We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Milano Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Milano Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I stayed at the Milano Apartments in June with a group of girlfriends. We organised with Milano to have 2 x two bedroom apartments on the same floor or close by. When we checked in they gave us keys to 1209 and 1210 but when we got up to room 1209 we walked in on someone as the room was already occupied. I went staright back down to reception and the girl appoligised and then said we would have to have 1 apartment on the 8th floor so we agreed as there was no other option. When we got up to this new room the housekeepers were still cleaning it. We then realised that we couldnt go and visit our friends on the 12th floor as our key o nly gave us access to the 8th floor - Very dissapointing as we were travelling together as a group. The girl on reception was not interested in helping us and we were most upset.
Later that night another receptionist came on and we asked to please give us a spare key on room 1210 so we could use the lift to visit them, she did.
The customer service at the Milano was appauling and they should of been going out of their way to make us happy after what we had experienced, nothing was offered until at the end we got our $15 parking fee wiped.
The apartments overall are in a good location and are an ok size for 1 or 2 nights although the walls in the hallways are very marked and carpets in halls needed a vacuum. We will not stay here agian purely because of the terrible customer service we received.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoTeam, Milano Team at Milano Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Unfortunately, sometimes people make mistakes. We believed that the receptionist on duty apologized and provided you with another room in a different level. We understand that when you made the reservation you requested two 2 bedroom executive apartments to be on the same level and we said we were going to try our best to do it, however, we did not guarantee this. Nevertheless, we provided you with 2 options: to either take a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom deluxe apartment or to take another 2 bedroom executive apartment on the same floor. However, we advised you that this last one did not have the bedding requirements you needed, which is why the two rooms were not on the same level in the first place. You decided to stay with the free upgrade. Later on, you were given a spare key for each room to get access between you and your friends and were offered free car parking.

Having said this, we believe that we tried to compensate you for the troubles and all staff members apologized to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    34
    16
    17
See reviews for
71
17
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
aiustralia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

We booked this on the recommendation of another, as it was a stone's throw from our conference venue. After many confused and confusing phone calls FROM the hotel we were assured our rooms were fine for our stay, Imagine then our surprise on checking in that the second night of our trip we were to have three other people "in our party" join us!!!! They were attending the same conference, yes, we knew them, yes, but in our party? no. Apparently they'd overbooked and were just hoping someone would check out early so they'd have a spare room..... another group fared the same in their room also. We said we would rather find somewhere else to stay so were given the names of a few places to try, but on a Friday night with AFL, impossible. We decided to grin and bear it. Then we were told of the extra charge for the privelege of having five people in our room!!!!
The double beds were split into two to make four single beds... which made the bedrooms so small I believe they constitute an OHS issue, and the third night which again was for two people only, housekeeping hadn't been in to clean or remake the beds......
There was zero sympathy from reception, we were treated like we had inconvenienced them by being there, so never again will we bother them.
Oh and by the way, broadband internet in the room? Costs. Per MB....The public library is a block away with free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoTeam, Milano Team at Milano Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
Due to lack of availability elsewhere during your stay we assisted with extra bedding in rooms free of charge.

Also, as a matter of compensation we provided you with a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom apartment for a night.

We believe that the team at Milano worked really hard to try to compensate for all the troubles. We are a small team passionate about of what we do and we try our best to satisfy our customers expectations.

Regards,

Milano Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We chose this hotel as they offered a 2 bdrm apt with 4 single beds & a couch which was the configuration that we were looking for. The rooms are not huge but were more than adequate for our needs, the units are tidy, the kitchen is well equipped, the towels were changed daily and the beds made (we were only there for 3 nights). There were little soaps in the bathroom and plenty of coffee, sugar, teabags and milk provided. The value was excellent as we got a great deal through lastminute.com.au at $180 per night. Location was perfect, we could easily walk to town or catch a tram if needed, yet we were far enough away not to get disturbed by the noise of town during the night. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoTeam, Milano Team at Milano Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2009
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you another time soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time that you would like to make a reservation as we will match the rate you found elsewhere or do even better!

Kindest Regards,

Milano Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights in Feb 09. It is also called Milano Serviced Apartments. I had a 1 bedroom deluxe. Very modern, small apartment. Nice furnishings; serviced daily. kitchen had hotplates & microwave. Lounge room size OK. Bedroom is small - ie I could just fit my suitcase in the bedroom, but lots of hanging space & cupboards. Nice bathroom with a washer/dryer [no bath]. Tiny balcony - about 1m x 1m. The building has a lot of residential apartments - lots of students. It is a noisy end of town but is very close to Vic Markets & Carlton. One strange thing - the bed has a vinyl cover on the mattress - bit like a hospital bed. Overall for $145 per night I thought it was good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

This was easily the worst treatment I have ever experienced at a hotel. On arrival we were treated as if we where criminals. We where informed that if we (a group of 6) had extra people in our rooms we would be kicked out and that security would come up and check on us. This was completely uncalled for. A key was lost during the stay and we where forced to pay $150 to replace it. The pool was closed for the entire time that we where there. They where unhelpful, didn't clean our rooms during the three night stay and failed to provide bedding for the people staying on the sofa bed. I have stayed many places around the world this was by far the worst customer service I have ever received. I recommend not staying and telling your friends not to stay.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — terrible service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanoTeam, Milano Team at Milano Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2009
We would like to express our sincere apologies if you expecations were not met. We have a party policy in place. Thus, if you stayed with us under this circumstances we would have been strict, but never mean. We are lucky to be a small team passionate about providing great service to our guests. I would like to invite you to re-consider us for a future stay. Print this review, bring it with you and we will not offer you only an unbeatable price but we will also strive to exceed your expecations.

Best Regards,

Milano Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

Like everyone for weeks l looked for an apartment, trying to decide, then thinking l had picked the perfect apartment. when we checked in at reception we were given the key to the apartment, l was quite shocked at the size of it , it was so small l thought they had given us the wrong room , considering l did book (ONE BEDROOM DELUXE APARTMENT), so off l went back down to recepetion to let them know. l was told there was no mistake that was the deluxe one bedroom apartment, l asked if there was another room we could have, l was reluctantly told there was and it was right next door to the first room, so off l went again, this other room at least had a seperate bedroom so we took that one. Back down to reception to swap keys, no help was offered, or no service at all. Exhausted l finaly settled in my deluxe room, l had my daughter and her friend staying, thats the reason l picked milano because of the pool, cinema, tennis court. Later that day we were in reception when the manager asked me how many werestaying in the room, l told her there might only be my daughter and myself as my daughter's friend did'nt know if she was staying, l then asked how much per night would it be for her to stay , she said $30 per night, l told her when l booked it was $15 per night, she said that is if you are 12 or under, there was a man standing next to her which l had'nt noticed before, he bluntly said there's 3 staying and they both walked away...By this time l was upset and felt very embarrassed, l went to the reception and asked who the man was , she told me he was the manager and the woman l had spoke with was his wife and the manager aswell. The next day l asked about the cinema as it was complimentry and we were excited about using it , that is until we were told it would cost $20, i'd given up by then and would've left only the girls were going to see Australian idol, so l stayed.There is more but l think i've said enough , the highlight of our stay was having aldi next door.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — rooms to small and staff offered no service what so ever
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

After reading previous reviews were were wary particularly about the size of the apartments. We need not have worried.We had a great stay. We were 4 ladies staying in a 2 bedroom apartment. Whilst it was a little on the small side it was plenty big enough for us during our 4 night stay. It was in a great spot with trams just a few steps away. We could walk to the vic markets and there were at least 3 car rental places next door as well as an Aldi supermarket. We also walked to Lygon Street one night for dinner. The apartment had a good kitchen, a balcony and a very large comfy leather lounge. One bedroom had a kingsize bed and the other one had a queen. The lounge was also a double sofa bed. The bedrooms were smallish with not much room around the beds but they both had built in wardrobes with mirrors and drawers.One of the bedrooms had an extra TV also. The pool and spa were nice as was the tennis court although we didnt use them-too busy shopping. All in all we ahad a wonderful stay at the Clarion Milano on Swanston and would hesitiate in recommending it.

  • Liked — Price and proximity to transport
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Milano Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Serviced Apartments

Address: 8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milano Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milano Serviced Apartments is a unique and affordable alternative to hotels in Melbourne CBD for both leisure and corporate guests. We offer both deluxe and executive one and two bedroom self contained apartments that are stylishly furnished with an urban contemporary design. All our rates include complimentary access to swimming pool, spa, sauna, tennis court, BBQ area, gym and cinema room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Milano Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.