We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Milano Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Milano Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment that was tiny for three. It felt like a shoe box with paper thin walls. Everything was mini and if you thing you can get four and an extra onthesofa bed your dreaming. The bathroom was tiny and you could hear everything. The apartment is not serviced on the weekend unless you pay a surcharge. What the?

Every time we exited the lift to go to the room we were overwhelmed by a fishy smell in the hall way. It smelled terrible. The digs took the shine of what was a great weekend.

I was even asked if I enjoyed the stay on checkout and my comments were barely acknowledged.

Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    34
    16
    17
See reviews for
71
17
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

Nothing good to say, no service, tiny rooms, place smells bad. Full of long term residence. Felt like I was camping in the Bronx.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Although lounge and rooms were small (although most Melbourne accommodation is) it was very modern and suitable for our girls weekend away. Was walking distance to centre of city and right around the corner form the markets. Reception lady on sunday was extremely helpful suggested and organised taxi's for our last quick shopping trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms are lovely and furnished modern and gorgeous like their partner apartments. Staff and service are wonderful. I personally found these apartments to be too noisy, located on a busy road. i was awoken by sirens often. Being there for business it was just too noisy. They are situated very close to the cbd and great restaurants in walking distance, and a climbing gym close by. While it was very comfortbl and clean, I would choose to stay somewhere a little quieter.

Room Tip: a room off the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

Poor customer service, surprise visitors in your room, poor communication, non working facilities with no alternative options or commitment to fix = not fit for purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

GOOD: Modern and clean, everything you need for a family/couple. Lots of natural light, small balcony off living area. Two staff members on Reception were very helpful.
BAD: A 2 Bedroom Executive Apartment is advertised on their website as having a King bed + 2 Single beds configuration or 2 King beds. We booked online and requested a KB + 2SB, this was also confirmed in a phone conversation with Milano. Arrived to find we had a QB + 2SB. Rang Reception, explained problem, male on Reception not concerned, I expressed dismay, he said he would try to find another room & call me back, he did not. On checking out, I asked lady on Reception if many 2 Bdrm Exec Aptmts had King beds, she said approx 70 did, only a few had QB and could not understand why we were not given a KB. Other negatives: Apartment is quite small, bedrooms are very poky. We did not have any instruction manual/guidelines on how to operate the phone, TV, heater, aircon, etc. One bedroom had big glass windows with micro venetian blinds that did not adequately block out the light at night. My son complained he had trouble sleeping because the neon sign from a building opposite was annoying him. One staff member on Reception was unhelpful and disinterested. Worst of all was the high-pitched squealing noise that the hot water system made every time we turned on the shower or hot water tap in the bathroom. It was really loud & annoying and woke everyone up in the morning as soon as someone turned on the shower. Reception acknowledged that there was a problem with the valves in some apartments. Photos of the apartments on the website look MUCH nicer than what you actually get.
OTHER: We parked in the Milano carpark on L2, costs $18/day. My son & husband enjoyed a swim in the long heated lap pool (not really suitable for children if adults are swimming laps), the large spa and large sauna, these facilities were popular. I enquired about using the private cinema, you need to use your own DVDs and have to book it in advance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is very accessible from the city, and is also one of very few places which allow an occupancy of 6. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a sofa bed, and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment for free upon arrival! The service at reception and whilst booking was excellent, and the room was very clean when we arrived. The kitchen/lounge area was spacious and well equiped, the view was excellent. However, white appears an unfortunate colour choice as there were dirty marks on the walls and white couches. The bedrooms were a little cramped, but otherwise nice, as were the bathrooms (no shampoo though). Previous reviews noted the presence of international students in the building; we also noticed this, however, they were all very nice and appeared to stay in the upper (non-hotel?) floors. The ALDI next door was very convenient, as was the short walking distance to public transport and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milano Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Serviced Apartments

Address: 8 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly Clarion Suites)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milano Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milano Serviced Apartments is a unique and affordable alternative to hotels in Melbourne CBD for both leisure and corporate guests. We offer both deluxe and executive one and two bedroom self contained apartments that are stylishly furnished with an urban contemporary design. All our rates include complimentary access to swimming pool, spa, sauna, tennis court, BBQ area, gym and cinema room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Milano Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.