We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Market

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Market to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks on Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #69 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here overnight (room 1407) on our way back from a weekend in Daylesford. Overnight parking is cheap at $10.00.

This establishment is very well situated and central to most things in Melbourne CBD. It is only a 5min walk to Southbank retaurants and casino precinct and minutes away from everything else. Even the famous Victoria Market is only a 10min walk up Elizabeth Street.

The Hotel is situated reasonably close to a stop for the Airport Shuttle which will cost $17 to the Airport.

The room was modern and clean with all necessary facilities. The bed was comfortable. Our room contained a small kitchenette. The staff were very helpful and obliging.

We did not use the restaurant or have breakfast there but it looked quite modern and welcoming. The bar and coffee lounge is comfortable and the bar staff helpful. It is just a bit of a shame that the bar does not stock snacks such as potato chips or other crisps, although snacks such as hot chips/wedges can be ordered.

Judging by the clientelle, this Hotel is well known and frequented by the business establishment which is a testament to its value.

I will certainly keep it in mind for future trips to Melbourne whether for business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we were happy to read that you enjoyed our modern and clean rooms and our helpful and obliging customer service.

As you have noticed, over the years with dedication, a great product and excellent customer service we created a large group of loyal returning guests; and we sincerely hope that you will decide to be part of it.

Thank you again for the great feedback; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    277
    97
    46
    13
See reviews for
104
183
54
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Oaks on Market for a number of times and enjoy returning. Hotel is in a great location, lap pool is fantastic and breakfast the next day is good value.

King size bed upgrade on our last visit was welcomed!

Only disappointment was spa was cold water, with a message that it is temperature controlled to 26 degrees.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind feedback; we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed yet another stay with us.

Unfortunately, the pool and the spa are sharing the same body of water; therefore unless we raise the temperature of the pool as well, the spa can only operate at the given temperature.

Thank you again for your comments; and we look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed several times at Oaks on Market. Location is very good with trams, buses and trains all close by. We arrived very early at approximately 7.30am and were told checking was at 2pm. After making ourselves comfortable on the couch in the lobby we were informed our room was ready.
This was greatly appreciated as after our midnight flight we were very tired. We found staff to be polite and accommodating especially Sid on the front desk
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but used the bar on several occasions which was convenient and pleasant.
Facilities at Oaks on Market are good and the hotel is in a good location with lots of bars, cafes and restaurants close by.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your invaluable feedback; we are glad that we were able to offer you an early check in; and start your stay with us on a positive note.

Thanks again; and we will definitely share your comments with Sid.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great central location for visitors to centre of Melbourne. Friendly staff - booking in out out was no problem - concierge booked tours for us. The only problem we had was a very hard bed!! They had lots of tourist brochures readily available for us to use. Discounts were available for full buffet breakfast and the restaurant food weas excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the greatly priced breakfast.

Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our overall experience was lovely. No problems with booking, check in and check out were smooth and fast, it was no trouble for the staff to answer our many questions and to hold our bags as we arrived early.
Breakfast in the restaurant was discounted to about $15 for a hot and cold buffet, the pastries were extremely fresh and plentiful! A bit disappointed that the pancake maker was empty and not refilled while we dined, but I suppose this could have been easily remedied by asking someone to do it!
We had several occasions to grab a coffee in the lobby which was comfortable and relaxed.
The room was clean and in good condition. It was disappointing to only have one bathroom for our two bedroom apartment as there were five of us staying, but we managed.
Room service was fast and the food hot when it arrived, our big gripe was that when we left a day and a half after that meal, the tray and the congealed remains of the food were still sitting in the corridor awaiting collection. Despite the room having been serviced!
We had to request an ironing board twice before it arrived 1hr later.
The overall feeling was of comfort. We got good value by booking a couple of months ahead and prepaying accommodation for two nights. I would readily stay again as it was simple for the taxi to reach, and 1 block from a tram stop at Collins st. We walked to the outlets for shopping at southern cross station.

Room Tip: 1509 had all appliances and air working well, with great views on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; although we are glad that you had a lovely experience and enjoyed our customer service, we were disappointed to read your comments in regards to the room service tray; and hope that this matter has not marred your stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

the oaks is settled right in the buzzy center of melbourne, and there is not much more to say about the hotel which really needs an update, not only with the rooms, their lights, especially their breakfast. they should update their internet pictures , either after renovations or now to reality - (2 bedroom apartment ie : the sleeping rooms are window-less...)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, without knowing in which room your stayed it is hard to comment on your feedback; although 80% of our building has gone through a full refurbishment; the remaining rooms that are due for completion by mid October. While these rooms are yet to be refurbished we believe that the same are still of high standards.

Unfortunately due the lay-out of our building a small amount of our two bedrooms do not have windows in the bedrooms; however those are usually the most requested rooms; as they offer a perfect light proofing for a comfortable lay in; and exceptional views from the living areas quarters.

We sincerely regret that we were not able to meet your expectations; however we are pleased that you enjoyed the perfect location of our hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is centrally located and newly refurbished Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne’s attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.