We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced and inconvinient” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Market to your Saves list
Oaks on Market
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #73 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over-priced and inconvinient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having encountered Sydney hotel prices, I had high expectations from a nearly 150 nightly hotel so what if it was a lower floor room facing the wall. Alas, on arrival I found this to be the first hotel I have encountered with a flight of stairs to the entrance and reception facing the other way. Beware if you are lugging 50 pounds or more of bags with you and are not upto the exercise. The wall view was bad enough but the lighting is so low that only the Cullens from Twilight series would feel at home. I turned to the TV for respite but the remote makes it hard to flip through the channels. No use with the $22 for Internet, the connection was slow (I had to call to get it reset) and wifi did not work. Sorry, expected better than working with my back to the room to get the lan cable in a spooky dimly lit studio. Shower pressure low and a tub which nearly required leaping into. Otherwise, pretty standard accomodation good class of hotel but please do something about the lighting. Not the best choice at least for solo travelers working away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback, we were disappointed to read your comments, yet it is only through guest feedback that we are able to isolate any areas of concern in our properties, and ensure that they are rectified.

Unfortunately we were not part of the original design of our hotel therefore we inherited the building as it is, however we proactively looked and still do into any way to improve it and to make it as guest friendly as possible, hence the installation of an "assistance door bell" at the bottom of the landing. As our building is manned 24/7, assistance with your luggage would have been only a door bell away.

Although it may be perceived as a money saving exercise, please rest assure that like many other properties we are trying our best to reduce our carbon foot print consumption, we deemed the current lighting to be of an acceptable level; however we would be interested to discuss the same with you during your next stay.

We are truly disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectation; however your comments are a great source of information that will assist us with our constant aim of improving our property.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    311
    106
    49
    15
See reviews for
115
198
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at the Oaks on Market for four nights for work. I booked directly with the hotel with a really good rate for a studio room, when I checked in they gave me a room on the 15th floor which was great!

The room itself was furnished in keeping with the Oaks standard - however it isn't plush by any standards. My overall stay was OK, the space was adequate for four nights, location was perfect for catching the trams etc.

The reason I'm not giving this hotel an higher rating is because of the bed...the bed in my room had a very clear dip on the right hand side. If I had been sharing the bed, only one of us would have had a good night sleep. And the position of the bed wasn't ideal either - it was right under the aircon fan. Now - if you're sensitive to air and subject to getting a cold when the fan is on you (like myself) your not going to like where the bed is. I had to sleep with the aircon off - lucky it was cool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that although you were not 100% satisfied will still managed to offer you a good stay.

In order to offer a great night sleep to our guests, as part of a preventative upgrade to our property we are constantly replacing our beds, by reading your comments it sounds like that the bed in your room reached the use by date.

Again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully during your next stay you will able to sample one of our new beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a city view that was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked that it had a little kitchen in it and the internet worked very well. There is a laundry in the building which is a little pricey but convenient to have there. My only complaint is that you can not use your internet on your laptop and your Iphone at the same time. Also the hallway outside the room smelled strongly of curry and fish the whole 4 days we were there. It didn't smell in the room at all so it wasn't much of a problem. Overall good and I would stay there again. Definitely get the city view room though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, comments like as yours will assist us in improving and rectify if necessary our operations and service standards.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBD Melb
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had two rooms, one was a large 3brm apartment and the other was 2brm. Both rooms were open plan, making really good use of natural lighting, had chic decor, and comfortable beds. We didn't get to use the facilities (gym/swimming pool) but they looked great!

Only down side was the snappy reception girl I got when asking if they had iPhone/MP3 players - which they don't.

On the weekend their parking validation doesn't make a difference. Use the closer parking, across the rd it has a $10 flat rate (same as validated ticket you have to walk ages to get to)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

We are pleased to read that the apartment layout and beds made a comfortable stay.

The car park we offer to the guest during their stay does provide discounted rate of $10 over night or per exit.

In your circumstance and the time that the car was parked within the car park equaled the same rate. We discount the ticket to ensure the guest get the best price on weekdays, weekends and when left overnight.

It is disappointing to read that a staff member came across snappy when asking if we had any iphone/mp3 players on site, please be advised this was not the staff member’s intension when advising. Our rooms do have a CD player supplied as the music option.

Thank you or your feedback

Kind Regards

Front office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in a good central location & has a very nice indoor pool & sauna in the basement but the rooms aren't great. There are no laundry facilities in the rooms only a guest laundry downstairs. The is a buffet breakfast which is ok. The wifi is expensive & useless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

It is a pleasure to hear the location and pool facilities meet your expectations during you stay.

We are disappointed to read the wifi service did not meet your needs. We will pass your feedback on to our wifi provider.

It through feedback that allows our to address the product further.

Thank you for your time and review

Kind Regards

Front Office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are not fully equipped and laundry/gym/swimming pool are in a sort of Maze. Location is great just one block from the Riverside and tram stations steps away.Tip: The line 35 offers free ride around the downtown area. Car park is one block away and hotel will validate to a reduced rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

It is pleasing to hear that our location and discount of the car park was convenient.

We will discuss with the reception to ensure all staff are providing the
welcome letter on arrival. The welcome letter highlights the facilities and the location of the pool/gym/laundry.

Our rooms all contain kitchenettes with basic cooking facililites as we have the option of a restaurant onsite.

Thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Front Office Manager
On behalf of the Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is in a convient central spot. It has lovely clean spacious rooms but that's about all it has to offer. The rooms are very dark and including the bathroom which made it impossible to apply make up. The shower pressure is so low making showering a very tedious and drawn out process.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback,

We are very happy to hear that the room was clean and spacious.

Thank you for addressing the shower pressure and light environment with us.

Though this feedback we are able to review the information
and look into areas addressed.

Thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Front Office Manager
On Behalf of Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.