We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable choice for business trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Market to your Saves list
Oaks on Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #73 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Reasonable choice for business trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed for a one night business trip. Location is reasonably convenient to the exhibition centre and Southbank. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was fine. Internet was expensive and poor value. Overall this is a safe option but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    311
    106
    49
    15
See reviews for
115
198
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

This place was pretty straightforward. Nice location, friendly staff, clean, large rooms, and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days while having a short break from life. We loved the location, about a 10 minute walk from Southern Cross Station and just outside the busy traffic area of the city centre. We walked into the city most days , about 15 minutes to the centre of Melbourne...however, trams leave just around the corner. There is also a free city tram that does a circuit of the city outer area...beware, it takes forever to get from one end to the other, about 45 minutes. Across from the hotel was a laneway with The Mitre Pub/Retaurant (very charming and good food) also 7/11 supermarket around the corner and one across the road, National Bank also close by.
We liked the luggage storage facilities, you received tickets for each piece of luggage and hotel staff were on the ball to check that you picked up the correct luggage when collecting.
We loved the room, we stayed in 1908 and had great views. This room was a studio, spacious enough for 2 people and looked the same as picture on website. Air conditioning was best left alone, the room is automatically warmed and once we started to fiddle with the dials we started a ranging cool breeze that couldn't be altered so stay away from the dials. The room was stuffy at night as no fresh air but thats normal for hotels on the 19th floor.
Our only complaint about the room was the lack of information. Most hotels offer a book with local information, instructions on how to operate the phone, make calls, call reception etc etc our room had nothing, not even a map of melb or any touristy leaflets etc...we had to obtain that from reception and even then no maps were to be found on display you had to request one from the staff.
We found the staff to be very pleasant, especially Blake, he was funny and seemed happy in his job. There was one staff member called Megan, she was our first contact on arrival, lets say she could of been a little less frosty...seemed she was having a bad day and being nice wasn't on her agenda. House keeping staff were so super nice, couldn't do enough for us when we asked for a change of towels.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel. We liked it and found it value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Great location - nice views - very close to transport - clean room - amazing pool and spa which was heated - our studio had a bath with amenities - average beds and pillows - good size rooms, perfect for two people - it also had a kitchen, table and lounge chairs - would stay here again =)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I booked this room online thinking I had made a good choice. When I arrived, I was advised that I had to pay for both nights upfront as well as put down a $150 deposit. Now I know its normal procedure for hotels to take an imprint of your credit card, but Oaks take this one step further and actually freeze the money.

What really annoyed me about the $150 deposit is that when I was checking out, they told me it would take up to FIVE DAYS for the $150 to become available to me again!!!!!! This is just totally unacceptable.

So before I had even seen the room, I was $400 down! The girl at the desk wasn't exactly pleasant about it, but because it was a corporate booking, she just took the $150 deposit (which is apparently for mini bar - not that there was a mini-bar in my room!).

The room was okay, nothing special - the shower was terrible. It took about 10 minutes just to get the temperture right, then half way through washing, it would suddenly scald you or freezing water would spray out.

Internet downstairs is not complimentary like many hotels, in fact its very expensive at $10.

All in all, a very average stay and I'm still waiting for my $150 back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We have stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, 2 times now. We love the central location close to Ethiad and not to far to walk to the MCG, close to tram stops, not far to the yarra. Close to various shopping areas. The living area is spacious, the bathroom is on the tiny size but adequate. Other than the flashing light from the smoke alarm in each room which took a night to get use to, all is good for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyumen, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

I was in studio in this this hotel from 17 to 22 April 2010. Great location, excellent services and good stuff. Good choice! I'll stay here next time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.