We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Market to your Saves list
Oaks on Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #75 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in a twin room with a friend. We had a room 2013, not much of a view as it overlooked the old Suncorp building, but it wasn't like we came to Melbourne to sit and look out the window! The bathroom was huge, with good water pressure in the shower. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and I slept really well. Overall, a great stay and would stay again. My only complaint was no room service breakfast, which is the whole point of travelling for work!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that you and your friend enjoyed our rooms and comfy beds.

We will take onboard your comments in regards to the room service breakfast; and will discuss the same during our next Head of Departments meeting.

Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back for another great stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    375
    127
    55
    17
See reviews for
136
232
60
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I wen to a Medical Meeting and stayed 5 nights at OAKS on Market.I took Sky Bus from the Airport.It was a great service.
My stay at this property was great. My room was a one bedroom apartment with all the facilities I could need: air cond.,hairdryer,TV at bedroom and living room,kittchenet, refrigerator, ironing facilities, good towels.There are washing machines and dryers at basement.Three dollars each wash and 3 for dryer also.
My mattress was not very comfortable but I slept anyway. I would need stronger lights to read at night( hope you understand my English!) and at bathroom. Make up must be done at the living room ,which has a big window with nice city room.
Food from restaurant was delicious.Prices like, good but not luxury restaurants, close the OAKS.
The location is good.I went everyday to Melbourne Convention Center. I could go walking or by 112 tram with Mikicard ( you can buy it at 7 Eleven,80 mts from front door to right, on Collins St.)
The city tram can be taken on Flinders ,150 mts from front door, walking to the left.
To take the Shuttle City Bus( 5 dollars,not free anymore) go to the right, to Collins St, then to left ,Williams St., walk 50 mts and there is the stop, where you can buy the ticket. I really enjoyed the Shuttle Bus service.
As you see the Oaks is well located as others have said.
I think the daily cleaning must be improved not just the first day.
I would be back if I ever come back to Melbourne.

Room Tip: My room was 1914,do not recommend you because is just by the elevator.From 01 to 12 are far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your in depth feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed our property and our beautiful city of Melbourne.

We will definitely share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper in regards to the daily housekeeping service.

Again, thank you for your comments; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Australia.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Oaks on market is fantastically central. I got around purely by foot and it would take roughly:

5 minutes walk to crown casino and the aquarium
15 minutes walk to Southbank and the DFO
20 minutes walk to Docklands
5 minutes walk to the heart of Flinder's lane
6 - 7 minutes walk to Flinders Station/Fed Squre

You really can't get much more central than that!

The rooms are well appointed and have everything you need for a comfortable stay in the CBD. The hotel itself is actually also very reasonable for a CBD hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our building and our well appointed rooms.

Thank you again; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I recently stayed for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic. Very clean and large rooms. the facility's were terrific. The staff were great and very friendly, the food was nice and well priced. I will be coming back that's for sure and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback; we are glad that we are able to cater for the needs of your family ; and that you enjoyed our terrific facilities, meals and customer service.
Thank you again for the positive comments and for recommending our property to others.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. Great location, very quiet and spotless rooms. All facilities you could need, comfortable beds and friendly staff. Came with a friend and our school leaving daughters and we all enjoyed it. Will stay again and recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
I will let your review speak for itself.
THANK YOU
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had two nights at this hotel. Our room was a connecting room with a young family next door and unfortunately the baby cried a lot. So ask for a non connecting room. The rooms are Spacious with cooking facilities if required. There Happy Hour is forgettable in terms of prices but the restaurant food was very good. Staff were very helpful and sent our faxes for no charge. There is a printer and computer available for personal use. The location is within walking distance to most attractions or a tram stop. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Unless travelling with family ask for a NON connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing us with your very useful feedback; we were happy to read that although there were some minor issues, you managed to enjoy our spacious rooms and the perfect location of our building.
Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights. We had a studio apartment – our room was good, nice large room with everything you need. The location is excellent, an easy walk to Southbank, restaurants and Flinders Station. We ate at the restaurant downstairs one night - the food was good and reasonably priced. We are planning a longer stay in Melbourne soon and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, the location of our hotel and the delicious and well priced meal in our restaurant.
Thank you again; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#122 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.