We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Milano Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Milano Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Pune
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay at the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I traveled Melbourne during summer 2013 and stayed for 1 month. It was a nice and comfortable stay there. A compact suit is perfect for stay of one/two. During my stay there was an accidental fire broke down at the hotel. But it was taken care of very promptly and no injury took place. As it is the heart of the city all the amenities are just near by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    75
    31
    16
    16
See reviews for
67
14
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in two neighbouring apartments with friends who also had children. We couldn't hear anything through the walls, even when the children were making a lot of noise. The apartments were clean and the house keeping service was great. The kids enjoyed the pool and spa.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were a group of 4 ladies visiting Melbourne and stayed here for 3 nights over a very hot weekend.
Luckily the air-conditioning worked well as we needed it 24/7 during our stay.
The room was nicely decorated, clean and in a good position to walk up to Carlton, the Queen Vic markets and of course the cbd.
Very convenient to have an Aldi store right underneath also.
The kitchen had most things needed to cook in if you wanted to but we ate out for all meals.
There is a tram stop just up on the next road and cabs were easy to come by if needed.
We didn't use the indoor heated pool or the tennis court as we were out and about most of the day.
We had 4 single beds which we nice and comfortable.
It was very handy to have paid a bit extra to have 2 bathrooms instead of just the 1.
The only negative thing I can think of was there was only 1 towel rack in the bathrooms to hang our wet towels, a couple of rails or hooks behind the door would be great.

Room Tip: upgrade to a 2 bathroom apartment if there are a few of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney AUS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and three kids (aged 9, 7 and 4).

We stayed in January 2014 for 6 nights. In a two bedroom. Level 9.

I would stay here again.

** Clean, comfortable, friendly, ultra convenient location. **

Overall it is a small 2 BR place. But sufficient. It's a major capital city, after all. The price was reasonable for the accommodation provided.

The main bedroom was closest to the street and was a bit noisy at night. But again, central major city, what can one expect?
The second bedroom was also small, had two single bed ensembles and enough floor space for a Ready Bed (which is what we took with us for our third child to sleep on).

The view was great. We loved being able to see the Eureka Tower.

The room was lovely, very clean, comfortable and had everything you need. (Except face washers. Why don't any hotels have face washers anymore??) They also did not have pool towels but the lovely cleaning crew were more than happy to stock up our supply of bath towels so we had pool towels.

The kitchen was well stocked (no bottle opener- very important for beer/ cider drinkers to know!). It was clean. Dishwasher and washing machine in kitchen. Dishwasher was small (one drawer) but they provide you with detergent for it and it's not hard to put the dishwasher on frequently.

The cleaning staff were awesome. They clean up the kitchen for you as well as all the other usual things (making beds, mop and vacuum the floor, clean the bathroom). If I was still in the room they were polite and happy for us to either stay or leave the room.

The pool and spa were fantastic. There was also a gym and sauna that we didn't use. There was also a tennis court. The kids loved the pool. Happy days.
The Cinema room was outstanding. We reserved it on the sunday afternoon and had some friends come too. You take your own DVD and play it. The lights can be dimmed or switched off. The cinema seats are brilliant. Extraordinary experience, as there was no extra charge. We were so grateful for that and it's probably the clincher in the 'I would return' factor.

There were three lifts, only two were working during our stay. At times the wait was quite long for the lift. There are 36 floors in the building which might explain why. It wasn't too bad. By the way, take a cheeky trip up to floor 36. The view out the window is exceptional.

The location is outstanding. At the top end of the city. CLOSE as anything to the Queen Vic Markets. I loved that. I went to the night markets and was in absolute heaven. Also easy to walk to shops and sights and the free city circle tram. (Which is worth a trip).

ALDI is right next door. That is ultra convenient.

We paid for car parking. I thought it was too expensive ($25/ day) especially as there are parking stations close by that charge $15/ day. However we always found a parking spot and I didn't want the hassle of walking anywhere with three young kids to get to the car if carrying bags and all the accessories that kids come with!

It was a very positive experience staying here and I would not hesitate to book again if staying in Melbourne.

Room Tip: I am guessing the higher up you go, the less street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the beginning of January. Three of us in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very clean. The apartment only provides the basics. There are no shampoos or conditioners or body gels but there is soap. There are also tissues provided and extra toilet rolls. There was no face cloth, but there were hand towels and bath towels. Tea, coffee and milk are provided.
The kitchen has every basic need to make just about any meal. Aldi grocery store is immediately adjacent to Milano and they have everything including alcohol.
The view was just amazing, we were on the 23rd floor and woke up at 6am on the first morning to see hot air balloons floating passed, just brilliant.
It is about a 10 minute walk into the heart of the city, 5 minute walk to the Queen Victoria markets and about 10 -12 minute walk to the museum and Royal exhibition centre. There are trams right on the corner and car rental offices all in the same street.
We slept with the living room door open and found it quiet enough.
Highly recommended by seasoned travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed in a2bdr 1 bathroom apartment. First impression of the hotel foyer was very good. Beautiful fountain and very clean. We were in room 3007 . Our apartment was at the back of the property and due to the construction work was very noisey during work hours. The air con remote didn't work so we had to get new batteries not really an issue, however something that could have been checked before ee arrived. The foxtel cable was broken this took 2 days to fix. The washing/dryer broke down mid wash and flooded bathroom and carpet in main bedroom. The rooms were supposed to be serviced, however we had to ask on several occassions for clean towels and tiolet paper, we were required to phone several times as the promise that it would be delivered never happened. Both the kettle and the iron shorted out the power. The bedrooms were very small and main did not have a wardrobe. The unit was for 4 people however the lounge chair comfortable seated 2 so we had to share between the dining chair and lounge chair. I also made reception aware that the one chair on the balcony was broken, this was not fixed during our stay. The hotel is located in a good spot to catch trams on either elizabeth or swanston street. The best part about this stay was Douglas on reception,he went over and above his duty even doing our washing for us. He was always helpful and able to assist us.thanks Douglas

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It was the first apartment that my family and i stayed in for our Melbourne trip. We booked the apartment more than a month in advance and got a good rate for it. We regretted not booking the same apartment for the last two days of our trip at the same time. When we tried booking it two weeks later, there was no more two-bedroom unit available and the price for the other units available had shot up.
Our two bedroom unit was a small but clean, bright and well-equipped two-bedroom unit. The layout of the unit was good, so the five of us could move comfortable around the room, without bumping into one another.
At 25th floor, we had a great view of Melbourne city. It would be nice if we had the time to enjoy a peaceful afternoon tea at the balcony, while overlooking the bustling city.
The location was perfect for us. There was a supermarket just next to our apartment, which sold reasonably priced groceries. It was near the place where we rented our car and that made it easy for us to pick up our rental car.
The famous Victoria Market was about 10-min walk away and the free city tram station was also nearby.
We like the apartment and will book it again for our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milano Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Serviced Apartments

Address: 8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milano Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milano Serviced Apartments is a unique and affordable alternative to hotels in Melbourne CBD for both leisure and corporate guests. We offer both deluxe and executive one and two bedroom self contained apartments that are stylishly furnished with an urban contemporary design. All our rates include complimentary access to swimming pool, spa, sauna, tennis court, BBQ area, gym and cinema room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Milano Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.