We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Market

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Market to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks on Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #69 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel is located almost on the corner of Market street and Collins street and we stayed here 4 nights in Dec 2013 in a 2 bedroom apartment and found the apartment to be spacious, clean and modern with a 2 TVs (one in the master bedroom and one in the lounge area) and a fully equipped kitchen. The location was wonderful, with literally just a 2 minute walk from Flinders Street. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel, but just walking down to Flinders you have a better selection of trams plying, including the free city circle tram. (This is the Market street stop). The facilities were very good and the only area I thought required improvement was that we had to request for housekeeping once or twice (it had not happened during the day), and we found some of the cooking utensils to be inadequate. But all sorted with just one call to housekeeping. The service was excellent. There are several restaurants just across collins street and of course the full range of restaurants, shops and supermarkets on Flinders. The Flinders street station is also not too far away. The hotel is not close to the harbour area but easily accessible through the city circle tram (free), which takes you around 15 minutes to get there. All in all a great stay and no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay; and our spacious, clean and modern apartments.

Thank you again for your positive comments and for recommending our property to others.

Regards and Happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    278
    97
    47
    13
See reviews for
106
184
54
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Its my first day of stay. Just checked in. The hotel is asking for a credit card to hold a $150 deposit. I asked if i could deposit money. They are only accepting aud amounting to $250. I cant get the point why they could not take Sgd for a deposit? Im working in a hotel too and we ate accepting other currency. The most I didnt like is the word 'or else we have to cancel your booking' wow! After a long flight. My accomodation is fully paid and just because I want to deposit sgd no choice but to cancel the booking. Is this hiw to treat a guest?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback; although we appreciate your comments; we were disappointed to read that these comments were from a hospitality professional like yourself.

As you know every Hotel has terms and conditions in place, the same are in place to protect the business a most importantly the guest, not accepting foreign currency as preauthorisation or payment is one of our conditions.

In order to comply with our terms and conditions (note that the same terms and conditions are displayed on the Orbitz website), we believe in giving our guests every option available, cancelling your booking and offering a full refund was one of the many options given to you upon your arrival.

Dear Guest, we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet your expectations; and that the above issue has marred what we would have hoped to be a pleasant stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel and would definitely stay again, fabulous location within walking distance to everything! Our room on the 19th floor was spacious and clean and we had a great view, the staff were polite and welcoming, happy to help out with requests and enquiries. We utilised the gym, pool and spa (don't know what other reviewers were complaining about; spa temperature was fine) but unfortunately ran out of time to use the sauna. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning which was lovely. All in all, great experience and spanext time we're in town we'll be staying here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we were happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of our property, including our spacious and clean rooms and the great views from it.

Thank you again; and we can’t wait to welcome you back for another fantastic stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in a twin room with a friend. We had a room 2013, not much of a view as it overlooked the old Suncorp building, but it wasn't like we came to Melbourne to sit and look out the window! The bathroom was huge, with good water pressure in the shower. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and I slept really well. Overall, a great stay and would stay again. My only complaint was no room service breakfast, which is the whole point of travelling for work!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that you and your friend enjoyed our rooms and comfy beds.

We will take onboard your comments in regards to the room service breakfast; and will discuss the same during our next Head of Departments meeting.

Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back for another great stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I wen to a Medical Meeting and stayed 5 nights at OAKS on Market.I took Sky Bus from the Airport.It was a great service.
My stay at this property was great. My room was a one bedroom apartment with all the facilities I could need: air cond.,hairdryer,TV at bedroom and living room,kittchenet, refrigerator, ironing facilities, good towels.There are washing machines and dryers at basement.Three dollars each wash and 3 for dryer also.
My mattress was not very comfortable but I slept anyway. I would need stronger lights to read at night( hope you understand my English!) and at bathroom. Make up must be done at the living room ,which has a big window with nice city room.
Food from restaurant was delicious.Prices like, good but not luxury restaurants, close the OAKS.
The location is good.I went everyday to Melbourne Convention Center. I could go walking or by 112 tram with Mikicard ( you can buy it at 7 Eleven,80 mts from front door to right, on Collins St.)
The city tram can be taken on Flinders ,150 mts from front door, walking to the left.
To take the Shuttle City Bus( 5 dollars,not free anymore) go to the right, to Collins St, then to left ,Williams St., walk 50 mts and there is the stop, where you can buy the ticket. I really enjoyed the Shuttle Bus service.
As you see the Oaks is well located as others have said.
I think the daily cleaning must be improved not just the first day.
I would be back if I ever come back to Melbourne.

Room Tip: My room was 1914,do not recommend you because is just by the elevator.From 01 to 12 are far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your in depth feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed our property and our beautiful city of Melbourne.

We will definitely share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper in regards to the daily housekeeping service.

Again, thank you for your comments; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Australia.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Oaks on market is fantastically central. I got around purely by foot and it would take roughly:

5 minutes walk to crown casino and the aquarium
15 minutes walk to Southbank and the DFO
20 minutes walk to Docklands
5 minutes walk to the heart of Flinder's lane
6 - 7 minutes walk to Flinders Station/Fed Squre

You really can't get much more central than that!

The rooms are well appointed and have everything you need for a comfortable stay in the CBD. The hotel itself is actually also very reasonable for a CBD hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our building and our well appointed rooms.

Thank you again; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I recently stayed for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic. Very clean and large rooms. the facility's were terrific. The staff were great and very friendly, the food was nice and well priced. I will be coming back that's for sure and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback; we are glad that we are able to cater for the needs of your family ; and that you enjoyed our terrific facilities, meals and customer service.
Thank you again for the positive comments and for recommending our property to others.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is centrally located and newly refurbished Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne’s attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.