We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Save Saved
You added Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Hobart
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Pluses
Great location, close to trams, food outlets, everything really. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious if not a bit tired. No bedside lamps was a little odd. TV in my parents room was very old. Not good enoght these days.
Minuses and this is a big negative that would stop us ever staying there again.
You have to collect the key from Carltonnwhich is at least 7 city blocks away. If you arrive early or have to leave your bags to be looked after you can't unless you go to Carlton. The website says it's only a short walk. It isn't. The apartments in this block are mostly let to permanent tenants. We had a few issues with the key in the lift when we wanted to visit my parents who were on another floor. It didn't always let get off on that floor. If ther was reception ther or closer I would stay again but it was quite inconvenient trying to work out the key pick up and drop off. Cost us more I taxi fares.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    21
    14
    10
See reviews for
10
18
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel via wotif. The Internet pictures looked good and clean although they are definitely deceiving. Had to use the lift and then climb stairs to the room, definitely not wheelchair accessible. Room was tidy but is clearly visible it has not been cleaned well in months. Floors and chairs covered in unidentifiable crumbs and stains. Towels have holes in them. Shower floor feels as though you would fall through at any moment. Sitting on the toilet your knees touch the washing machine. The entire bathroom simulates an aeroplane toilet cubicle. Lack of ventilation throughout, no fans or aircon in rooms. No screens or safety features on windows or doors. Not recommended for families or small children. Asked management to change rooms or have it cleaned but they were rude and unhelpful. Definitely not recommending anybody to stay here!!! Extremely disappointed!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Only negative is collection of keys in different location. Tv very old only main channels. Collins st. apartments tram stop out front, Flinders St station around the corner, walking distance to Casino . Supermarket & bottle shop around the corner. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nothing like the pictures ive seen on all the different web pages. I paid the extra to stay at a place with a balcony, advertised one and my confirmation said we had one. But no balcony! Batteries in all 3 TV remotes were dead. Floors were dirty including shrivelled up French fries and there was no can opener. No instructions to the combined washer/ dryer which we spent hours trying to work out.
Excellent location though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Myself and 4 female adults booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a family holiday for 4 nights. The key at collection was at Carlton (we new that was the process prior).
After confirming before the booking that we need 5 single beds (and the hotel confirmed that this was OK) we arrived to find the room to have 1 double and 2 single beds. After making contact with reception, the promised they would fix it up tomorrow. However, this promise was not met, with one person having to sleep on the small, hard couch and 2 sharing the double bed.
The next evening when returning to the room, we were left with 3 fresh towels when there were 5 of us in the room. After calling reception again, they advised that there was a linen cupboard on the 14th floor that we could grab towels from. (We also grabbed some toilet toll as no spare toilet rolls were left in the room).
The room itself was out-dated, ironing board had a big stain on the cover and you wouldn’t want to be too heavy getting in the shower as the base felt like it would fall through.
I would not stay here again, location was good, but service was not, very disappointed…

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at Plum apartments on Collins for 4 nights on a work trip. The location is great, and the staff at the Carlton apartments when I picked up my key were friendly (although picking up the key at a different location was a slight inconvenience). My room was very out-dated. The bed and pillows were uncomfy and there was a horrible smell coming from the bathroom throughout my stay. I was on the 13th floor, and it was still not neccessarily quiet - the lift could be heard operating throughout the night. An old TV with a digital set box - which was confusing to work at first for those unfamiliar with them - no directions were given. I requested when booking either two singles or a queen and a sofa - however was given one double. Maybe the staff could have said something regarding this upon check in?
All in all, I was disappointed. I was expecting much better from the photos on the net. Don't be fooled! The location is great though.

Room Tip: One away from the noisy lift?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My daughter and myself stayed here for 8 nights and had an excellent stay. Once we arrived at Carlton street tired but excited to pick up our keys, Brad was friendly and helpful and let us check straight in. When we arrived at our apartment after a short taxi ride we were wrapped... It was clean, and very well equipped with great city views. And the location was mind blowing!!. Straight out of the lift onto a tram or into the main shopping street. The housekeeping staff, especially the supervisor were great in everyway. We could not fault this place, would love to come back again and definitely recommend to others. Thanks Plum apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit and the 14th floor, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Address: 325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.