal and great location for my accommodation. I stayed 4 nights at the Medina Executive Northbank in a 1 bedroom apartment, and i must say it was perfect. I was located about a 5-10mins easy walk from the entrance of the convention center (depending on how quickly the traffic lights changed!). The hotel was great. The apartment was big enough with a fully self-contained kitchen, combined dining and lounge, a separate study area, a bedroom with a large wardrobe and a substantial bathroom that also contained a washing machine and dryer. The room also had an accessible balcony and i had a reasonable view over the city. I just love the lights :o) The rooms were spotless, and the service was fantastic. The beds were comfy, but i prefer a low pillow and had to use the cushions from the lounge. I generally wear earplugs and so i had no problem with noise, however if you are a light sleeper this may not be perfect for you since you can hear the trains and trams once they start up (this was after i took my earplugs out!) in the morning. Good on Medina for their conservationist attitude but if you like a soaking shower, look elsewhere, since my room had a water saving nozzle. In saying that, i suspect most hotels in Melbourne may have one due to water restrictions. Anyway, all i can say is that i was extremely happy with the Medina Executive and i would definitely stay here again when attending the convention center. I couldn't ask for better value for money and the staff were very friendly and the service was superb. Enjoy your stay at the Medina Executive Northbank.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Fiona S

Thank you for sharing your comments. The Medina team are delighted to hear that we succeeded in making your stay enjoyable. Also thrilled that you feel the service was superb and that you couldn’t have asked for better value. We look forward to your next trip to Melbourne whether for business or leisure.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    273
    73
    21
    8
See reviews for
75
209
42
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great location, but there were a few frustrating things like the 1920's TV's, a shower that was hard to turn around in, the room was badly designed. Ie: power points in wrong positions, fridge cupboard door opened the wrong way. The sofa was so uncomfortable I couldn't sit in it. The price I payed was not worth it. Lift your game Medina

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business this week and yes location very good, staff attentive, room spacious - however at $195 per night expected something a bit better than the old fashioned tv's in the room. Honestly they look to be about 20 years old.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have stayed here many times and is one of my favourite hotels in Melbourne. Location is good with free tourist tram out front and easy walk to South Bank and or into the CBD or over to DocklandS.

Service and quality of rooms is consistent. Could do with an upgrade of TV's.

Also the restaurant down stair Keyif offers both quality of food and value for both dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room and have stayed many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Bobbali99

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our property. We are so happy to hear that Medina Executive Northbank is one of your favourite hotels in Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years and I'm always happy with my experiences there.

It's handy to the Tollway out to the airport and the tunnels, and also the Westgate freeway. Hotel parking arrangements work well.

Rooms are pretty well equipped with a small "full-size" fridge (not a bar fridge). A washing machine and dryer in the larger apartments are very useful features. A bigger selection of kitchen knives + a cutting board would be a welcome addition. The couch was OK, but not comfortable for a long stint in front of the TV.

On the TVs - they desperately need upgrading. Tiny CRTs don't cut it these days, so hopefully Medina, you are saving up for this overdue upgrade. When it does happen, the Medina will have a good set-up as their TV service (reception, movies) works well.

Lastly, the staff are always friendly, smiling and helpful. Thanks to Jasmine for her extra efforts.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tallyhos

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. It’s great to hear that you stay with us regularly and that you find our rooms well equipped and our team both friendly and helpful.
Just to confirm with future traveller's that all rooms are stocked with a cutting board and 3 knives. The hotel does have a large range of kitchen utensils and are more than happy to add additional inventory on request.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had read quite a few reviews before I turned up and was a little dubious, but when we got to the apartments, the staff were very friendly and helpful (both with checking in and giving advice for great food and shopping places). And it was very warm and inviting. Went up to the room (2 br apartment - 10th floor) and I was more than happy with what I found. The room was clean, everything very modern and the beds were quite comfortable. I would definately stay here again. Showers worked great and the TV's although not modern, certainly worked just as good as any TV. No need to waste money on something that is working fine, just because it isn't a flat screen. Location to everywhere is great. If you can't walk it, you can always jump on a tram (right across the road) or a $10 cab ride gets you other places that the trams can't. Thank you Medina Executive Northbank.

Room Tip: Our apartment faced towards to train station, 10th floor and was not woken up by any street traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Paula H

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your stay with us. It's satisfying to hear that our 2 bedroom apartment worked out so well for you! The team really appreciates your kind words in regards to their service and local knowledge. We hope to see you during your future visits to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you don' t mind a little bit of walking (to make room for that next Melbourne restaurant treat) then this is the spot. Bit of a run down corner of the city block BUT Circle tram outside, walking distance from sky bus at Southern Cross station, walk to Southbank, Aquarium, Casino , Convention centre, DFO, South Melbourne, Ethihad Stadium, deGraves St and all the city attractions. Good sized rooms, self contained, reasonably quiet, clean and tidy, essential shops handy (7-11, pizza, kebab, bottle shop, pattiserie). Roomrate varies a lot with day of week. We got the Thursday night for under $150 but up to $200 by Saturday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear A and J Bundy

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share with other travellers. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Stephen More
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.