We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Market to your Saves list
Oaks on Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #74 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed in a studio room for a few nights. It's comfortable and clean, no frills, innofensive hotel deisgned for the business traveller. Tourists are left very much to their own devices, as there is no tourist information in the room, in fact very little information even about the hotel facilities! Studio has a kitchenette but no laundry facilities (there is a space for a machine in the bathroom but it's bare!). The studio is a decent size - get a room on a high floor, facing the street.
They still live in the past. There is no digital television (only analogue channels). There is Foxtel but clearly hotels still think "business travel" is a male occupation as there are 3 sports channels, a news channel and Discovery. There is nowhere to plug in your ipod/mp3 player and no wifi (very expensive broadband). The location is convenient for the convention centre end of town and the street is quiet.
For the price I would probably try somewhere else with more services/facilities who make more of an effort

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    338
    113
    50
    16
See reviews for
122
210
58
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Friendly staff and overall a good stay. Room service closes at 10pm however, and we could not get spring water. Studio apartment is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed here for a week on business as part of a 4 week business trip. On arrival there was no-one to help carry my heavy bags up a flight of stairs to the hotel lobby although the staff did take my bags up to my room when I asked. The one bedroom apartment was fairly poorly set out and the quality wasn't great. Room service finished at 9.30pm. The area is a little out of the way off Collins Street and on each night I returned after working late, there was a group of men hanging around the alley nearby. I didn't feel particularly safe and decided to change hotels. This wasn't a problem and the staff were accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Location is perfect for a meeting at the convention centre. It keeps you in the heart of the city but on a street that is quiet. Our studio room was above average in size and the kitchenette was as advertised - well stocked with utensils and stove top, toaster etc. Curiously though, not even a small dining table. Where things fell down rather badly was in the room amenities and in particular the lighting. Until our final day we had to make due with a two feeble ceiling fixtures and absolutely no table lamps for bed or desk. On the final day, they finally brought in two table lamps that seemed to have come from the dumpster. We had to ask for a stopper for the bath and on one of our 4 day stay, the room was not made up despite assurances from the desk that it had. Well we can tell when a bed has not been made or other things put in order. The desk staff were friendly and I suspect at the mercy of too few support staff in maintenance that undermines their best efforts. Finally the internet is not up to standard. Extremely expensive and slow (even before the speed is downgraded after a very small download limit).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend getaway, paid $175 a night for a studio room on the top floor, beautiful views over the river to Crown Casino.
The location is great, close to South Wharf DFO, Spencer Steet shopping centre, the Crown Complex, restaurants - a short tram ride to the Bourke Street Mall and other shopping.
The room was beautiful, spacious, lovely bathroom. Only slight issue was the noisyish air conditioning that we couldn't work out how to turn off.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed for a one night business trip. Location is reasonably convenient to the exhibition centre and Southbank. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was fine. Internet was expensive and poor value. Overall this is a safe option but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

This place was pretty straightforward. Nice location, friendly staff, clean, large rooms, and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.