We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with warm company!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kensington B&B
Save Saved
You added Kensington B&B to your Saves list
97 McConnell St | Kensington, Melbourne, Victoria 3031, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Royal Melbourne Show
Ranked #4 of 28 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Perth
1 review
“Comfortable stay with warm company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had a great stay here, the owners Peter and Robena are welcoming and open but respectful. Very clean, cosy and convenient. The exterior is a charming cottage, while the interior is large and roomy. Close to all local amenities and transport, Kensington has a great selection of cafes and restaurants.

I enjoyed some great meals and conversation, will be back again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It was a delight to have you stay with us Zoe. We look forward to your return visits.
Robena & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springwood, NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My most recent stay was the third time I had stayed at the Kenginston B&B, or C&C, and for me it does feel like home away from home. Kensington is a lovely village very close to the CBD of Melbourne; an easy train-ride away. The B&B is clean, comfortable and friendly, and because it is only three rooms, there is never any feeling of being overloaded with guests. The kitchen is great - full of light and all the amenities that one needs; the central heating is a real bonus in Melbourne winters, and our hosts, Peter and Robena, are terrific. I love staying there.

Room Tip: As my trips to Melbourne have been by myself, it was wonderful for me to feel so completely safe and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
So pleased our accommodation meets your needs Peta. Thanks for taking the time to let us & other travellers know what a great little part of Melbourne we enjoy in Kensington.
Robena & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

B&Bs generally are harder to come by in Australia than in the UK. My stay at Kensington B&B was brief. After a long flight from the UK I needed a place that was easy to access from the airport and quiet, relaxed and comfortable where I could catch up on some sleep and enjoy a good cup of tea as I needed. Kensington B&B fitted the bill - a lovely home with Robena and Peter as genial hosts once I had surfaced. The location is old Melbourne with charm and easy access to the city by public transport, not always a given in Australian cities. I left with the memento of a little bottle of olive oil produced on the family farm a little up country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks, you’re most welcome back to stay with us on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A very good base, particularly for those who do not want to stay in the City centre. Good communications to both City Centre and Airport. Good selection of shops and restaurants locally. Clean, comfortable and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Kensington B&B was our last stop in Australia before flying home to the UK and we couldn't have chosen a better place to leave us with a lovely experience of "Aussie" hospitality. Robina and Peter made us very welcome and provided everything that you could think of to make our stay comfortable - delicious jams,variety of cereals pumpkin seed bread (yummy,yummy) and a beautifully equipped,spotlessly clean kitchen.Our bedroom was large with a big bed and even a two seater sofa which was lovely to flop down on after a long day sightseeing.The bedlinen was crisp and clean, in fact everything was absolutely spot on. The location was ideal with the rail station approximately 300yds away, for which railcards were provided, and left to us just to top up ready for next guests - nice to know we were trusted - and really showed how relaxed the whole atmosphere was in such a delightful home.Thankyou Robina and Peter and if ever we are lucky enough to visit Melbourne again you would be our first choice of B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks Sheila,
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while discovering Melbourne. We’d love to have you back again.
Cheers Robena & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here during our time in Australia for my sisters wedding.
We stayed in all the rooms in the house: downstairs (with ensuite), the double room upstairs, and the one of the single beds.
As we had family that lived down the road it was a perfect location for us. Also it is a very short walk to the shops at the end of the road and very easy to get to the train station to commute into the centre of Melbourne.
(Also recommend the Kennsington Pizza place down the road)
The hosts Robena & Peter were very friendly and helpful. A bonus I thought was most useful was the use of the train cards to top up rather than having to buy the cards ourselves.
The 'help' yourself breakfast was great as I didn't feel obliged to work around their schedule of breakfast hours.
The house was clean and tidy and rooms were great for our trip.
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Kensington C&C was our first stop in Australia after a 14 hour flight-- and a welcome one it was.
The C&C ("Care and Comfort") is located on a quiet street in Kensington, just NW of downtown Melbourne. Easy to drive to, it's also located very near lots of transport options. The rail station to downtown is 200 m away, you can catch a tram to downtown within a 5 minute walk, and buses run right nearby. We arrived early in the morning to Melbourne airport, not sure what to do next as we were very early. Peter and Robena had everything set up for us-- a way to get in, a place to put our bags, etc. The house itself is not their primary residence (they actually live in Violetown )(ask them about their olive trees), but Peter works in the city), and they have restored it beautifully. The rooms are spacious, the bath and toilet rooms are great, and the overall ambiance makes you feel right at home. Peter and Robena are as present or absent as you like, so you don't feel like you are "underfoot". Breakfast is continental, do-it-yourself, but there were lots of options.
Kensington is not a hotbed for nightlife, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby, including pizza, sushi, indian, and a really nice pub "the Quiet Man" not far away. Safeway is within close walking distance, as are local food stores and greengrocers if you want to do your own dinner.
Would we go back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
It's been some years since your visit, but many thanks for your review & photos, so pleased you enjoyed Kensington while visiting Melbourne.
Cheers R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington B&B

Address: 97 McConnell St | Kensington, Melbourne, Victoria 3031, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington B&B is best described in the words of our guests...... ‘Thank you so much for allowing me to enjoy such a beautiful home. I have had a wonderful time and you think of everything. I would like to come back again’ Margie, Adelaide SA. ‘Thank you again for a wonderful stay in my little home away from home! See you next year. Cheers’ Karen, Perth WA. ‘What a fantastic place’ Sigrid, Germany. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.