We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“An old favourite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have stayed here many times and is one of my favourite hotels in Melbourne. Location is good with free tourist tram out front and easy walk to South Bank and or into the CBD or over to DocklandS.

Service and quality of rooms is consistent. Could do with an upgrade of TV's.

Also the restaurant down stair Keyif offers both quality of food and value for both dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room and have stayed many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Bobbali99

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our property. We are so happy to hear that Medina Executive Northbank is one of your favourite hotels in Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    497
    135
    33
    12
See reviews for
166
404
61
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years and I'm always happy with my experiences there.

It's handy to the Tollway out to the airport and the tunnels, and also the Westgate freeway. Hotel parking arrangements work well.

Rooms are pretty well equipped with a small "full-size" fridge (not a bar fridge). A washing machine and dryer in the larger apartments are very useful features. A bigger selection of kitchen knives + a cutting board would be a welcome addition. The couch was OK, but not comfortable for a long stint in front of the TV.

On the TVs - they desperately need upgrading. Tiny CRTs don't cut it these days, so hopefully Medina, you are saving up for this overdue upgrade. When it does happen, the Medina will have a good set-up as their TV service (reception, movies) works well.

Lastly, the staff are always friendly, smiling and helpful. Thanks to Jasmine for her extra efforts.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tallyhos

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. It’s great to hear that you stay with us regularly and that you find our rooms well equipped and our team both friendly and helpful.
Just to confirm with future traveller's that all rooms are stocked with a cutting board and 3 knives. The hotel does have a large range of kitchen utensils and are more than happy to add additional inventory on request.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had read quite a few reviews before I turned up and was a little dubious, but when we got to the apartments, the staff were very friendly and helpful (both with checking in and giving advice for great food and shopping places). And it was very warm and inviting. Went up to the room (2 br apartment - 10th floor) and I was more than happy with what I found. The room was clean, everything very modern and the beds were quite comfortable. I would definately stay here again. Showers worked great and the TV's although not modern, certainly worked just as good as any TV. No need to waste money on something that is working fine, just because it isn't a flat screen. Location to everywhere is great. If you can't walk it, you can always jump on a tram (right across the road) or a $10 cab ride gets you other places that the trams can't. Thank you Medina Executive Northbank.

Room Tip: Our apartment faced towards to train station, 10th floor and was not woken up by any street traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Paula H

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your stay with us. It's satisfying to hear that our 2 bedroom apartment worked out so well for you! The team really appreciates your kind words in regards to their service and local knowledge. We hope to see you during your future visits to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Stephen Moore
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you don' t mind a little bit of walking (to make room for that next Melbourne restaurant treat) then this is the spot. Bit of a run down corner of the city block BUT Circle tram outside, walking distance from sky bus at Southern Cross station, walk to Southbank, Aquarium, Casino , Convention centre, DFO, South Melbourne, Ethihad Stadium, deGraves St and all the city attractions. Good sized rooms, self contained, reasonably quiet, clean and tidy, essential shops handy (7-11, pizza, kebab, bottle shop, pattiserie). Roomrate varies a lot with day of week. We got the Thursday night for under $150 but up to $200 by Saturday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear A and J Bundy

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share with other travellers. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Stephen More
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This apartment-hotel is not ideally located if you want to be in the heart of the CBD, or walking distance to the MCG, however it is a very solid value in a busy marketplace. The rooms were clean, a bit frayed around the edges perhaps, but fine for a week-long business stay. The neighbourhood is slightly seedy as comapred to other CBD locations, there are backpacker accomodations on either side, and the infamous gentleman's club strip is around the corner. Train noise could be a problem if you like your windows open. Staff were attentive and efficient, and the lap pool is an excellent bonus.

Room Tip: Facing away from Flinders St. is best for noise, but worse for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Aquadr

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at Medina Executive Northbank. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both your stay with us and your time in Melbourne. Our team really appreciates your kind words. We look forward to seeing you this winter!

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a modern and clean apartment with a good kitchenette, and very close to the Southern Cross train station. The beds were comfortable. There is a balcony but it was too small to sit or eat on. There is a large indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Also there is a good-sized exercise room with many machines. Our room was near the lift but we couldn't hear it. The tram stops in front of the hotel. It is very close to a small IGA for food. It is a short walk to the Aquarium and the Immigration museum. A longer walk or the free tram will get you to Federation Square, Shopping, and the city Centre. Southbank, Docklands, Etihad Stadium and the Casino are within longer walking distance. We could hear the some trains during the night, with the tracks almost across the road.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ruckenbackdos

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Medina Executive Northbank. It's great to hear that your 1 bedroom apartments and hotel facilities met your needs. It appears you enjoyed your time in Melbourne. The team look forward to your future visits to Australia.

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a business trip for my husband at the Melbourne Convention Centre just across the river but it was also a week of shopping and relaxing for me. Such a superb location and so easy to get cabs and to get on and off the trams. I have very limited walking ability and i didn't struggle. Loved the roof top pool and spa.

Beds not super comfy but not bad either. Rooms basic but everything we needed. Great coffee just 100m away and wifi in the cafe next door (but not in the rooms - i think avail but very expensive). 7/11 just across the road. The focus of our trip was exploring melbs and dining out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Laree and Kevin
Thank you for sharing your comments. The team are delighted to hear that we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable. I hope you can visit us again in the future

Kind regards
Stephen Moore
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.