We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kensington B&B
97 McConnell St | Kensington, Melbourne, Victoria 3031, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
'Book Now'
Ranked #4 of 26 Melbourne B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here during our time in Australia for my sisters wedding.
We stayed in all the rooms in the house: downstairs (with ensuite), the double room upstairs, and the one of the single beds.
As we had family that lived down the road it was a perfect location for us. Also it is a very short walk to the shops at the end of the road and very easy to get to the train station to commute into the centre of Melbourne.
(Also recommend the Kennsington Pizza place down the road)
The hosts Robena & Peter were very friendly and helpful. A bonus I thought was most useful was the use of the train cards to top up rather than having to buy the cards ourselves.
The 'help' yourself breakfast was great as I didn't feel obliged to work around their schedule of breakfast hours.
The house was clean and tidy and rooms were great for our trip.
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Kensington C&C was our first stop in Australia after a 14 hour flight-- and a welcome one it was.
The C&C ("Care and Comfort") is located on a quiet street in Kensington, just NW of downtown Melbourne. Easy to drive to, it's also located very near lots of transport options. The rail station to downtown is 200 m away, you can catch a tram to downtown within a 5 minute walk, and buses run right nearby. We arrived early in the morning to Melbourne airport, not sure what to do next as we were very early. Peter and Robena had everything set up for us-- a way to get in, a place to put our bags, etc. The house itself is not their primary residence (they actually live in Violetown )(ask them about their olive trees), but Peter works in the city), and they have restored it beautifully. The rooms are spacious, the bath and toilet rooms are great, and the overall ambiance makes you feel right at home. Peter and Robena are as present or absent as you like, so you don't feel like you are "underfoot". Breakfast is continental, do-it-yourself, but there were lots of options.
Kensington is not a hotbed for nightlife, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby, including pizza, sushi, indian, and a really nice pub "the Quiet Man" not far away. Safeway is within close walking distance, as are local food stores and greengrocers if you want to do your own dinner.
Would we go back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
It's been some years since your visit, but many thanks for your review & photos, so pleased you enjoyed Kensington while visiting Melbourne.
Cheers R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

First, it doesnt feel like a guesthouse as the hosts are never home and with only 3 rooms its quite unlikely you bump into other guests (which you might share the bathroom with). The house generally feels empty and 'unused', but elegant. My room was clean, bathroom very clean too.

Location:
Well, thats where it starts. Its NOT CENTRAL (how they advertise it), its somewhere outside - and that makes it really a pain. You must take a taxi if you go out/come home after midnight and taxis are not cheap from downtown to Kensington; there are no nightbuses which run to Kensington.
Trainstation for getting downtown is just 3min away - but trains run DURING THE DAY only every 15-20mins.
After 7PM shops close - no snacks honey - if you arrive late make sure you eat downtown - or be prepared to sleep with a hungry tummy...

I rated it quite low - simply because I expected it to be "CENTRAL" quoting their "CONVENIENCE OF THE CITY". Therefore I would also think the price was too expensive for the location. I also wonder about the 'guestcomments' on their website as the owner does not live in the property...

Both thumbs down on this one.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Sorry we didn't meet your expectations, we've added more information to our website to clearly say we're in a quiet inner Melbourne suburb. I've only just become familar with Trip Advisor & started to use it, apologies for delay in replying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford uk
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

The Kensington C&C ,as in Country and Comfort, website is fairly self explanatory in as much as you are aware that you will be fairly self sufficient and looking after yourself from the outset,that there will be all the means to provide your breakfast before heading out to see what Victoria or Melbourne has to offer and if you don"t get to see much of the hosts, Peter and Robena, there will always be Wallis the bear to keep an eye on you!!
Melbourne was our first stop in Australia and from letting ourselves in with the provided door code and meeting the other guests we felt at home on McConnell Street.It is in a good position to use the train to get into city but also if the taxi is preferred it doesnt cost much to get "home"..after one day i was guiding the taxi drivers back like the natives!!
the rooms are comfortable and bathrobes were provided , always a good idea when some facilities are shared with other guests.The lounge was modern and the kitchen/dining area bright and open with big french windows allowing light to flood in
whilst you had your breakfast.Since the hosts have work and other commitments which can take them out of the city it was a surprise to finally meet peter.The Kensington is really a home that you share with other guests and peter and subsequently his son and daughter, who we also met, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome...although be prepared to be a bit thick skinned as the australian sense of superiority is heightened when england play cricket as they did!! five - nil cannot be defended!!..If you are looking for somewhere with a sense of home, but like independence to do what you like then come back ,open a beer and chat or just watch tv without the isolation of a hotel room, in pleasant surroundings amidst real aussie charm then Kensington C & C, 97 McConnell street, Kensington , MELBOURNE could be the place for you!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robena B, Owner at Kensington B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for your review & photo's, we've had many return guests since you stayed & I've just become familar with Trip Advisor so comments may get beyond our guest book now!
Cheers
R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kensington B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington B&B

Address: 97 McConnell St | Kensington, Melbourne, Victoria 3031, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington B&B is best described in the words of our guests...... ‘Thank you so much for allowing me to enjoy such a beautiful home. I have had a wonderful time and you think of everything. I would like to come back again’ Margie, Adelaide SA. ‘Thank you again for a wonderful stay in my little home away from home! See you next year. Cheers’ Karen, Perth WA. ‘What a fantastic place’ Sigrid, Germany. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kensington B&B to your Saves list