We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street to your Saves list
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Hobart
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Pluses
Great location, close to trams, food outlets, everything really. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious if not a bit tired. No bedside lamps was a little odd. TV in my parents room was very old. Not good enoght these days.
Minuses and this is a big negative that would stop us ever staying there again.
You have to collect the key from Carltonnwhich is at least 7 city blocks away. If you arrive early or have to leave your bags to be looked after you can't unless you go to Carlton. The website says it's only a short walk. It isn't. The apartments in this block are mostly let to permanent tenants. We had a few issues with the key in the lift when we wanted to visit my parents who were on another floor. It didn't always let get off on that floor. If ther was reception ther or closer I would stay again but it was quite inconvenient trying to work out the key pick up and drop off. Cost us more I taxi fares.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mindyhobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked hotel via wotif. The Internet pictures looked good and clean although they are definitely deceiving. Had to use the lift and then climb stairs to the room, definitely not wheelchair accessible. Room was tidy but is clearly visible it has not been cleaned well in months. Floors and chairs covered in unidentifiable crumbs and stains. Towels have holes in them. Shower floor feels as though you would fall through at any moment. Sitting on the toilet your knees touch the washing machine. The entire bathroom simulates an aeroplane toilet cubicle. Lack of ventilation throughout, no fans or aircon in rooms. No screens or safety features on windows or doors. Not recommended for families or small children. Asked management to change rooms or have it cleaned but they were rude and unhelpful. Definitely not recommending anybody to stay here!!! Extremely disappointed!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YvetteTravelBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Wollongong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Only negative is collection of keys in different location. Tv very old only main channels. Collins st. apartments tram stop out front, Flinders St station around the corner, walking distance to Casino . Supermarket & bottle shop around the corner. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nothing like the pictures ive seen on all the different web pages. I paid the extra to stay at a place with a balcony, advertised one and my confirmation said we had one. But no balcony! Batteries in all 3 TV remotes were dead. Floors were dirty including shrivelled up French fries and there was no can opener. No instructions to the combined washer/ dryer which we spent hours trying to work out.
Excellent location though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Myself and 4 female adults booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a family holiday for 4 nights. The key at collection was at Carlton (we new that was the process prior).
After confirming before the booking that we need 5 single beds (and the hotel confirmed that this was OK) we arrived to find the room to have 1 double and 2 single beds. After making contact with reception, the promised they would fix it up tomorrow. However, this promise was not met, with one person having to sleep on the small, hard couch and 2 sharing the double bed.
The next evening when returning to the room, we were left with 3 fresh towels when there were 5 of us in the room. After calling reception again, they advised that there was a linen cupboard on the 14th floor that we could grab towels from. (We also grabbed some toilet toll as no spare toilet rolls were left in the room).
The room itself was out-dated, ironing board had a big stain on the cover and you wouldn’t want to be too heavy getting in the shower as the base felt like it would fall through.
I would not stay here again, location was good, but service was not, very disappointed…

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at Plum apartments on Collins for 4 nights on a work trip. The location is great, and the staff at the Carlton apartments when I picked up my key were friendly (although picking up the key at a different location was a slight inconvenience). My room was very out-dated. The bed and pillows were uncomfy and there was a horrible smell coming from the bathroom throughout my stay. I was on the 13th floor, and it was still not neccessarily quiet - the lift could be heard operating throughout the night. An old TV with a digital set box - which was confusing to work at first for those unfamiliar with them - no directions were given. I requested when booking either two singles or a queen and a sofa - however was given one double. Maybe the staff could have said something regarding this upon check in?
All in all, I was disappointed. I was expecting much better from the photos on the net. Don't be fooled! The location is great though.

Room Tip: One away from the noisy lift?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biddiebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My daughter and myself stayed here for 8 nights and had an excellent stay. Once we arrived at Carlton street tired but excited to pick up our keys, Brad was friendly and helpful and let us check straight in. When we arrived at our apartment after a short taxi ride we were wrapped... It was clean, and very well equipped with great city views. And the location was mind blowing!!. Straight out of the lift onto a tram or into the main shopping street. The housekeeping staff, especially the supervisor were great in everyway. We could not fault this place, would love to come back again and definitely recommend to others. Thanks Plum apartments.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit and the 14th floor, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street

Address: 325 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Collins Mark Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Collins Street Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing