We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad from start to finish” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street to your Saves list
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad from start to finish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at address only to find out check in and keys were kept 15 blocks away ..... not happy ! Room itself ok but not very clean and pretty worn. Every footstep from the floor above can be heard. it is a good location but you will leave unimpressed with this serviceable but disappointing studio.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Ssltwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I read the reviews on poorcleanliness but paid little notice due to the generally negative bias on Trip Advisor. I should have walked away! Where do I start? Every wall was marked either by hands, shoes or organic material (I'd rather not know), carpets were filthy and not vacuumed for entire 7 night stay, benches and tables dirty and again not wiped during stay, windows look like they bave never been cleaned, crockery and cutlery dirty. I could go on but it's making me angry. Complained to reception (which is accross town in Carlton, so check in is a painful process) on day 1 and was told the room would be thouroughly cleaned the next day. Didn't happen! Aside from the lack of cleanliness, it's very basic accomodation with cheap and well worn furniture, blinds etc. Bathroom floor isn't tiled but has a painted finish like you'd find in a commercial coolroom, which also creaks so badly I'm sure the floor below heard every step. Shower floor is a strainge stainless steel basin. Location very handy but suffers due to need to lug bags from Carlton reception on check-in. Stay here only if every other hotel or apartment is fully booked or if your standards are set extremely low. AVOID!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pokerface17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I didn't read any reviews when I booked. However I should of. The apartment was shabby and worn out. It needs some urgent sprucing up. Lots of fingerprints and marks on the wall, cobwebs, furniture showing its age and a non-functioning air-conditioner.

The only thing going for it was the location and the price. Lack of an on-site reception would be a problem for most but i didn't need to store my luggage once I checked out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zanaange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend.The celling above the shower was very moldy and rotten and It leaked when people above showered. Pretty disgusting.There were stains on carpet and a cockroach in the kitchen. friendly receptionist, but key pickup was from another hotel a few blocks away. It was good location and quite spacious, but there is no excuse for the mould, stains and pests. We will
Not stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmajade23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Mixed feelings about our recent stay. We have stayed twice before at the Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street. Location is fantastic. We were in Melbourne for the tennis and it's an easy walk from the apartment. We requested a corner apartment which we got, so that was a good start. On checking in, we were given 1 key. We asked for a second key, only to be told it has been lost or something. We said that we'd call back the next day to pick up a second key, only to be told that day that their policy was to issue 1 key only for 1 bedroom apartments. Be aware that this is not their policy (according to the manager). After sending an email, which was not very positive, we received a second key. We also notified the manager we didn't have towels on arrival and the batteries in the remote were flat. The instructions for how to get the TV to work were incorrect also. Even though we had a few hiccups, we'll stay at these apartments again. Just make sure you let reception know of any problems you have. One suggestion to management is to ensure reception staff give accurate and truthful information to guests. Also, it would be useful if they know a little more about these apartments. We asked if the apartment we'd been issued was the corner one, and the person on reception had no idea..

Room Tip: A corner apartment on the 14 floor is a really good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb79b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hopeless organisation. I had booked 2 bookings -1 x double bed & 2 x single beds.
After nearly getting double billed we were shown our room (the double bed one) but there was someone still in it!
So... they found another room (far more inferior) and said they'd make it up to us.....

That was late last year and since then we've heard nothing.

I filled out the review form and handed it in the next morning but unfortunately it was the same guy that booked us in, so I have doubts that it would have made it to management.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMargaret1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Although it's in a great location it's disgustingly dirty!!! We will never stay here again and warn everyone against it!
The room phone doesn't work so we had to ring to complain about the cleanliness from our mobile phone. The hairdryer is dirty and broken, the dishwasher, both showers and drains are all dirty aswell.
There are marks everywhere, and some holes, - the sofas, carpet, walls, tiles, windows, doors - it's all disgusting!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pagallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#90 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#121 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#117 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Address: 325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing