We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed down in Melbourne for an event at the convention centre, hotel was in a great location to this, the crown casino and Melbourne aquarium. The kitchen was great but when in Melbourne eating at the amazing restaurants is part of the experience. The bathroom was very average with older facilities. The hotel should probably invest in free wireless in the rooms. We were quoted $22 for 24hrs internet access and then even though the hotel advertised wireless in the rooms this was not available and you had to use the wired connection at the desk. Another small thing is the TV reception was pretty bad and both televisions seemed to be off-centre in the room. Overall it was a good base for exploring the city but probably wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for providing this feedback on your recent stay with us. The team at Medina Executive Northbank are very happy you loved our location.

We appreciated your feedback on the TV's and hope you will consider staying with us in the future

Kind Regards,

Melissa Thompson
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    357
    106
    25
    11
See reviews for
105
278
44
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The location is great and the rooms are quite modern. However, I did have a few issues:
1. While there were a few foxtel channels, they did not have access to all the new HD channels - it was very annoying because I wanted to watch something on Ten HD and it was not available. They also did not have Gem and one of the channel 7 HD channels.
2. It was advertised as a one bedroom apartment but it was only a room with a bed, small table and a kitchenette. It was quite small and while ok for one person, would not have been suitable for two people.

Room Tip: Try to get a reasonably sized apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
The team at Medina Executive Northbank are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive and constructive feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience caused by not having HD TV channels, this is something we are currently looking at updating.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Medina Executive Northbank in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Melissa Thompson
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel when staying in Australia for 2 weeks, on way to New Zealand Rugby World cup in October 2011. Small reception, which would make you question your initial booking, but the room was very roomy and comfortable. A fabulous view from the window also helped. Self contained apartment had it all, with good cooking facilies and very comfy bed. I would recommend this hotel for the middle priced hotels in Melbourne, and worth a stay....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lovely view, as the hotel is tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for providing this postitve feedback on your recent stay with us. The team at Medina Executive Northbank are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you return to Australia.

Thanks again,

Melissa Thompson
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here in Melbourne. Great to have self-contained room so we could cook for ourselves and reduce the cost of eating out all the time. Great location, not too much traffic noise from our room

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
The team at Medina Execuitve Northbank are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us.

I have passed your comments onto the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Thompson
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had a good two night stay here last week.

Staff were friendly, room was a decent size and clean, bed was comfy and facilities were good.

Downsides; windows were a bit draughty on a cold windy rainy Melbourne day and night! The Wi-Fi is an outrageous rip off and the mini-bar prices are ludicrous - but you expect this of a hotel so not really a major problem!

If you want the guarantee of an average good place to stay which won't surprise or delight but offers a decent standard clean base for your visit then you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The team at Medina Execuitve Northbank would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Melissa Thompson
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying Herron June13th2012. We were having an evenin on the Colonial Tramcar and it was a perfect location for the short walk across the bridge in Clarendon Street to the tram stop.
We were situated on the 10th floor at the rear with a view of a multi level car park. This was not a hassle as we had lovely views of the tall buildings lit up at night which was lovely.
The room was nice and had everything you needed. And so many extra pillows ! Loved them !
The separate living room was great as it could be closed off if someone went to bed. The couch and armchairs were very comfortable and I would definitely stay here again.
We didn't park our car here as it was too expensive($25) so we parked at the Casino for $10 for 24 hours

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
The team at Medina Executive Northbank would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent stay in June.

I am delighted to hear you would return to the hotel and I have passed your comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Northbank in the furture.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Thompson
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here by myself in a 1 bedroom apartment for 5 nights to attend exams in Melbourne. The location is very good, only a few minutes’ walk from the sky bus airport connection and the city circle route tram stops almost outside the front door. Checking in was easy and quick, but I was disappointed with no offer to help with taking bags up to and showing me the room. There is hotel parking but I did not use this.
The room includes a modest living area, a kitchen (microwave, stove, fridge, sink, dishwasher, oven, basic cutlery and crockery), bathroom with laundry, bedroom and good sized balcony. Unfortunately the balcony for my room was directly above the room of an adjacent apartment block, and was very noisy from the extractor fans.
The bathroom has a shower and bath, however I understand you can request one without a bath if you require easier access to the shower.
The living area includes a 4 seater round table, coffee table, TV and aircon. The bedroom has excellent hanging space, TV, separate aircon and a small desk. Room is a bit more limited in the bedroom with a queen size bed present.
The lighting in the rooms is excellent- a real plus when I spent a good deal of time in the room studying. Wifi is inappropriately expensive.
The hotel has a gym, pool, sauna and spa. They are all more than adequate for what you would expect of this hotel type.
The adjacent cafe (which offers room service) is very good, although a bit limited in opening hours.
Staff were generally very good. Room service is not a full change of linen unless requested.
Price was reasonable, I can’t say it’s a bargain but certainly a reasonable cost for the room.
Overall I was generally very happy with this setting for my purposes- it offers the convenience of having a good deal of room and room amenities whilst still being in the city and just over the river from the Southbank area.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a good quiet view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you so much for providing this postitve feedback on your recent stay with us. The team at Medina Executive Northbank are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thanks again,

Melissa Thompson
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank

Address: 550 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Northbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Northbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.