We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Save Saved
You added Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Staying in Collins Street was really handy to everything that we wanted to visit in Melbourne.
Apartment was clean and tidy however getting the key was a pain but we knew that when we booked.
Noisy people in the abatement above for a few nights and was about to call the manager however they moved on.
Decided to extend our stay which wasn't a problem and the staff were friendly when we called.
Great views from the apartment and it was great to be able to sit outside in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
10
18
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

About Us: We are a couple aged 27 & 31. Enjoy nice accommodation and amenities when we travel - however we are not usually overly picky when it comes to reviews

We travelled over to Melbourne for Melbourne Cup so accommodation was pretty full.... had looked at some 5 star hotel however they were booked... we we ended up booked Plum apartments due to the location - and figured we would not spent much time here

Hotel Pros:

1) Really wonderful location - central - easy to come and go as you please was a real bonus, would really suit the independant traveller not looking for full on service.

2) Price not to steep - and has all the amenities you need really - with a good size kitchen

Hotel Cons:

1) Whist they do advertise that you need to collect the key from another building... if you arrive late in the day like we did it is a real hassle... one you would almost certainly do without

2) They advertise these as serviced apartments... however part of our stay was over the weekend... and there was no service to be seen... no change of towels... no emptying of the rubbish bins... pretty slack really. They do jack all really.. and to be honest the cleaning side of things is pretty poor. It pretty much amounts to emptying rubbish bin and if you are lucky a few new towels.

3) rock hard bed and pillows

Would I stay here again .. no. I would just book earlier in advance and pay the extra money to stay somewhere better. However if you are just looking for a place to crash and you get a cheap deal it would not really matter....

I would reccomend this place to younger groups/ friends that are wanting a place to stay during a night out in Melboune

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Note to those who have not visited Melbourne before, there is one reception that services about 5 apartment buildings, Collins st. Apartment is 1.6km from apartment. You need to lug your luggage by taxi or tram at your cost. Check in is not until 2pm, regardless of whether your letting know in advance or have had no sleep for 32 hours. Be aware if you get level 13 access is by elevator to 14 and then walk down to 13. If you are unlucky to get rm 1304, your stuck with old small CRT tv, dodgy air con, and broken/scratched furniture. Towel rail and soap dishes ready to fall off wall. Disregard signs that say don't proceed to level 12, this will save you going up stairs with luggage. Floors and walls are timber, therefore noisy. I would not stay there or use Plum.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Was worried about booking this place with all the negative reviews. But was surprisingly shocked how good the room was. Booked the 2 bedroom apartment found the room to be clean and spacious. Nothing fancy but it was clean spacious and we had a huge balcony overlooking the city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Pluses
Great location, close to trams, food outlets, everything really. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious if not a bit tired. No bedside lamps was a little odd. TV in my parents room was very old. Not good enoght these days.
Minuses and this is a big negative that would stop us ever staying there again.
You have to collect the key from Carltonnwhich is at least 7 city blocks away. If you arrive early or have to leave your bags to be looked after you can't unless you go to Carlton. The website says it's only a short walk. It isn't. The apartments in this block are mostly let to permanent tenants. We had a few issues with the key in the lift when we wanted to visit my parents who were on another floor. It didn't always let get off on that floor. If ther was reception ther or closer I would stay again but it was quite inconvenient trying to work out the key pick up and drop off. Cost us more I taxi fares.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel via wotif. The Internet pictures looked good and clean although they are definitely deceiving. Had to use the lift and then climb stairs to the room, definitely not wheelchair accessible. Room was tidy but is clearly visible it has not been cleaned well in months. Floors and chairs covered in unidentifiable crumbs and stains. Towels have holes in them. Shower floor feels as though you would fall through at any moment. Sitting on the toilet your knees touch the washing machine. The entire bathroom simulates an aeroplane toilet cubicle. Lack of ventilation throughout, no fans or aircon in rooms. No screens or safety features on windows or doors. Not recommended for families or small children. Asked management to change rooms or have it cleaned but they were rude and unhelpful. Definitely not recommending anybody to stay here!!! Extremely disappointed!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Only negative is collection of keys in different location. Tv very old only main channels. Collins st. apartments tram stop out front, Flinders St station around the corner, walking distance to Casino . Supermarket & bottle shop around the corner. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Address: 325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.