We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kensington B&B
Save Saved
You added Kensington B&B to your Saves list
97 McConnell St | Kensington, Melbourne, Victoria 3031, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Melbourne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A most enjoyable and relaxing stay (6 days) just after Christmas. Close to where my son lives whom I was visiting but also extremely handy for the city and coast beyond. The train station is less than 5 minutes walk. Local amenities are also good. The best thing I can say is - I felt at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We enjoyed sharing our home with you & look forward to seeing you on your next visit to your Aussie family in Kensington, that's Kensington Melbourne!
Cheers
Robena & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for 6 days & found the accommodation to be very clean, comfortable & user friendly.
The owners Robena & Peter were super friendly & no stone was left unturned to make our stay comfortable. Great coffee shops within 2 minutes walk along with some restaurants & 3 bottle shops . Trains into Melbourne are around the corner & run every 20 minutes, plus only takes 10 minutes into Flinders St station.
Code system for door was simple & the supply of Myka cards for public transport was a great idea.
Will be going back

Room Tip: Think most rooms are good with couples bedding in second bedroom upstairs with shared bathroom &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks, we'll keep turning those stones ready for your next visit!
Cheers
Robena & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had 3 rooms over Christmas and it couldn't have worked out better for us, all 5 of us enjoyed our stay! Laid back and friendly. Good bakery, restaurants, coffee shop and bottle shop just around the corner. Easy walk to other shops in Racecourse Road as well. Only 2 stops to Melbourne Central and Victoria Markets on the train. And they had Myki cards that we could use as well. Peter and Robena made us feel just so comfortable and welcome we really did wish we were staying longer than a week. Just been reminded to mention the homemade jams too - excellent. We even got a sample of the honey and honeycomb from the bee hive in the back yard. Paul, Barb, Matthew, Alicia and Angus from Queensland

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your family Christmas with us and your Kensington family.

I’ve been busy as it’s jam-making time again and supplies have been replenished, the Mulberries have been prolific this year!

Till next visit,
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A 'laid back' friendly B & B with a family atmosphere, 2 train stops from the centre of Melbourne. The use of the B & B's train cards was an added bonus and once we had mastered the system we had no problems travelling. The door code system was also great as we could come & go as we pleased. This B&B is also Robena & Peter's 'Town House' so they tend to come and go as they also have a farm to attend to but whilst we were there either one or the other was there. Also we had the added bonus of an invitation to a private dinner party they were holding at which we met their lovely daughter who shared the cooking with Peter. A great evening was had by all! Peter & Robena's son also wandered in from time to time it seems for a meal and catch up on his washing!!! If you want a place to stay where you feel like a guest of the family this is it. Oh, by the way, Robena's homemade Marmalades & Jams on our breakfast toast were great. We are yet to try Peter's complementary bottle of Virgin Olive Oil but we are sure it will be good. Honey is the next on the list. don't be too long in robbing that hive, Peter. Sue & Rob WA

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hello Sue & Rob. It was a pleasure to have you stay in our home & we enjoyed your Vespa stories. Peter & Benj have robbed the hive, so we now have Kensington honey and our bees have a second box to fill. We’ll have some for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our consultations with Tripadvisor are usually spot on, but not so this time. The Kensington B&B did not live up to the excellent ratings it was given. It is closer to average.

The good things about the B&B are as follows: it is reasonably priced, it is within easy walking distance to the train station (3-4 blocks), shops and restaurants are close by, it has a pleasing exterior and walkway to the front door, original hardwood and heritage features and the hosts are very friendly and easy to chat with. But the heritage features are somewhat rough around the edges. In the room we were given there were a couple of large cracks in the walls and the walls were rough and mostly bare. The little sofa in the room was uncomfortable and somewhat dirty on the arm rests. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The towels we were given were also clean but like using cardboard they were so stiff and rough. We had requested the room with a private bathroom. The bathroom was located between the lounge and the kitchen, so we had to walk through the lounge to use it. When people were in the kitchen or lounge you could hear them quite clearly and we suspect they could hear you in the bathroom. Also this bathroom locked from the inside while you were using it but you could not lock the door when you were away. So basically the bathroom was open to the rest of the house while you were away for the day. Not really very private at all.

The atmosphere of the house is communal. There were other guests as well as friends and relatives who were not paying guests of the house coming and going every evening we were there. The owners don't live in the house and seem to come and go with suitcases in hand, too. Everyone used the kitchen for breakfasts and evening meals. Each was responsible to clean up after themselves. It meant things were tidied but it seemed little real cleaning was being done. The toaster, stove top, sink and some areas of the counters were a touch grimy.

There are some positive features to this B&B but the lack of attention to detail and virtually no private bathroom make it an average stay at best.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Cindy and Malcolm. We're sorry that you were disappointed during your recent visit. We have taken your feedback onboard.

Thank you for the positive comments about our heritage home. It's age and the local soil conditions mean that movement is still an issue 100 years after being built, so cracks are always opening up.

No one has raised the external bathroom lock before so we'll update out description to make it clear. The downstairs room is next to a private bathroom, so there's no lounge room to navigate, however unfortunately it was booked out during your stay.

We have a regular cleaning schedule and apologise that you found the kitchen not up to standard. We try to be green and our towels (and sheets) are a bit stiffer than hotels, because we dry them on the line, not in a dryer.

Peter and I spend our time between Kensington B&B and our farm in regional Victoria which is why you saw us coming and going.

We hope this clears up your concerns, and wish you had raised them when you were here so we could have made your stay more pleasant.

Enjoy Tasmania, the rest of your travels and some good Aussie dark beer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Wanting to make sure of accommodation for the Richard Wagner Festival 2013, we booked ten day's accommodation back in mid-2012. Kensington B&B exceeded our expectations, providing a friendly, sophisticated and comfortable stay close to the Melbourne CBD. Kensington is a really pleasant inner city suburb with a wealth of historical dwellings to delight the eye (and camera). A bonus was just how close it was to Flinders Street Station (seven minutes, if the train doesn't do the City Loop!). Nothing was too much trouble for mein hosts, Peter and Robina, who were there when needed but invisible when solitude was needed. The bedrooms were spotless and well-appointed with WiFi internet and the kitchen and bathrooms were already supplied so you didn't need to bring soap, shampoo, etc. On days "off", it was a great place to relax and read. The Abyssinian restaurant close by was a real bonus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks to your stay with us David & ABC Classic FM we’re now up on all things Wagnerian & Melbourne’s celebrations of ‘The Ring’, glad you enjoyed your time here.
Our family also enjoy dining at The Abyssinian, & given its popularity we now book a table in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently used the Kensington B&B for a 3 day stay in Melbourne in October 2013 . It was clean and comfortable. Robena and Peter were great hosts giving useful information when we needed it and welcoming us into their social gatherings in the evening if we felt like a chat whilst at the same time allowing us the freedom to come and go if we wished. The area was very handy to the city centre whilst at the same time very quiet. The breakfast was "help yourself" which meant we could get up when it suited us, there were healthy cereals and some yummy homemade preserves and jams and always a good cup of tea or coffee when we came in. We will be recommending Kensington B&B to our friends when they are looking for somewhere to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we trust you also enjoyed your Great Ocean Road trip.

Cheers
Robena & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington B&B

Address: 97 McConnell St | Kensington, Melbourne, Victoria 3031, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington B&B is best described in the words of our guests...... ‘Thank you so much for allowing me to enjoy such a beautiful home. I have had a wonderful time and you think of everything. I would like to come back again’ Margie, Adelaide SA. ‘Thank you again for a wonderful stay in my little home away from home! See you next year. Cheers’ Karen, Perth WA. ‘What a fantastic place’ Sigrid, Germany. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.